Do You Want To Retire Before 60 ?

On 1/8/2025 at 11:26 AM, RadX said:

as long not foreskin.... @mersaylee ask me to say

Yessi...who needs it...foreskin is so anticlimax...😁

On 1/8/2025 at 12:30 PM, Voodooman said:

I don’t think they need to do that so long as after 65, G don’t need to take care of you.  So minimum sum will go up.

If they pushed back withdrawal age from 55 to 60, they will piss off everyone, including those with a million in CPF money, people like you that don’t need the nanny state to manage your retirement money.

G just need to be very targeted in helping those who need help before start of CPF life withdrawal at 65 and these are the people who probably don’t even have enough minimum sum at 55, moving it to 60 won’t make much of a difference. 

Of course there are skeptics who think G wants to keep as much money locked up and for as long as possible for their own purpose, I don’t belong to that school.

they will do a staged approach. 55 to 57 saying that retirement age has now gone up to 64 and the gap does no need to be so big, and want to slowly align the withdrawal and retirement age. then 57-59 etc..

On 1/8/2025 at 2:46 PM, Mkl22 said:

they will do a staged approach. 55 to 57 saying that retirement age has now gone up to 64 and the gap does no need to be so big, and want to slowly align the withdrawal and retirement age. then 57-59 etc..

Yeah thats the current style.  Same  with GST.  And everything else

they will show all the stats

people living till older , working till older , retirement age increase, yadda yadda.  But they wont show cost of living skyrocketted.  

muayhahaha

14 tanjong katong rd points

Edited by Throttle2

On 1/8/2025 at 11:47 AM, BanCoe said:

Waaaah …….U sure can upgrade skills future  very fast ….. going for mermaids 

Go fishing lah 

I don’t think they need to do that so long as after 65, G don’t need to take care of you.  So minimum sum will go up.

If they pushed back withdrawal age from 55 to 60, they will piss off everyone, including those with a million in CPF money, people like you that don’t need the nanny state to manage your retirement money.

G just need to be very targeted in helping those who need help before start of CPF life withdrawal at 65 and these are the people who probably don’t even have enough minimum sum at 55, moving it to 60 won’t make much of a difference. 

Of course there are skeptics who think G wants to keep as much money locked up and for as long as possible for their own purpose, I don’t belong to that school.

Those who have million in their cpf are likely not draw out their money when they reach 55. I am guessing only because i dont have, maybe cpf millionaires  can commen? 😅

On 1/9/2025 at 9:54 PM, Ct3833 said:

Those who have million in their cpf are likely not draw out their money when they reach 55. I am guessing only because i dont have, maybe cpf millionaires  can commen? 😅

If you have a million in CPF at 55, it means you are probably a high earner (relative to those median wage earners) and using cash to pay housing loans, won't be surprised if they have other investments by age of 55. These people won't be happy with 2.5%pa. I won't.  

I am also guessing only because I don't have. 😂😂😂

Edited by Voodooman

On 1/9/2025 at 10:04 PM, Voodooman said:

If you have a million in CPF at 55, it means you are probably a high earner (relative to those median wage earners) and using cash to pay housing loans, won't be surprised if they have other investments by age of 55. These people won't be happy with 2.5%pa. I won't.  

I am also guessing only because I don't have. 😂😂😂

My guess again because I also dont have, these people have million in CPF, this is their safe heaven, guranteed 2.5% return plus principle sum guranteed. They may use the money to buy shares, T billlls etc when rate is good but they wont draw it out, because worst case when interest drops to below 1%like a few years ago , they will fall back to OA 2.5%.

These people will still have a couple of million of cash  out there, this is the money they will use to invest in mixture of instrument, like higher risk equities, lower risk  bonds, perps, MMF, T Bills etc etc. My guess..... 😂

Ok, since you guys KNS dont what to own up, and only want to guess here guess there, then  i will own up

my CPF hit $1mil by age 49.  It would be about $1.5m at age55 if i didnt stop work. 

but base on current status as i have no wish to go back to work,, i would likely end up with only $1.3m approx at 55.

whether i withdraw my OA or how much i withdraw will depend on the RF rate at that time and the Rf rate looking forward. 

since i already have my investments held outside CPF which provides me with passive, my CPF is just additional cash buffer. 
One thing for sure is that i will at least withdraw all the annual interest to spend on holidays or cigars etc…

99 Serangoon Road points

Edited by Throttle2

On 1/9/2025 at 11:01 PM, Ct3833 said:

My guess again because I also dont have, these people have million in CPF, this is their safe heaven, guranteed 2.5% return plus principle sum guranteed. They may use the money to buy shares, T billlls etc when rate is good but they wont draw it out, because worst case when interest drops to below 1%like a few years ago , they will fall back to OA 2.5%.

