Do You Want To Retire Before 60 ?

Wonder how many continue to work after 55 to build up more funds or continue to service their mortgage. I know some are about halfway to the end of their loan tenure. Quite surprised that they still have to work pass 60 to clear off the mortgage. Tot they are rich can afford to buy then why cannot clear it by 55🤣

On 1/7/2025 at 1:28 PM, Ginyu said:

Wonder how many continue to work after 55 to build up more funds or continue to service their mortgage. I know some are about halfway to the end of their loan tenure. Quite surprised that they still have to work pass 60 to clear off the mortgage. Tot they are rich can afford to buy then why cannot clear it by 55🤣

Cause mostly people max out the loan tenure until 65 year old which it is allowed for most cases lo. Esp if buy house in recent years, price so ex, how to finish paying the mortgage loan before 60?! Only last last time when house price is cheap, can full pay the house very fast and at a younger age.

On 1/7/2025 at 9:55 AM, Wt_know said:

but ah gong says ... if can work, go to work ... 

else sit at home gong gong can go crazy one ...

no 69 no talk !

:grin:

2025-01-07_095609.jpg

This actually tells a lot.....

Good Luck Singapore Good Luck

There is a very very very good reason why CPF withdrawal was set at 55 long long long long time ago.

The way things are going, I believe CPF withdrawal age will be raise to 60 soon enough.   

Good Luck Singapore Good Luck

On 1/7/2025 at 1:49 PM, 13177 said:

Cause mostly people max out the loan tenure until 65 year old which it is allowed for most cases lo. Esp if buy house in recent years, price so ex, how to finish paying the mortgage loan before 60?! Only last last time when house price is cheap, can full pay the house very fast and at a younger age.

More like they overstretch themselves. Not satisfy with bto but want to haolian so go buy condo. If bto , they would have finish paying it off much much earlier🤣

On 1/7/2025 at 1:28 PM, Ginyu said:

We have a 7 figure outstanding home loan, another mortgage on our property in London as well as a loan on one of our cars.

I am fully retired by choice and yes, we sleep soundly at night.

On 1/7/2025 at 2:18 PM, flat6 said:

We have a 7 figure outstanding home loan, another mortgage on our property in London as well as a loan on one of our cars.

I am fully retired by choice and yes, we sleep soundly at night.

Got inflow (or support) from somewhere lor.....otherwise how to sleep soundly leh?

Edited by Throttle2

On 1/7/2025 at 2:29 PM, Throttle2 said:

Got inflow (or support) from somewhere lor.....otherwise how to sleep soundly leh?

We are self made, started from scratch.

Point i am making is those with loans are not necessarily failures. Not right to treat everyone with loans with contempt and ridicule.

Edited by flat6

On 1/7/2025 at 3:03 PM, flat6 said:

Point i am making is those with loans are not necessarily failures. Not right to treat everyone with loans with contempt and ridicule.

Good for you.   

Nobody ever said that those with loans are necessarily failures.  

No need to feel like you are being treated with contempt and ridicule becos you have a loan, leh.

@Ginyu is MCF public enemy no. 1   He always like that.  Muayhahhahhahh   

57 Tiong Bahru Points

Edited by Throttle2

On 1/7/2025 at 3:22 PM, Throttle2 said:

Good for you.   

No need to feel like you are being treated with contempt and ridicule becos you have a loan, leh.

57 Tiong Bahru Points

Doesn’t matter… u will always be the one!

70B91FC1-E55D-4A6A-BD36-445E8B2936CF.gif

On 1/7/2025 at 3:22 PM, Throttle2 said:

Good for you.   

57 Tiong Bahru Points

Nah, not for myself. We are well aware of our standing in society.

On 1/7/2025 at 3:03 PM, flat6 said:

Referring to those who need a job to clear their overstretched loan even at a mature age. If one can still retire with outstanding obviously don’t fall into that category🤣

On 1/7/2025 at 2:14 PM, Ginyu said:

More like they overstretch themselves. Not satisfy with bto but want to haolian so go buy condo. If bto , they would have finish paying it off much much earlier🤣

Depends hor, if they buy brand new BTO, surely should finish paying off, esp with dual income. But if go buy resale BTO, esp those millions HDB, how to finish paying it off early even with dual income? Lol.

But if really cannot finish paying off early and don't want to pay anymore, can jolly downgrade to a smaller HDB and full paid it lo.

Edited by 13177

On 1/7/2025 at 4:20 PM, 13177 said:

Depends hor, if they buy brand new BTO, surely should finish paying off, esp with dual income. But if go buy resale BTO, esp those millions HDB, how to finish paying it off early even with dual income? Lol.

But if really cannot finish paying off early and don't want to pay anymore, can jolly downgrade to a smaller HDB and full paid it lo.

Hai, people always say, if cannot pay off or dont want to pay, can always downgrade...

I wish them good luck base on such mentality.

All the best huat ah!

On 1/7/2025 at 4:34 PM, Throttle2 said:

Hai, people always say, if cannot pay off or dont want to pay, can always downgrade...

I wish them good luck base on such mentality.

All the best huat ah!

Ever read one say he has outstanding loan of 1.5mil and he never plan to pay it off. The exit plan is just sell it off and move on to next property with another new loan. Maybe seller stamp duty should extend to 10 years🤣

Edited by Ginyu