Increase petrol taxes to ease COE prices of smaller cars

Maxus-MIFA9

I hardly see open space car parks in CBD except that little car park beside Hong Lim Park .... [sweatdrop]

All inside buildings .. [:(]

Yes, I meant the MSCP in commercial and office buildings.

Design submissions to the BCA need to stipulate the total number of car park slots to be built for any new building.

That ratio per plot space has been revised downward recently.

The ratio should be monitored further and reduced if needed.

There are just too many one-driver cars parked in commercial buildings in the CBD for the whole day, until they go home. Such a waste of real estate space!

Cutting down car park spaces to plot ratios will increase car park rates in the CBD and be a deterrent for people to drive to work when it becomes too painful.

They would then inevitably consider taking the MRT or taxi to their CBD offices.

I'd hazard a guess that a $800-1,000 p.m. in CBD season parking will start to hurt enough for people to reconsider driving to work in the CBD!

The problem is COE is rigged by the ADs.

Even if petrol price is increased by 10%, COE will not plunge. Usage is inelastic for current owners.

Want COE to drop, take it out of the dealers' hands. Just sell cars, full stop.

Successful bidders of COEs will come knocking on the doors of the most competitive ADs.

ha..ha..ha.... how about starting a campaign to switch off engine at every traffic junctions. At least can save a few seconds of fuel .... [drivingcar]

Those working in CBD areas sure save a lot of fuel cos so many dammed traffic lights ... [furious]

Edited by Picnic06

bo lah, only a 1.4A Korean. 06 model.

best I can do is 10.5/10.7 per litre, but......I will be like a road hog. Limiting rpm to 2 - 2.5k.

I heard a few "powerful" Getzs running around and very stealth...... shhhhhhh

This professor living in SG or not?

raise petrol tax will have no bearing on COE.

Only results in people driving more slowly on the road

Is it ? Since its stealth, one can buy a Getz and go GL/KTV/etc without being noticed ....!!! :ph34r:[:/]

9km/L !!!! This is bad! Must be your car cc very big! Or you always like to kuay?

9km/L is bad meh? I'm only doing like 10km/L :huh:

A 1992 1600cc car I drive can still give 13km/L!! So newer cars shouldn't be worst than that mah.

Erm... [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop] [sweatdrop]

Is it ? Since its stealth, one can buy a Getz and go GL/KTV/etc without being noticed ....!!! :ph34r:[:/]

LOL !!

This one we must really ask our bro liao! But it does make sense!

Remember to cover the MCF stickers first before going to such places .... [sly]

:D:D

Is this one of those "Increase GST to help the poor"-type scams schemes?

Maybe another $8b to help the rich poor bus company [:|]

haha, usually only those 1.6MT [sly] have that opportunity..... Else GB cui [sweatdrop]

its a jippun 5MT ?

i think LTA would pay you a million if they themselves have the solution

the million dollar QUESTION is how to ease COE?

what category to be created?

simply by increasing Cat A quota, the rich will also cheong in to buy 2nd and 3rd car ... for wife, for kid, for maid to go pasar ... [laugh]