Increase petrol taxes to ease COE prices of smaller cars

Maxus-MIFA9

the million dollar QUESTION is how to ease COE?

what category to be created?

simply by increasing Cat A quota, the rich will also cheong in to buy 2nd and 3rd car ... for wife, for kid, for maid to go pasar ... [laugh]

this needs to be done.

theres another category we can create.

the kei car coe aka <600cc cars.

in japan, these cars pay less tax, less insurance.

Crazy. Increase petrol tax will only result in further inflation throughout all industries..

knn professor talk like that.. i can also be professor...

use backside fart also sounds nicer than the words from him...

ffs... please improve public transport service QUALITY first then talk...

Edited by Knoobie

History has shown that using money as a deterrant only works very short term but once the consumer adjusts his expenditure he will continue to pay for it.

Till today tax on tobacco - we see more smokers.

Can we move away from using money to solve problems ?

we need good solutions from this A-team.

the million dollar QUESTION is how to ease COE

and Reduce Car Population ?

simply by increasing Cat A quota, the rich will also cheong in to buy 2nd and 3rd car ... for wife, for kid, for maid to go pasar ... [laugh]

This is our objective

Last time carpooling helps to reduce the no of vehilcles on the road.

They removed that because car drivers go to bus stops take away commuters from PTOs.

How about we try again ?

This is our objective

They removed that because car drivers go to bus stops take away commuters from PTOs.

How about we try again ?

before erp, carpooling had benefits with the ALZ scheme..

now solo or pooled, u pay the same. who will pool [:|]

Can he just keep it to himself .......... :angry:

yahoo news: Increase petrol taxes to ease COE prices of smaller cars: economist

Singapore’s government could do more to help the environment through the Budget by increasing petrol taxes and raising the certificate of entitlement (COE) quota on smaller cars, an economist from Nanyang Technological University said on Monday.

Speaking at a forum organised by the Economic Society of Singapore on Budget 2014, Ng Yew Kwang, professor of economics at Nanyang Technological University (NTU), said that raising petrol taxes would encourage motorists to take trips only when necessary.

It would also relieve the pressure on rising COE prices, especially those for Category A vehicles, cars 1600cc and below and engine power not exceeding 97 kilowatts.

He said that the government should increase the quota for the smaller vehicles to allow their COE prices to become more affordable, as these have already come close those of the bigger cars in category B.

Increasing petrol taxes would offset the revenue impact from a decline in smaller cars' COE prices, he noted.

The economics professor also suggested that the government increase taxes on luxurious cars and move to boost the number of taxis on the road.

It had been expected by many analysts that Budget 2014, which was unveiled by Deputy Prime Minister and Finance Minister Tharman Shanmugaratnam last Friday, would raise taxes on the rich. Instead, higher duties on cigarettes, alcohol and lottery betting were announced.

Ng said he wanted to see more things in the Budget that would address environmental issues.

He criticised the electricity rebates announced by Tharman as being “environmentally unfriendly” as they would encourage people to consume more electricity.

Tharman said that 800,000 households in HDB flats would receive one-off vouchers to offset utility bills.

Ng said providing a lump sum that households could choose to spend however they wished would have been a better alternative.

link: http://sg.finance.yahoo.com/news/increase-petrol-taxes-to-ease-coe-prices-of-smaller-cars--economist-123004170.html

Increase petrol taxes to ease COE but what happen to those already on the road, burnt a bigger hole in our pockets ..... [furious]

Our petrol is already not cheap per liter ... [sweatdrop]

In the first place, why is there a need to increase any taxes to ease COE prices?

Unless Ng Yew Kwang, professor of economics at Nanyang Technological University is openly admitting that COE is more of a revenue generating tool than one used for limiting vehicle growth. Does he mean that revenue from other sources had to be taken into consideration to balance the scale?

Are there no other better options than using bidding to secure a COE to buy a car?

In the first place, why is there a need to increase any taxes to ease COE prices?

Unless Ng Yew Kwang, professor of economics at Nanyang Technological University is openly admitting that COE is more of a revenue generating tool than one used for limiting vehicle growth. Does he mean that revenue from other sources had to be taken into consideration to balance the scale?

Are there no other better options than using bidding to secure a COE to buy a car?

errrrrrr............ next GE coming, score points for protential candidate ... [sly]

the million dollar QUESTION is how to ease COE?

Last time I came out with a suggestion that is fair to buyers, but is totally unfriendly to the governement.

A database could be setup for potential buyers to register their interest in buying a car.The database will have 3 options - 1. queue up till your turn, 2. lottery based and 3. for those who cannot wait or feel they have no chance (current system).

