Do You Want To Retire Before 60 ?

On 9/7/2024 at 9:05 PM, Throttle2 said:

It is very easy to get trapped.

for those people who dont make “enough” money, they have to keep on working just to make ends meet.  Trapped

for people who do make “enough”, they keep on working and working so that they can have more than “enough”. Trapped

for people who make more than “enough” , they continue to work to make more becos it’s too much to give up.   Trapped

A show of hands, who here wakes up in the morning feeling great and spiffy, all ready and happy to go to work. 

who here loves getting into office or the workplace on Mondays?   If you wholehearted do, i congratulate you.  i personally didnt,

But now i wake up everyday feeling pretty shiok and happy compared to the dreadfulness and even occasonal disgust when i was working.

I dont know if i am trapped in anyway but i also wake up very happy and felling blessed everyday ,my motivation is self-propelled, no complaints about anything in life including work.   Though  the corporate culture is quite toxic, but if i cant change it, just move along and try to contribute to the business  while helping the people, beyond that, just enjoy life, enjoy every moment. 😀

Edited by Ct3833

On 9/8/2024 at 7:38 AM, 13177 said:

If the person has such mentality, then the business will be gone after the person is gone too even after building of your own also cannot continue.

Too bad too many such people who cannot let go.

Even like some of those people working in senior management in a company also same same. Everything also want to get involved and cannot let go and let their subordinates to do.

Of cos let subordinates do lah, aiyoh, management is not suppose to do the work.  Set the direction, lead the way and be accontable for the results.  
easy job , hahah.  

Unless like me, you also care about peoples progression, work life balance, career growth , aspirations and education.  
Then it ibecomes a very very very tough job.  

Edited by Throttle2

On 9/8/2024 at 6:11 PM, Ct3833 said:

I dont know if i am trapped in anyway but i also wake up very happy and felling blessed everyday ,my motivation is self-propelled, no complaints about anything in life including work.   Though  the corporate culture is quite toxic, but if i cant change it, just move along and try to contribute to the business  while helping the people, beyond that, just enjoy life, enjoy every moment. 

same same here ...

I dont know if i am trapped in anyway but i also wake up very happy and felling blessed everyday ,my motivation is self-propelled, no complaints about anything in life including work.   Though  the corporate culture is quite toxic, but if i cant change it, just move along and try to contribute to the business  while helping the people, beyond that, just enjoy life, enjoy every moment. 😀

If you love your job, then you dont have a job.  Good job😁  Toxic culture , aiyoh. But maybe you attain Zen already so it doesnt suck you in. 

how will you feel when your boss cut you one fine day becos someone f**ked you over?  or when you hit 68 and are forced to retire?

will you fall into depression, confusion becos you suddenly lost 80% of your lifes routine?   Hope not.  

Edited by Throttle2

On 9/8/2024 at 6:17 PM, Throttle2 said:

If you love your job, then you dont have a job.  Good job😁  Toxic culture , aiyoh. But maybe you attain Zen already so it doesnt suck you in. 

how will you feel when your boss cut you one fine day becos someone f**ked you over?  or when you hit 68 and are forced to retire?

ADVERTISEMENT

will you fall into depression, confusion becos you suddenly lost 80% of your lifes routine?   Hope not.  

Job perspective, i am ready to let go as long as there is willing taker to take my role. About accountability, my challenge is when i miss my biz plan and KPIs, my people's job will be at stake, so my pressure is other people's job security, not mine. 

Edited by Ct3833

On 9/8/2024 at 6:26 PM, Ct3833 said:

Job perspective, i am ready to let go as long as there is willing taker to take my role. About accountability, my challenge is when i miss my biz plan and KPIs, my people's job will be at stake, so my pressure is other people's job security, not mine. 

I am guessing you work in a smaller privately owned company, non listed, probably family owned.   Its pretty different from big listed Corporate.

got pros and cons as usual.  

as long as you are happy, continue…. No reason to stop…..

On 9/8/2024 at 6:26 PM, Ct3833 said:

Shouldn’t ppl under you know about the consequences?

Risk and reward should be delegated 

On 9/7/2024 at 9:05 PM, Throttle2 said:

It is very easy to get trapped.

for those people who dont make “enough” money, they have to keep on working just to make ends meet.  Trapped

for people who do make “enough”, they keep on working and working so that they can have more than “enough”. Trapped

for people who make more than “enough” , they continue to work to make more becos it’s too much to give up.   Trapped

A show of hands, who here wakes up in the morning feeling great and spiffy, all ready and happy to go to work. 

who here loves getting into office or the workplace on Mondays?   If you wholehearted do, i congratulate you.  i personally didnt,

But now i wake up everyday feeling pretty shiok and happy compared to the dreadfulness and even occasonal disgust when i was working.

