2 ex-Certis Cisco officers jailed for misappropriating ATM $

Darthrevan

Two former Certis Cisco officers who were tasked with the job of replenishing money at ATMs in Singapore ended up misappropriating nearly $147,000 instead.

For that, 21-year-old Palwinder Singh A/L Harjan Singh will now spend 30 months in jail while 27-year-old Theywa Subramaniam will serve a 36-month jail term.

The court heard that Theywa, deemed to be more culpable, was also convicted of one count of moving the criminal proceeds to Malaysia and another count of moving more than $30,000 cash out of Singapore.

The court was told that the offences were committed in mid-September last year when the two officers made their rounds with another colleague, who was not involved.

The two men had discussed their plan over tea break, after sharing with each other their unhappiness with their employer's management.

They decided to execute their plan when they were at Plaza Singapura.

Instead of heading for the ATMs directly, the two men pushed the trolley carrying the cash into the men's washroom.

Their movement was captured on CCTV.

They took out $147,000 and left the other $293,000 cash in the bags before continuing their rounds.

The prosecution had previously argued that the starting point for such offences is a jail term of between 24 and 28 months.

The aggravating factors in this instance were that the two accused were security officers and that their plea of guilt is inequitable, as they were caught on CCTV and the offences would have been discovered.

In mitigation, the defence counsel argued that $135,000 was recovered at Theywa's Malaysian residence, and that his client was truly remorseful, having "supreme stupidity of thinking that they could get away".

But District Judge Siva Shanmugam pointed out that the acts were pre-meditated and that the amount involved was substantial.

He said the blatant abuse of trust has undermined public confidence in the security industry.

For criminal breach of trust as an employee, they could each have been jailed up to 15 years and fined.

This doesn't make sense, usually there are 3 parties involved. There will be a guy that opens the ATM and the 2 Cisco staff just help out. Also the money case is locked and tamper proof. Seems like lots of loop holes.

On 2/25/2014 at 3:10 PM, Salmon said:

This doesn't make sense, usually there are 3 parties involved. There will be a guy that opens the ATM and the 2 Cisco staff just help out. Also the money case is locked and tamper proof. Seems like lots of loop holes.

And won't an ATM track the amount of $$$$ it disburses anyway?

On 2/25/2014 at 3:52 PM, Tigerwoods said:

want to do crime, do it big like the Lawyer ran away with clients mirrions, till now cannot find him.

this lawyer must be hiding somewhere in another country. sometimes the mafias in the country will take good care of him at a small fee. [sweatdrop]

CERTIS image not beri good. sometime ago, there was loss in safe box at Paya Lebar.

When opening the thread I already suspect it could be staff from MY. Not bec MY ppl are dishonest, but CERTIS seems to have high rate of workers from there.

Maybe low pay attracts wrong types.

So, they need a consultant to polish things abit...

Former Central Narcotics Bureau (CNB) director Ng Boon Gay will join security company Certis Cisco as a consultant next month, on a short-term contract "to help with various aspects of our security business", said a spokesman for the firm.

How on earth they think they can get away with the heist?

And if not happy with the employer, just quit lah. There are so many jobs around mah. By the way, there is no such thing as perfect employer. Neither is there such thing as perfect employee. So, all things come as a package.

I think the report stated that they supposed to take only 1 container but took extra 2 without the third person noticing and went to the toilet to take out the cash of $100/- bills .... <_<

One thing for sure, they are stupid. MY so big and keep the money at home and wait for police to come and caught 1 person.... [hur]

On 2/25/2014 at 3:59 PM, Super7 said:

this lawyer must be hiding somewhere in another country. sometimes the mafias in the country will take good care of him at a small fee. [sweatdrop]

If the reward for your head is big, the mafia will up his protection fees.

You seemed to know such things... you must have been roaming the underground ...

Guy who opens the ATM must be at the machine waiting for them but they should have left the bank together in the "armoured" car?

Pure stupidity thinking they can pull it off.

Could have put up a show and get friends to "rob" them [lipsrsealed][:p]

On 2/25/2014 at 11:57 PM, Tigerwoods said:

If the reward for your head is big, the mafia will up his protection fees.

You seemed to know such things... you must have been roaming the underground ...

LOL

I read 晚报!!!

On 2/25/2014 at 9:51 PM, Camrysfa said:

Maybe low pay attracts wrong types.

Don't we all know that?

We pay the top big bucks to prevent corruptions while paying peanuts to NSF, SPF, SCDF, to protect the country.

Millions can buy a way through.....run road is pretty easy lor.

The nuts these 2 jokers steal cant do anything.........of course get caught fast. [laugh]

On 2/25/2014 at 3:52 PM, Tigerwoods said:

want to do crime, do it big like the Lawyer ran away with clients mirrions, till now cannot find him.

Edited by Hiphiphoray

On 2/26/2014 at 1:56 AM, Hiphiphoray said:

Millions can buy a way through.....run road is pretty easy lor.

The nuts these 2 jokers steal cant do anything.........of course get caught fast. [laugh]

They can just hide in one of the Palm or Rubber plantations for years ... :ph34r:

No they cant.

Say i maroon you in a hdb flat without communicating to the outside world......u can tahan how long ?

I bet i strict you surfing MCF for 1 week u already wana die liao......... [laugh]

On 2/26/2014 at 2:03 AM, Picnic06 said:

They can just hide in one of the Palm or Rubber plantations for years ... :ph34r:

On 2/25/2014 at 3:59 PM, Super7 said:

with 11 mils, he can do wonders..change face and finger print in korea..maybe he is having breakfast now at Arab street ...LOL

On 2/26/2014 at 2:41 AM, Kezg1 said:

with 11 mils, he can do wonders..change face and finger print in korea..maybe he is having breakfast now at Arab street ...LOL

LOL !!!

HIGHLY possible