HP_Lee 5th Gear April 18, 2016 Share April 18, 2016 (edited) no choice. It took me 1year+ to relocate this operation and run up to speed. I can see more businesses have been moving to north for the last 5 years. Have helped the company to saved, but at the expense of people over here. You are right, in Singapore we have automated various processes. Again this have lower our expenses further. So Malaysia is not all bad like what social media have painted. How we are happy after a tough 2 years. The weakness of the RM has spawned many new business opportunities there (you cannot see it immediately) but there will be some movement of businesses from here to there especially those whom really cannot "tahan" our crazy cost of doing business like rentals and of lately cannot get general workers too and also Malaysia getting EP is not really a problem; Don't know if our govt realises that he is killing many small SME industries here run like Mom and Pop or small family operations Everything here talk is mechanisation and upgrading like so easy piece of cake Edited April 18, 2016 by HP_Lee ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lava 5th Gear April 18, 2016 Share April 18, 2016 The weakness of the RM has spawned many new business opportunities there (you cannot see it immediately) but there will be some movement of businesses from here to there especially those whom really cannot "tahan" our crazy cost of doing business like rentals and of lately cannot get general workers too and also Malaysia getting EP is not really a problem; Don't know if our govt realises that he is killing many small SME industries here run like Mom and Pop or small family operations Everything here talk is mechanisation and upgrading like so easy piece of cake govt only interested in mnc, small sme cannot show our minister performance and kpi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic April 18, 2016 Share April 18, 2016 (edited) no choice. It took me 1year+ to relocate this operation and run up to speed. I can see more businesses have been moving to north for the last 5 years. Have helped the company to saved, but at the expense of people over here. You are right, in Singapore we have automated various processes. Again this have lower our expenses further. So Malaysia is not all bad like what social media have painted. How we are happy after a tough 2 years. My previous industry - almost every single competitor has moved out from Singapore to KL (as regional HQ). Left just 1 local/Singaporean company.... Adding on: those of us with transferable skills (across industries) are still relatively okay but those engineers with very specialized knowledge would be the ones in more serious trouble. Edited April 18, 2016 by Kusje Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic April 18, 2016 Share April 18, 2016 Have moved most operation to JB, and that my company have enjoy great cost savings. I love to capitalize on countries with weak currencies.Same does to the Australian dollars. To make money, one have to venture into those that most are staying away, whether is business or investments. Of course, lots of homework and due-diligent. There is no free lunches. Yes you have to do due diligence but for small Mom n Pop business or family business operating in the JB area - is very clear n simple cut and adjust to the ' mentality' and some red tape and learn some basic Bahasa And some workers rights n culture - initially there will be hiccups and stress but after a few months things should come to fruition once the supply chain management system gets used to Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear April 19, 2016 Share April 19, 2016 Yap, you are right. I can see more property demand over time gradually . At the moment it is on the way to Shenzhen style. And the only difference is different country. Again at the expense of singapore's property demands. When one is often traveling North, things are not what those in Singapore painted. Just only certain areas to avoid. It's a nice country, better than China. People does not job hop to much as compare to my China plant. Yes you have to do due diligence but for small Mom n Pop business or family business operating in the JB area - is very clear n simple cut and adjust to the ' mentality' and some red tape and learn some basic Bahasa And some workers rights n culture - initially there will be hiccups and stress but after a few months things should come to fruition once the supply chain management system gets used to That is true. I have a couple of previously let go Snr Engineers and Sales having problem to find job with the same salaries. My previous industry - almost every single competitor has moved out from Singapore to KL (as regional HQ). Left just 1 local/Singaporean company.... Adding on: those of us with transferable skills (across industries) are still relatively okay but those engineers with very specialized knowledge would be the ones in more serious trouble. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic April 19, 2016 Share April 19, 2016 Yap, you are right. I can see more property demand over time gradually . At the moment it is on the way to Shenzhen style. And the only difference is different country. Again at the expense of singapore's property demands. When one is often traveling North, things are not what those in Singapore painted. Just only certain areas to avoid. It's a nice country, better than China. People does not job hop to much as compare to my China plant. That is true. I have a couple of previously let go Snr Engineers and Sales having problem to find job with the same salaries. Its really not that bad when you are an established company in Singapore and know your " in's and out's " of the trade here ;matter of just replicating or duplicating it there ; get used to their taxation, accounting system and supply chain and workers are quite Ok there to get and you still can get foreign workers there (like managerial staff from overseas) as the EP system is not so rigid like in SGP , but only thing everything there have to go thru' some broker (usually Bumi related) whom will charge you some so called "lesen" fee here and there. End of the day you also get a new market there to sell too; For a no brainer any thing divide by 3 is too good a deal to not let go in terms of rental, workers wages, electricity, petrol and cars too; In Malaysia sometimes have to provide cars for some managers usually. