On 12/5/2024 at 9:40 AM, Enye said:

wah...here retirees all so young and rich 

5-6 digit monthly passive income

i full time job also no 5 digit monthly income

jin cham...me working peasant for life liao

😓

Of course. Only not in SGD 😆

On 12/5/2024 at 8:47 AM, Karoon said:

That's only true if you're dependent on the retirement job's income.

There are those who seek social interaction, structure or something they love doing and getting paid is just a bonus. When it gets too bothersome, they just leave. 

The moment a person uses that money, he has and will be depending on it. Even if he doesnt use it but receives it, he is psychologically comforted by it and thus depending on it.      Its just how humans are wired. 

so while i can agree and understand what you are saying, 99% say they dont depend on the money from the job, yet they definitely use it, actually or mentally.
by that time, when they want to leave, they would think thrice.    

i said 99% so there is still 1% who do seek social interaction and love doing what they do.
 99% are just plain BS like what Stary and Ginyu highlighted.    
🤣😂

Edited by Throttle2

On 12/5/2024 at 8:47 AM, Karoon said:

That's only true if you're dependent on the retirement job's income.

There are those who seek social interaction, structure or something they love doing and getting paid is just a bonus. When it gets too bothersome, they just leave. 

The reason for doing  a paid job, be it for love or out of desperation, is immaterial.  It is not like as if the bosses/clients are less demanding because one is doing out of love...lol . A job is a job, that's all people see.

So these people should  call it out as still doing a full time job or a part time job.  Don't call it as a retirement job because it sounds cooler.  It is either retired  or still working. At least that's how I look at it......

Edited by Stary

I would love to spend the next 10 years of my retirement there being active on the hills, valleys, rivers and sports facilities. A beautiful and sparsely populated country where I can eat healthy organic, cheap. But they have raised the entry bar for retirees substantially. 

The have a very active motoring scene there. Race tracks and car clubs. The South Island Mustang Club is very active. Always organising drives and meets. The entry requirement is must own a Ford Mustang of any year from the original of the 1960s. If I had my way, it will be a Shelby Mustang V8 5.0 for myself.

There is a requirement for retirees to invest large amount of cash onshore in NZ. The way the NZ economy is moving, and the NZD weakening, not a good idea to invest SGD there. I predict that the returns from investing there will be negative.

On 12/5/2024 at 9:10 AM, Spidey10 said:

indeed....wha's the saying....choose a job you love, and you never have to work a day in your life....

say the person love to drive and love to mingle and engage with people....grab driving might be something he enjoy doing, hence, even in retirement, he is doing something that he enjoys and the little money that comes with is is a bonus to him, not that he needs it....

Actually i dun mind doing after i retire...:grin:and i love driving...especially overseas...hehehe...who knows, maybe when I retire, i get a job as a tour driver overseas...get to go overseas and get to drive and tour the country....:grin:

Driving for  leisure is quite different from driving as a job.

Driving for leisure means you can drive anywhere, stop anytime and at most accountable  to other road users by driving safely. 

Driving as a job means accountable to the commuter (and  liable for his/her life), accountable to the car company/platform, accountable to the licensing regulations, accountable to other road users, etc. Not to mention dealing with weird , blur or rude commuters all the time. 

That's a lot of accountability to me to be treated as a "hobby" job. 

Sure, maybe there is minority of such people out there who loves driving as a job, but in most cases, I get very skeptical when someone tell me he is retired and doing this as a "hobby.". There is probably something that doesn't quite add up .....

Edited by Stary

On 12/5/2024 at 2:05 PM, Stary said:

Driving for  leisure is quite different from driving as a job.

Driving for leisure means you can drive anywhere, stop anytime and at most accountable  to other road users by driving safely. 

Driving as a job means accountable to the commuter (and  liable for his/her life), accountable to the car company/platform, accountable to the licensing regulations, accountable to other road users, etc. Not to mention dealing with weird , blur or rude commuters all the time. 

That's a lot of accountability to me to be treated as a "hobby" job. 

Sure, maybe there is minority of such people out there who loves driving as a job, but in most cases, I get very skeptical when someone tell me he is retired and doing this as a "hobby.". There is always something that doesn't quite add up .....

Bro, you overthink.

I did Grab Hitch as a hobby.  It is more leisure than you think.

On 12/5/2024 at 2:09 PM, inlinesix said:

Bro, you overthink.

i also done grab hitch....also felt nice leh...

Sunday can't sleep...got up early and just drove around early morning, and fetch a few air stewardess to the airport....nice..:grin:help them carry their luggage as well...and chit chat on the way to the airport....:grin:

Bro, you overthink.

I see opening up chances to meat xmm somewhere in there...😁

On 12/5/2024 at 2:27 PM, mersaylee said:

I see opening up chances to meat xmm somewhere in there...😁

I scare to fetch XMM.

Wait they say this unker always beo them😂

Bro, you overthink.

It is only leisure when nothing happens.  

It is not overthinking, it is just deep critical thinking.  Overthinking means  thinking of things that is not likely to happen.  Like worried of driving into an earthquake in SG. 😆

On 12/5/2024 at 2:31 PM, inlinesix said:

I scare to fetch XMM.

Wait they say this unker always beo them😂

Ok..now I know why it is "leisure".  lol😄😆

On 12/5/2024 at 10:04 AM, Karoon said:

Of course. Only not in SGD 😆

If not in sgd, I wonder how they manage to retire🤣

On 12/5/2024 at 12:44 PM, Stary said:

The reason for doing  a paid job, be it for love or out of desperation, is immaterial.  It is not like as if the bosses/clients are less demanding because one is doing out of love...lol . A job is a job, that's all people see.

So these people should  call it out as still doing a full time job or a part time job.  Don't call it as a retirement job because it sounds cooler.  It is either retired  or still working. At least that's how I look at it......

Wah Bro

now you really trying to steal my title

muayhahaha