Deckbuild 6th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 no such thing as bo pian. boycott to the end i rather watch from websites at low resolution than to pay a cent to ST I'm with you, I watch lousy stream for F1 till starhub got it back! BOO TO ST! I'm very unhappy with this news. Its like LTA wants to Up ERP Charges, SMRT and SBS want to Increase the fares, Taxi companies wants to Up Step Up fares going to Orchard Road, Because Tangs outlet Krispy Kreme Donuts are doing extremely well and these Transport regulator and companies want get Profit from commuters because of this. When business is good, landlord up the rent, this is how things works, but they don't know tenant will retaliate back with "close shop" and change location, end up all customer go to other location as well... They end up losing traffic volume... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Starhub also offer a no data plan and also a share plan (with you own number) My nephew using the Stinkytell share plan - got shared number, blardy annoying Redpac is a standalone line only the call time and sms are shared, if you are on a higher plan but not utilized them most of the time, can share with them as their usage usually not much. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holdenutessv Turbocharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 12GB drop to 2-3GB. Excess 1GB from 5$ increase to $10.70. (Charged extra $40 for 4GB ). Data roaming too expensive. Want 4G, only got 3G. 3G speed still cmi. Miotv nothing to watch(for me). And now still wants to charge for Whatsapp/Skype? Really Stinktel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 haven't paid a single cent to Singtel for more than 10 years already since i terminated my home land line but keep collecting dividends from the discounted singtel shares held in cpf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shibadog Turbocharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 at the end of the day, this is capitalism at work... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 (edited) The issue of telecom/cable infrastructure companies not able to monetise the growth in app usage is across the world. More recently in the US, you had Netflix (which had been resisting efforts by cable companies to get them to pay for the cable usage that their customers use) finally capitulated and has reached an agreement with Comcast. This agreement means that Netflix customers are not throttled when using that service. Now whether Netflix will pass the cost to the customer remains to be seen. Same thing with AT&T, Verizon when accessing through 4G. Its happening already in the US where there's a lot of discussion and lobbyist so it can happen easily over here as well. Thats why the below youtube link showing the pCell demonstration is fcking awesome as far as I'm concerned. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5bO0tjAdOIw its a personal cell tower Edited February 27, 2014 by ins1dious Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 I think the main reason why ST is targeting particularly Whatapp and Skype is because these OTT services are EATING THEIR LUNCH. If they target specifically those data hogging apps it would be much easier to stomach. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ins1dious Turbocharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 (edited) I think the main reason why ST is targeting particularly Whatapp and Skype is because these OTT services are EATING THEIR LUNCH. If they target specifically those data hogging apps it would be much easier to stomach. The Netflix is a direct example. Movie watching habits is moving away from Comcast which provides TV and internet services so Comcast loses revenue from their paid TV. Thats why they started throttling Netflix. AT&T, Verizon outright stopped FaceTime, Google Hangouts from working over 4G cos that's eating into their voice / long distance calling revenue. The cable/internet companies don't want to be dumb pipe anymore. But that's what they are. Just another utility like water, gas and electricity. I hope we, the customer, don't get shafted cos they're missing their money. Edited February 27, 2014 by ins1dious Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dark 5th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 The Netflix is a direct example. Movie watching habits is moving away from Comcast which provides TV and internet services so Comcast loses revenue from their paid TV. Thats why they started throttling Netflix. AT&T, Verizon outright stopped FaceTime, Google Hangouts from working over 4G cos that's eating into their voice / long distance calling revenue. The cable/internet companies don't want to be dumb pipe anymore. But that's what they are. Just another utility like water, gas and electricity. I hope we, the customer, don't get shafted cos they're missing their money. Exactly! It should NOT be because of loss of revenue they can just decide to charge or cut off certain 3rd-party services. Data service is a basic utility just like water and electricity, the govt should step in to regulate this and disallow such uncompetitive behaviour. I for one actually supported that they cut down on data packages to penalise data hoggers. If you want to use more just pay more and not expect light users to subsidize heavy users. But now they choose to go down this route... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 User pay for bandwidth already No? Pay not enough, must Pay and Pay. Heard from somewhere this char bor related to the familee, is it true? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 It's actually a common issue amongst ISPs worldwide, not only SingTel. What I heard is that some have banded together, to fund R&D on OTT blockers and are seeing some positive results. If OTT blockers are deemed fit-for-purpose, and implemented in all physical land or cable line networks, the all OTT Apps will either be stopped dead in their tracks (cannot "use wi-fi" to circumvent 3G/4G anymore), or these OTT App proprietors will need to pay some form of throughputting or usage fee to the ISPs, or enter into a JV contract with the ISPs. The future looks real and clear, as the ISPs are beginning to speak with one voice around the world! The OTT blockers will be obsolete the day they release it. Next day, some other apps developer will come out with another way to circumvent it. Eg, if it was hard coded to recognise the message headers, the apps developers just need to rewrite this portion. Or if they block the IP/hostname, the developers just change it. People come out with such useful apps because they believe in innovating, and also sick of the Telco's unreasonable pricing. Before 97 or 98, SMS was offered unlimited and free for those who had forgotten or did not know. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 can't help but think that many heavyweight STI index stocks are not going to perform well in near future? Singtel - voice calls and sms demand slow down SMRT - maintenance cost eating into their revenue SGX - day trading volume declining fast maybe only ST Eng will do better since there will be more money in national defense budget 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Ha, you have yet to consider msg sent to non-local numbers. This is an interesting discussion. I can see from ISPs' POV, simple I want more money and I'm not getting any money from whatsapp, wechat etc. First, they don't use ISP servers to host because they have their own, except they may have subscript to a single ISP for using the bandwidth so whatsapp is already paying for bandwidth. ISP or rather those in mobile / internet biz will lose on their SMS and MMS subscriptions. This is what they are worried about not the use of their bandwidth, it is just a silly excuse to charge whatsapp. If people still use whatsapp, nobody will exceed the "free" SMSes given to them then it would not be profitable for them to keep the service. Just imagine, paying say $39 per month with 200 "free" SMSes,, 1GB of data (4G). If whatsapp data is only say about 2kb per mesg, it would be almost equivalent to 500,000 over "free" SMSes... comparing to their 1 excess SMS cost $0.0535 they would have lost $26,750 per subscribers, of course the ISP will be "red-eyes"... hahaaa Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Anyway it's between the app operators and the carriers/network providers. "If you want to use my servers and the lan line that I've laid, you will have to pay." I think end users will be least affected coz between carriers there's still the ongoing price wars. End of the day carriers will make more moola. Those who want to download the app will probably have to pay. Like that I also want to bill Mediacock, Stinktel, Starhub and M1 for having their radio and mobile signals passing through (intruding) my home without my permission. They must pay me rental for passing through my private property. This is a big revenue loss to me as I wasn't able to tap on this to charge them while they make excessive profits. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 (edited) Let's put the case of the disgruntled ISPs another way ... To see their POV. If you were to have paid millions to live in a condominium and you later observe that many not staying there, but at nearby HDB estates come to your condo to park there, use the pool and other facilities, and then wash themselves up in the common showers ... maybe even the sauna etc. - every evening, and it gets especially congested over weekends. How would you feel - after having paid millions for the exclusivity to live there? Will you let it go ... business as usual? No right. You and the rest of the condo proprietors will do something immediately! Maybe issue a owner/tenant/occupier card and instruct the security guards to police this unconditionally. Now, aren't the ISPs, Singtel in this case, also doing the same thing to protect their invested assets and business case? I guess it only hurts you most, if it's yours. the analogy is slightly flawed. In this case, the HDB fellas actually paid for parking