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear April 19, 2016 Share April 19, 2016 Seems like you are also running a business? The Bumi thing not so bad, after all deductibles still 1/3 cheaper to run than in Singapore. we did not provide cars though is dirt cheap, but we pay them in term so transport allowance. That is why so many companies are moving there , after they see their peers are doing well over there. Its really not that bad when you are an established company in Singapore and know your " in's and out's " of the trade here ;matter of just replicating or duplicating it there ; get used to their taxation, accounting system and supply chain and workers are quite Ok there to get and you still can get foreign workers there (like managerial staff from overseas) as the EP system is not so rigid like in SGP , but only thing everything there have to go thru' some broker (usually Bumi related) whom will charge you some so called "lesen" fee here and there. End of the day you also get a new market there to sell too; For a no brainer any thing divide by 3 is too good a deal to not let go in terms of rental, workers wages, electricity, petrol and cars too; In Malaysia sometimes have to provide cars for some managers usually. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic April 19, 2016 Share April 19, 2016 (edited) Seems like you are also running a business? The Bumi thing not so bad, after all deductibles still 1/3 cheaper to run than in Singapore. we did not provide cars though is dirt cheap, but we pay them in term so transport allowance. That is why so many companies are moving there , after they see their peers are doing well over there. Yes and am semi retired now Singapore costs has made it very difficult to do business here Some of my suppliers have already moved to near JB, like Batu Pahat and Pontian So far 4 have moved, one came back with not so good story (i take it that it was maybe not his foresight) After all , all of them employed workers from Malaysia prior to moving there; Only thing bad in Malaysia is the Credit culture there; but if you have good external markets to ship out back like Singapore then its no problem ; As I am referring to having a business to just distribute in Singapore what initially would have been your same factory producing it here; Besides the lorry can come in from there to Singapore within like 24 hours which is also no problem too; Even now big companies like ICI (now AkzoNobel) produce paints in Malaysia (now this is no mom n pop company) In fact the currency drop has benefited Singapore companies exporting out of Malaysia right now; they are kind of comfortable with their profit margins and can relak Edited April 19, 2016 by BanCoe 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic April 19, 2016 Share April 19, 2016 (edited) Do this should be safe :) anNxmR5_460sa.gif This is completely unnecessary in JB. They only steal Honda, Toyota and Proton. They never steal Korean cars. http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?app=core&module=attach§ion=attach&attach_rel_module=post&attach_id=146531 Edited April 19, 2016 by Jamesc 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear April 19, 2016 Share April 19, 2016 In the first place we Singaporeans created the problem. Why ??? Ask ourselves Many drive nice cars Many spend a lot in malls Many spend a lot on meals Many never abide laws there. (Speeding, any how park their cars and so on....) Many talk big, not humble. Many act like they always have the right of things. As if, they are in Singapore. (Parking at disable lot) All these give them the sense that we are arrogant and rich. Do we ask for it? No. Nobody "ask for it". Rather I see this more of victim of Singapore's relative success. Or would you prefer to be a victim of our own failure ? Also don't forget, many of those S-registered car owners who frequent across the causeway aren't even true-blue Singaporean. So, avoid making a sweeping statement, when possible. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear April 20, 2016 Share April 20, 2016 Yes. After going through all these troubles, it really makes sense to operate there. I have promoted a few local engineers and sales after a year plus to secure their road map. With that, they are now able to upgrade their homes. We have also looking middle management candidates from KL to reside in JB to run operation and sales. Overall is going smooth, except some small issues that need attention. I agree that the credit culture is a problem. But, is a chicken-and-egg thing. Good margins and stable operations have outweighed the Bumi thing. Malaysia wins most all aspects, when comes to operating plants. The currency depreciation is not a bad thing. More multi-international companies are ready there. And seeing more on the way, if the currency stays that way. Yes and am semi retired now Singapore costs has made it very difficult to do business here Some of my suppliers have already moved to near JB, like Batu Pahat and Pontian So far 4 have moved, one came back with not so good story (i take it that it was maybe not his foresight) After all , all of them employed workers from Malaysia prior to moving there; Only thing bad in Malaysia is the Credit culture there; but if you have good external markets to ship out back like Singapore then its no problem ; As I am referring to having a business to just distribute in Singapore what initially would have been your same factory producing it here; Besides the lorry can come in from there to Singapore within like 24 hours which is also no problem too; Even now big companies like ICI (now AkzoNobel) produce paints in Malaysia (now this is no mom n pop company) In fact the currency drop has benefited Singapore companies exporting out of Malaysia right now; they are kind of comfortable with their profit margins and can relak Thank you for correcting me. S-plate does drove by Malaysian PRs. No. Nobody "ask for it". Rather I see this more of victim of Singapore's relative success. Or would you prefer to be a victim of our own failure ? Also don't forget, many of those S-registered car owners who frequent across the causeway aren't even true-blue Singaporean. So, avoid making a sweeping statement, when possible. