Stary Supercharged September 9 Share September 9 (edited) On 9/9/2024 at 8:08 AM, Spidey10 said: I also like my job and pple in the office....until recently, HQ change management...and all the new and young bosses i see mostly wanna show they can do the work and started initiating change....a lot of pple left, so did my boss... to me, apart from the colleagues that you work closely with, the most important person that make or break you is your immediate boss!! if he/she is cannot lead you...your battle is lost...if he/she have leadership qualities and knows how to lead you, then half the battle is won!! The Boss plays an important role for me.... It has always been the boss. Not just you, but for most people. If you want job satisfaction, know your boss well If you want job promotion, know your boss and his boss well 😆 Edited September 9 by Stary ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfc 5th Gear September 9 Share September 9 For me, I have never like corporate life (all those politics, fake wayang, rat race etc) since a long time ago but stay on just to earn a living before I can hit my financial target. So when the chance come to break free, I grab it and am in my "retirement" job now. No way I am going to turn back. You can just go buy your kopi or head down to do grocery any second you feel like it. The freedom to choose is priceless. 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginyu 4th Gear September 9 Share September 9 On 9/9/2024 at 8:57 AM, Alfc said: For me, I have never like corporate life (all those politics, fake wayang, rat race etc) since a long time ago but stay on just to earn a living before I can hit my financial target. So when the chance come to break free, I grab it and am in my "retirement" job now. No way I am going to turn back. ADVERTISEMENT close Advertisements english_zodiac[webstory]-new-20240909-08:02 arrow_forward_iosRead more CANCEL NEXT VIDEO pause volume_mute PausePlay % buffered00:00 00:50 01:31 UnmuteMute Play Powered by GliaStudio You can just go buy your kopi or head down to do grocery any second you feel like it. The freedom to choose is priceless. On top of that, when you go for vacation, no need think about work and also no rush to go back. The enjoyment is different between taking leave from work to go for holiday and going for vacation as a retiree 🤣 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged September 9 Share September 9 On 9/9/2024 at 9:47 AM, Ginyu said: On top of that, when you go for vacation, no need think about work and also no rush to go back. The enjoyment is different between taking leave from work to go for holiday and going for vacation as a retiree 🤣 if still in a job, you can leave the Co phone behind and forget about all the Co emails and calls...that would be priceless too. ..... just tell the boss i am uncontactable! last time on vacation also doing work... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Supercharged September 9 Share September 9 (edited) On 9/9/2024 at 8:57 AM, Alfc said: For me, I have never like corporate life (all those politics, fake wayang, rat race etc) since a long time ago but stay on just to earn a living before I can hit my financial target. So when the chance come to break free, I grab it and am in my "retirement" job now. No way I am going to turn back. You can just go buy your kopi or head down to do grocery any second you feel like it. The freedom to choose is priceless. When one work, they earn income. When one retired, they earn time and health Income loss, easiest to earn back Health loss, very hard to earn back. Time loss, impossible to earn back Edited September 9 by Stary Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic September 9 Share September 9 (edited) money = infinite time = finite we use time to earn money but we can never able to use money to earn time Edited September 9 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginyu 4th Gear September 9 Share September 9 (edited) On 9/9/2024 at 9:54 AM, Spidey10 said: if still in a job, you can leave the Co phone behind and forget about all the Co emails and calls...that would be priceless too. ..... just tell the boss i am uncontactable! last time on vacation also doing work... Not so nice to do that lei since your name still on their payroll. if still need the money just guai guai pick up the call and don’t act hero🤣 Edited September 9 by Ginyu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 9 Share September 9 On 9/9/2024 at 8:08 AM, Spidey10 said: I also like my job and pple in the office....until recently, HQ change management...and all the new and young bosses i see mostly wanna show they can do the work and started initiating change....a lot of pple left, so did my boss... to me, apart from the colleagues that you work closely with, the most important person that make or break you is your immediate boss!! if he/she is cannot lead you...your battle is lost...if he/she have leadership qualities and knows how to lead you, then half the battle is won!! The Boss plays an important role for me.... On 9/9/2024 at 8:23 AM, Spidey10 said: same here now....no more high level corporate engagement.....8 - 5 30 daily for me and off from work. but my side, the colleagues are fantastic....majority are in my age group and all are friendly. The culture is not bad....got malays, chinese and indians in my office.. not bad for a semi retirement role......just to kill time and have something to do and get out of the house... you song song gao jurong lah 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 9 Share September 9 On 9/9/2024 at 9:47 AM, Ginyu said: On top of that, when you go for vacation, no need think about work and also no rush to go back. The enjoyment is different between taking leave from work to go for holiday and going for vacation as a retiree 🤣 TOTALLY. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 9 Share September 9 On 9/9/2024 at 9:54 AM, Spidey10 said: if still in a job, you can leave the Co phone behind and forget about all the Co emails and calls...that would be priceless too. ..... just tell the boss i am uncontactable! last time on vacation also doing work... If you are on leave and on vacation and yet your boss and colleagues still look for you and ask you to do work, then they are not sensitive liao. I always think in this world, no one can do without anyone, no matter how important you are in the company. I don't think company would ended up cannot function just because one person is not around. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ginyu 4th Gear September 9 Share September 9 On 9/9/2024 at 10:38 AM, 13177 said: If you are on leave and on vacation and yet your boss and colleagues still look for you and ask you to do work, then they are not sensitive liao. I always think in this world, no one can do without anyone, no matter how important you are in the company. I don't think company would ended up cannot function just because one person is not around. Guess many dare not reject the call due to heavy commitments. If not ready to leave the job, just answer and work on it🤣 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged September 9 Share September 9 On 9/9/2024 at 10:24 AM, Ginyu said: Not so nice to do that lei since your name still on their payroll. if still need the money just guai guai pick up the call and don’t act hero🤣 last time have to pick up....now no more...simple 9-5 job... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged September 9 Share September 9 On 9/9/2024 at 10:29 AM, Throttle2 said: you song song gao jurong lah hahaha...planning next trip in Q1 next year laio.....lazy to do planning, looking at tours now... hehhehehe. in another 2 weeks, will be in spain....can't wait.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spidey10 Supercharged September 9 Share September 9 On 9/9/2024 at 10:38 AM, 13177 said: If you are on leave and on vacation and yet your boss and colleagues still look for you and ask you to do work, then they are not sensitive liao. I always think in this world, no one can do without anyone, no matter how important you are in the company. I don't think company would ended up cannot function just because one person is not around. they have no choice but to contact me as i was the only one that knows what's happening to my projects...sad but no choice for them as well. The show must go on... normally i will take 2-3 weeks off...som,etimes they can't wait and need my direction. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 9 Share September 9 On 9/7/2024 at 2:38 PM, 13177 said: But you would be surprise some people continue to work and don’t retire is not due to money but their whole life is really only work, if no work really don’t know what to do liao. My good friend here is 66 and still working. He is not short of money (They, wife retire to care for him, and they still not drawn any CPF), in fact he can spend like 50-100k Thia baht on the weekend with his wife in BKK. Or most of the time buying dinner for friends. Work not so tough and enjoying life too. How I wish I get an easy job and enjoy too leh 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arogab Turbocharged September 9 Share September 9 On 9/9/2024 at 4:43 AM, BanCoe said: Waah Unker steady lah ….. Mine is a Lima kaki 1🤪🤪🤪Many big Company’s will force people to retire at 63 ‘cos they become too expensive to keep and will not recontract unless you are in medical field ( hospitals) which has still acute staff shortage or in family Kongsi where U can just talk boss straight N nego on the spot Lao Ban, you continue wipe tables can liao. I disappear so long due to so much work I forgot to come MCF tok kok. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic September 9 Share September 9 (edited) On 9/9/2024 at 10:38 AM, 13177 said: If you are on leave and on vacation and yet your boss and colleagues still look for you and ask you to do work, then they are not sensitive liao. I always think in this world, no one can do without anyone, no matter how important you are in the company. I don't think company would ended up cannot function just because one person is not around. I got calls from work during one of my holidays...i refused to take the call...texted back stating i got no Wi-Fi at where i was but got wifey...no more disturbance from then on 😁 Only to realise from my guys later when i got back...that the syt who called me caused a ruskus to them for a simple small matter...limpeh jeetao gave her a hard time...not that kind of hard time hor...quite a lovely syt tho 😂 Edited September 9 by mersaylee 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic September 9 Share September 9 https://www.tiktok.com/t/ZS2P4aTQe/ 👍👍👍👍 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...