lots in the condos. But Instead of using the condo sauna (which charges a separate fee), the HDB fellas got smart and decided to use their cars parked in the sun as saunas instead. so the condo management now says we'll charge you for using you cars as saunas edited to add singtel can go and die. A pest in the market, since the world cup debacle. Better off if it disappeared altogether. Edited February 27, 2014 by Karoon 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Wah, your idea later kena taken into consideration....... In the early 2000s, they have already been thinking of doing it, just that it's not easy to implement. If your company has branches overseas, just point all local mails to use the overseas server via VPN tunnel, easily bypass local restrictions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear February 27, 2014 Share February 27, 2014 Technology merging is inevitable. Voice, data, text and even video is going to merge. And they all go into a data stream, be it fibre, cable, wireless or cellular. Service provider can either innovate, jump on the bandwagon first or kpkb to authorities to protect them. When you do the last, you're anti-competition. Imagine a new video service come along and provide high QOS, streaming HD video for free or sells by advert. What does sinktel and sh do ? Complain, block service or charge people when they are already selling bandwidth ? You're right - convergence. That is why they are so eager to reduce the data plan. You think they're so good, give you seamless surfing? Go tell them the reception is poor at your area, see if they will be so eager to resolve it, especially underground carparks. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 27, 2014 Author Share February 27, 2014 here are 3 alternatives to WhatsApp you can consider: 1. ViberThese guys are clearly doing something right. Recently acquired by the Japanese giant Rakuten for $900 million, this Internet messaging and calling service has grown despite the incumbent success of Skype and WhatsApp. Boasting 300 million users worldwide, Viber has features similar to Skype. Interestingly enough, the announcement of the acquisition caused the share price of Rakuten to drop by 9.5%, which was the same effect that the WhatsApp acquisition had on Facebook stocks (dropping by 5%). Key Features: Messaging, calling, and photo sharing features (free of course, apart from data usage) Group chat functions (similar to WhatsApp) Available for Windows Phone, iOS, Android, and Blackberry platforms Desktop app also available From personal experience, we’ve had much better connection stability when making overseas phone calls with Viber compared to Skype, but of course connectivity may vary between users. 2. TelegramThis previously unknown app shot to the top of the Apple Store charts in 48 countries within a matter of days! It was reported that it hit 5 million new user signups within a day during WhatsApp’s downtime. Originally launched as an application to provide a means of communication that could not be accessed by Russian intelligence agencies (what?!), this app prides itself on its security and independence. In fact, it makes many bold claims (such as that they’ll never sell out) on their webpage. Key Features: Ability to create message threads that self-delete (similar to SnapChat) Cloud functionality that lets users access chats and shared media via any Internet-connected device End-to-end encryption that makes it one of the safest messaging platforms available now (something that Blackberry had been trying to promote with BBM. We all know how that turned out for them) 3. WechatWechat has developed something of a dubious stigma recently, with Asiaone running an article on how the platform is increasingly being used by people to initiate affairs. So much for protesting against Ashley Madison. Owned by Tencent Inc., China’s largest Internet service portal, the application is a casual,almost funny communication app that has features such as “Drift Bottle” and “Shake.” Key Features: Messaging, group chat, and video call functions Shake – just shake your phone and you’ll be able to see other people shaking their phones in an area around you. Weird way to meet a stranger but hey, what do we know? Look Around – this is just a location based function that allows you to see other people in the area who use Wechat as well. Drift Bottle – this has to be the funniest feature of them all. It basically allows you to send out a voice or text message and then see who picks it up. The website says “Select ‘Pick’ to pick a drift bottle from the sea. You can reply to it or throw it back to the sea. Sometimes you may get a starfish. Just try again.” - WHAT?? Notable Mention: Line Messenger – Japan’s biggest messaging app has to be the cutest communications app on earth. Just check out their webpage and you’ll see what we mean. Prepare for lots of stickers, cartoon characters and animations. One minor annoying part is they tend to send you weird marketing SMSes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...