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic April 20, 2016 Share April 20, 2016 Yes. After going through all these troubles, it really makes sense to operate there. I have promoted a few local engineers and sales after a year plus to secure their road map. With that, they are now able to upgrade their homes. We have also looking middle management candidates from KL to reside in JB to run operation and sales. Overall is going smooth, except some small issues that need attention. I agree that the credit culture is a problem. But, is a chicken-and-egg thing. Good margins and stable operations have outweighed the Bumi thing. Malaysia wins most all aspects, when comes to operating plants. The currency depreciation is not a bad thing. More multi-international companies are ready there. And seeing more on the way, if the currency stays that way. Thank you for correcting me. S-plate does drove by Malaysian PRs. ..... and over in Singapore all this old traditional mom n pop family businesses are now dying a slow death......... Blardly hell the govt. here does not care even, Biggest Landlord HDB just some more jack up rentals last year again and JTC give to Reits (when all other pte commercial landlords are cutting down on rentals) I mean when a rental here for a small 1500 sq ft flatted factory here is like $3,000 and you can get ground floor one at 3 to 4 times the size at the same price; just imagine straight line cost cutting already; get Malaysian workers here and pay levy , can get 2 to even 3 to 4 workers for the same amount spent here; All those dirty or so called unglamorous B2 trades and beyond which have so much of Environment (NEA Approval ) / Fire Safety issues - nothing much there since you can get a detached factory space; 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear April 20, 2016 Share April 20, 2016 Beside Singapore, China also facing the same problem. Is a matter of time, I might need to shift part of it to Malaysia. I can see, eventually the work force in Singapore is getting smaller. Just imagine, I have cut 200 employees in Singapore previously. And that have 200 jobs opportunity. We are not the only one that is doing this. Many have been on the way. A friend of mine dealing with oil&gas business, have relocated his business in ZONE D of Iskander region. There goes another 140 jobs. The rising cost in Singapore is good for the region around it. That is my positive view. Eventually, we are losing out in term of competitiveness. ..... and over in Singapore all this old traditional mom n pop family businesses are now dying a slow death......... Blardly hell the govt. here does not care even, Biggest Landlord HDB just some more jack up rentals last year again and JTC give to Reits (when all other pte commercial landlords are cutting down on rentals) I mean when a rental here for a small 1500 sq ft flatted factory here is like $3,000 and you can get ground floor one at 3 to 4 times the size at the same price; just imagine straight line cost cutting already; get Malaysian workers here and pay levy , can get 2 to even 3 to 4 workers for the same amount spent here; All those dirty or so called unglamorous B2 trades and beyond which have so much of Environment (NEA Approval ) / Fire Safety issues - nothing much there since you can get a detached factory space; 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear April 20, 2016 Share April 20, 2016 Beside Singapore, China also facing the same problem. Is a matter of time, I might need to shift part of it to Malaysia. I can see, eventually the work force in Singapore is getting smaller. Just imagine, I have cut 200 employees in Singapore previously. And that have 200 jobs opportunity. We are not the only one that is doing this. Many have been on the way. A friend of mine dealing with oil&gas business, have relocated his business in ZONE D of Iskander region. There goes another 140 jobs. The rising cost in Singapore is good for the region around it. That is my positive view. Eventually, we are losing out in term of competitiveness. The statistics just don't add up - if Malaysia's relative competitiveness, IYV, is improving against Singapore, why then are those industries and businesses like yours chose nearby Johor and not else where in Malaysia (some even cheaper than JB) like Selangor, Penang, Pahang, Kelantan or even Sabah ? To keep the argument simple, let's just ignore the crime, traffic, distance, safety and infrastructure factors. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged April 20, 2016 Share April 20, 2016 The statistics just don't add up - if Malaysia's relative competitiveness, IYV, is improving against Singapore, why then are those industries and businesses like yours chose nearby Johor and not else where in Malaysia (some even cheaper than JB) like Selangor, Penang, Pahang, Kelantan or even Sabah ? To keep the argument simple, let's just ignore the crime, traffic, distance, safety and infrastructure factors. Yum. Delicious reading. Owe you. I have known of Universiti grad Malaysian engineer coming here to 几功钱。trying for those 2k manure labour positions. What's the average income over there? You may guess which industry I am into. Some of the hardware and disposables are made in more economical locales to maximize profit and reducing end user cost. Yet enjoy reading the 'tennis match' between both of you. 生意兴隆 to both of you! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear April 21, 2016 Share April 21, 2016 That is too far. Already have plants that are as far as Thailand and China. Malaysia serve as main plant. Nearby for easy control and at the same time saved 1/3 operating cost. One stone hits 2 birds. Singapore serve as a R&D for initial run.The crime thing is overblown. Those who hardly goes in, as hear and take the face value as true. It's just a self-fulfilling prophecy. Lastly, statistics is how the authorities want it to be. Anyway, the moving in have serve my company well, after 2 years of hard work. We already seeing more mid-life employees loosing jobs, here. Want to get back the same pay? Well, it is almost asking an impossible question. The statistics just don't add up - if Malaysia's relative competitiveness, IYV, is improving against Singapore, why then are those industries and businesses like yours chose nearby Johor and not else where in Malaysia (some even cheaper than JB) like Selangor, Penang, Pahang, Kelantan or even Sabah ? To keep the argument simple, let's just ignore the crime, traffic, distance, safety and infrastructure factors. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic April 21, 2016 Share April 21, 2016 That is too far. Already have plants that are as far as Thailand and China. Malaysia serve as main plant. Nearby for easy control and at the same time saved 1/3 operating cost. One stone hits 2 birds. Singapore serve as a R&D for initial run.The crime thing is overblown. Those who hardly goes in, as hear and take the face value as true. It's just a self-fulfilling prophecy. Lastly, statistics is how the authorities want it to be. Anyway, the moving in have serve my company well, after 2 years of hard work. We already seeing more mid-life employees loosing jobs, here. Want to get back the same pay? Well, it is almost asking an impossible question. Johore by far is one of the most populated state ; So its easy to source workers, I guess so; The nearness of Singapore is another factor so the bosses can come back to Singapore on weekends (as many of this are family run units too) Mid life Age has been now pushed to 53 ; no more 40's anymore; and some places they say its now 55 Those in the 40's to 50's are the most affected when it comes to getting another job in Singapore for a variety of reasons; I know of one whom was in the plastics business and now he is doing consultation to companies/ Banks to upgrade worker skills and also teach the Bosses how to cut costs too (by trimming workers and outsourcing certain work overseas) So no levy/ cpf headache ....etc and once in a month just report to Boss/ manager here in Singapore for meetings/ updates....etc I once sent my wife's expensive watch for repair ( i think battery leak most likely as she had not worn it in over 3 years) in Singapore in Suntec City (I dont want to name the brand) and it comes back after 2 weeks and when I went to pick it up they took it out of some Courier box (so very well packed) and I could see some Thai wordings on the box (which they quickly discreetly took it off) And the cost over $300/-++ So there we are...... just a simple example. We have lost almost everything , craftsmanship. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
HP_Lee 5th Gear April 21, 2016 Share April 21, 2016 (edited) This is exactly what I and my peers have been seeing for the past 10 years. Using to be a banking hub, now is under threat. Don't get me wrong, though banking sector is at it's peck for now. The recent tax haven thing, is a matter of time the big countries are coming after Singapore for disclosure of the rich stay here. Our past education system have sever us well during the 80s through early 2000. Thereafter, we are losing out in terms of innovativeness and original. Most are imported talents, using this place as a spring board before moving back to hometown, where there opportunities have yet to surface. It seems to me, a transition land for overseas talents. We hardly see any successful start-ups yet, after years of government push. None have become MNCs. So far the current low unemployment rate is masked by foreigner leaving jobs. A matter of time, they rethink and move to neighbouring countries after so more companies have managed to cut cost. That will be the tipping point for local employees. Statistics always lag many quarters. If we are heading towards SG100, we will be seeing more jobs go, due mainly to ioT. Already we hear bankers are worrying the ioT. Ultimately companies go for profit margins. If we are asking higher pay, we will be in trouble eventually. Johore by far is one of the most populated state ; So its easy to source workers, I guess so; The nearness of Singapore is another factor so the bosses can come back to Singapore on weekends (as many of this are family run units too) Mid life Age has been now pushed to 53 ; no more 40's anymore; and some places they say its now 55 Those in the 40's to 50's are the most affected when it comes to getting another job in Singapore for a variety of reasons; I know of one whom was in the plastics business and now he is doing consultation to companies/ Banks to upgrade worker skills and also teach the Bosses how to cut costs too (by trimming workers and outsourcing certain work overseas) So no levy/ cpf headache ....etc and once in a month just report to Boss/ manager here in Singapore for meetings/ updates....etc I once sent my wife's expensive watch for repair ( i think battery leak most likely as she had not worn it in over 3 years) in Singapore in Suntec City (I dont want to name the brand) and it comes back after 2 weeks and when I went to pick it up they took it out of some Courier box (so very well packed) and I could see some Thai wordings on the box (which they quickly discreetly took it off) And the cost over $300/-++ So there we are...... just a simple example. We have lost almost everything , craftsmanship. Edited April 21, 2016 by HP_Lee ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...