I don’t drag myself to work actually.  I like the people i work with and the work I do is reasonably satisfying although it can be tedious at times. But my time is still not my time.  Too bad my role won’t allow me to work part time, otherwise i might opt for 3 days work week and work for a long long time. 

Edited by Voodooman
  • Sad 1

On 9/8/2024 at 10:38 PM, Voodooman said:

I don’t drag myself to work actually.  I like the people i work with and the work I do is reasonably satisfying although it can be tedious at times. But my time is still not my time.  Too bad my role won’t allow me to work part time, otherwise i might opt for 3 days work week and work for a long long time. 

Not meaning you or anyone in particular, just generally.

if you like your work and the people at work, more than half the battle is won. 

for me , i was beginning to dread it 2 years ago .  Going to work at the start of the week was a real drag.   So i took the easy way out

On 9/8/2024 at 6:35 PM, Throttle2 said:

I am guessing you work in a smaller privately owned company, non listed, probably family owned.   Its pretty different from big listed Corporate.

got pros and cons as usual.  

as long as you are happy, continue…. No reason to stop…..

My whole life, fortune 500  listed American MNC. It is all about wall stree casino game. 

On 9/9/2024 at 12:29 AM, Ct3833 said:

My whole life, fortune 500  listed American MNC. It is all about wall stree casino game. 

Dream job, sounds like can stay forever 💪💪💪👍👍👍

But you mentioned you are in your sixties?   When will you draw the line and give the time to yourself?

Btw share the company name leh, sounds like a possible good stock to analyse and buy. 

Edited by Throttle2

On 9/9/2024 at 12:29 AM, Ct3833 said:

Waah Unker steady lah ….. Mine is a Lima kaki 1🤪🤪🤪Many big Company’s  will force people to retire at 63 ‘cos they become too expensive to keep and will not recontract unless you are in medical field ( hospitals) which has still acute staff shortage or in family Kongsi where U can just talk boss straight N nego on the spot 

On 9/8/2024 at 4:18 PM, Wt_know said:

no scare no scare ...

the answer is already written on the wall ...

2024-09-08_161043_magic.jpeg

https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/articles/nav/my-home/how-much-to-earn-to-buy-a-condo-in-sg

really work until die!! write up here of 12k ..is the bare minimum....meaning ...dun need to take vacation, no emergency funds, no need to buy car, no need to pay parents, no need to splurge, no need to buy diapers, no need to buy milk, no need to have children....jialiat...

I would say bare minimum to buy condo a 1.5 mil condo is 800k cash as dp (not from cpf hor)...and holding 200k cash for emergency.....if dun have this, you can't afford it ....think at night will not sleep well....and with an income of 20k and above....no this no talk!! :grin: 

Edited by Spidey10

On 9/9/2024 at 12:01 AM, Throttle2 said:

Not meaning you or anyone in particular, just generally.

if you like your work and the people at work, more than half the battle is won. 

for me , i was beginning to dread it 2 years ago .  Going to work at the start of the week was a real drag.   So i took the easy way out

I also like my job and pple in the office....until recently, HQ change management...and all the new and young bosses i see mostly wanna show they can do the work and started initiating change....a lot of pple left, so did my boss...

to me, apart from the colleagues that you work closely with, the most important person that make or break you is your immediate boss!! if he/she is cannot lead you...your battle is lost...if he/she have leadership qualities and knows how to lead you, then half the battle is won!! The Boss plays an important role for me....:grin:

On 9/8/2024 at 10:38 PM, Voodooman said:

dragging yrself to work is already a bad indication.....in all my working live, only twice I have had to drag myself to work, and on both occassion, i already know I need to go.....

last situation happened last yr, and threw my letter and gave notice and then wfh till my last day and went in to hand over my laptop and byeeeeee.....:grin:

same here now....no more high level corporate engagement.....8 - 5 30 daily for me and off from work. but my side, the colleagues are fantastic....majority are in my age group and all are friendly. The culture is not bad....got malays, chinese and indians in my office..

not bad for a semi retirement role...:grin:...just to kill time and have something to do and get out of the house...

On 9/9/2024 at 8:02 AM, Spidey10 said:

https://www.dbs.com.sg/personal/articles/nav/my-home/how-much-to-earn-to-buy-a-condo-in-sg

really work until die!! write up here of 12k ..is the bare minimum....meaning ...dun need to take vacation, no emergency funds, no need to buy car, no need to pay parents, no need to splurge, no need to buy diapers, no need to buy milk, no need to have children....jialiat...

I would say bare minimum to buy condo a 1.5 mil condo is 800k cash as dp (not from cpf hor)...and holding 200k cash for emergency.....if dun have this, you can't afford it ....think at night will not sleep well....and with an income of 20k and above....no this no talk!! :grin: 

no scare no scare

agent says …

3 years smelly smelly can make $250K to $300K

then can upgrade liao … just need to tahan 3 years only …