COE quota released as per normal, 70% goes for Option 1. This is like how HDB flats are sold before BTO. Based on FIFO queue. Therefore there'll be no difference in the projected number of vehicles on the road if they get their forecast right.

Another 20 % can be allocated as a lottery/lucky draw for those who selected both Options 1 and 2.

Last 10%, you can bid whatever amount you like if you miss the current bidding system or you need to get a car urgently. ADs can help you on that.

Options 1 and 2, car is non-transferrable for first 4 years to prevent abuse of the system. Each registration fee will be $5000 and forfeitted if buyer does not register a car within 3 months, extendable by another 3 months if can show it was due to shipment delay. If buyer gives up, that COE is recycled back into the pool for next month.

To prevent whole family from registering, each household address can only have 1 name in the database. To buy a 2nd or more cars, the earlier name had to be removed from the list. Violaters will be moved to the back of the queue.

Immediately can see COE prices easing.

Idea is there, it's whether they want or don't want to do. Building the MCE LTA already boost it's an engineering feat, what is this revamp COE system to them?

This professor from which planet??

increase petrol taxes will not solve COE issues....

might as well as LTY to increase qouta!!

once fuel tax increase, all other industry will increase price due to higher operating cost...

have this professor think about the aftermath and the repercussion by increasing petrol taxes?

Maybe he himself lives in JB and not bother by tax increases....

This is crap coming from a Professor, so short sighted.... Not sure if it really impact COE for small car, but it will definitely increase overall transportation cost. The nett effect is the cost of living will go up...!!

Said before and will say again. Increase the cost of parking in the CBD by 100-500%.

URA can do it simply by zoning the cost of MSCPs differently or adjusting the allocation of parking lots per office development.

Last time I came out with a suggestion that is fair to buyers, but is totally unfriendly to the governement.

A database could be setup for potential buyers to register their interest in buying a car.The database will have 3 options - 1. queue up till your turn, 2. lottery based and 3. for those who cannot wait or feel they have no chance (current system).

COE quota released as per normal, 70% goes for Option 1. This is like how HDB flats are sold before BTO. Based on FIFO queue. Therefore there'll be no difference in the projected number of vehicles on the road if they get their forecast right.

Another 20 % can be allocated as a lottery/lucky draw for those who selected both Options 1 and 2.

Last 10%, you can bid whatever amount you like if you miss the current bidding system or you need to get a car urgently. ADs can help you on that.

Options 1 and 2, car is non-transferrable for first 4 years to prevent abuse of the system. Each registration fee will be $5000 and forfeitted if buyer does not register a car within 3 months, extendable by another 3 months if can show it was due to shipment delay. If buyer gives up, that COE is recycled back into the pool for next month.

To prevent whole family from registering, each household address can only have 1 name in the database. To buy a 2nd or more cars, the earlier name had to be removed from the list. Violaters will be moved to the back of the queue.

Idea is there, it's whether they want or don't want to do. Building the MCE LTA already boost it's an engineering feat, what is this revamp COE system to them?

Your idea is worth a try at the least!!! But gahmen is unlikely to kill its goose which lays golden eggs.

Said before and will say again. Increase the cost of parking in the CBD by 100-500%.

URA can do it simply by zoning the cost of MSCPs differently or adjusting the allocation of parking lots per office development.

If the parking fee is sky high, maybe there will be illegal valet parking!?

This is our objective

How about we try again ?

I used to pick up random passengers from Telok Blangah bus stops, and later dropped them off near my work place in CBD!!! Very good system.

the gahman stop carpooling system is becoz some car owners were using it to earn a living during that time.. (i.e private taxi)

they cant find a way to tax these car owners so they put a stop to it.

at the end of the day, it is all about $$$!!!!

I used to pick up random passengers from Telok Blangah bus stops, and later dropped them off near my work place in CBD!!! Very good system.

Yup, if pick up a random chio passenger in low-cut tops and short skirt, you can chat her up and get to know her better! [wave]

A very good system, indeed. [:p]

Your idea is worth a try at the least!!! But gahmen is unlikely to kill its goose which lays golden eggs.

If the parking fee is sky high, maybe there will be illegal valet parking!?

Car Pooling now is made impossible since ERP charge by car and not by seeing 4 ppl in your car and you go in free..

I ever sat in car pools going into Shenton way when I was working there in the early 1980s.

I doubt anyone will even dare sit in one nowadays, fearing kena raped, molested, sodomised, robbed or all 4...

To increase taxes, its the simplest policy in the book - we don't need to pay Highest salaries in the world for such ideas.

I can do it for half of their salary.

Edited by Tigerwoods

Scholars KPI will be affected. Money No Enough how to build expressways like MCE ?