These people will still have a couple of million of cash  out there, this is the money they will use to invest in mixture of instrument, like higher risk equities, lower risk  bonds, perps, MMF, T Bills etc etc. My guess..... 😂

I may keep some in OA as on-demand emergency slash fund (ATM) but it won't be more than $50-100k (After FRS), the rest will probably go into other instruments like bonds, equity or even money market funds. 

CPFIS is pretty cumbersome way to invest, need to shift here and there and time these movement to avoid losing the interest for the entire month. You are also restricted from investing in overseas equities/ bonds unless it is via the UT route.  Sibei lechey.  

I can see the benefit of flooring interest at 2.5% but overall, I aim to have a portfolio return that will beat inflation.  

Guess it is good for those who prefer just FD and T bills but I suspect you are not one of them. You just have too much money. Haha.. 

Edited by Voodooman

On 1/10/2025 at 9:17 AM, Voodooman said:

I may keep some in OA as on-demand emergency slash fund (ATM) but it won't be more than $50-100k (After FRS), the rest will probably go into other instruments like bonds, equity or even money market funds. 

CPFIS is pretty cumbersome way to invest, need to shift here and there and time these movement to avoid losing the interest for the entire month. You are also restricted from investing in overseas equities/ bonds unless it is via the UT route.  Sibei lechey.  

I can see the benefit of flooring interest at 2.5% but overall, I aim to have a portfolio return that will beat inflation.  

Guess it is good for those who prefer just FD and T bills but I suspect you are not one of them. You just have too much money. Haha.. 

mai keh keh lah, all hid under the mattress like Sifu Enye? 

CPF $1m especially by 55 should be sup sup suey for many people here.   Dont believe ask @Ginyu @Wt_know 

On 1/10/2025 at 11:30 AM, Throttle2 said:

CPF $1m especially by 55 should be sup sup suey for many people here.   Dont believe ask @Ginyu @Wt_know 

Maybe is true, hearsay many people also have million(s) cash in their bank by 50s. That's why you can see some people can retire even before the official retirement age. So million in CPF should be possible for high earners. Lol.

On 1/10/2025 at 11:39 AM, 13177 said:

Maybe is true, hearsay many people also have million(s) cash in their bank by 50s. That's why you can see some people can retire even before the official retirement age. So million in CPF should be possible for high earners. Lol.

True or not for many people i dont know lah but Voodooman ct8333 at least must have easily $10mil networth each lah.   Confirm stamp and chop

KNs, i already told you my CPF hit $1mil before 50, you still in doubt? 

88 Somerset Road Points

Edited by Throttle2

I have just heard the same thing but my mum have trouble keeping hers in CPF.😂

She is on MSS and after deferring for some years, CPFB die die wants to pay her come Feb this year.

On 1/10/2025 at 11:30 AM, Throttle2 said:

with the recent changes ... no need 1M55 la ... 1M50 sup sup suey liao ... 

i mean for @Ginyu cohort ... :grin:

2025-01-10_131724.jpg

On 1/10/2025 at 1:19 PM, Wt_know said:

with the recent changes ... no need 1M55 la ... 1M50 sup sup suey liao ... 

i mean for @Ginyu cohort ... :grin:

2025-01-10_131724.jpg

correct.  nowadays $1m50 (individual) is almost a given liao.    Some Loo fella still talking 1M65 for a couple, wtf!

muayhahhahhhha

23 BoonLay Way points

On 1/10/2025 at 1:30 PM, Throttle2 said:

correct.  nowadays $1m50 (individual) is almost a given liao.    Some Loo fella still talking 1M65 for a couple, wtf!

muayhahhahhhha

23 BoonLay Way points

And for 2

lol

5th Gear

Dua pow sian retiree lifestyle. The richer ones are probably playing golf or smoking cigars 🤣

20250110_140059.thumb.jpg.fc6c180ea17af84b5cc50f45a989dc57.jpg

Edited by Ginyu

On 1/10/2025 at 2:03 PM, Ginyu said:

Dua pow sian retiree in mid 50s🤣

20250110_140059.thumb.jpg.fc6c180ea17af84b5cc50f45a989dc57.jpg

wah say, go where to rubba rubba ?