Mr Security, please wheel clamp correctly

Hanan_ho

On 2/19/2014 at 12:34 AM, ChickenMob said:

saw in Malaysia got 1 bike tio wheel clamp, the owner just asked a pickup to pick up the bike and leave. the security see liow also LLST..

That's mean the security also lose 1 wheel clamp..Hahah..

The biker ------ save fine + 1 wheel clamp..Maybe can sell to garang guni...

Edited by Hanan_ho

On 2/18/2014 at 2:16 PM, Kangadrool said:

Spare tire got use de. Don't overlook it. Always carry it even in Singapore. :D

no wonder lately easier to spot cars on road with spare tyres!! i thought tyre quality dropped because no rain sia!! [sly]

  On 2/18/2014 at 2:59 PM, 13177 said:

Actually wheel clamp doesnt help much, cause can take out the tyre and replace with spare tyre. Only is it too troublesome and tiring.

Most wheel clamps will cover the lug nuts. How to remove the wheel?

Even the pic posted by holdenutessv shows the lug nuts are covered. Wonder how the guy removed the wheel in the first place.

Don't intend to be a wet blanket and spoil the fun of this thread here on how to beat the wheel clamp....but there is a reason for wheel clamping a car, never mind if it wasn't installed as per the 10 pages long instruction booklet. This is to send a message to those who has no hesitation parking their vehicle anywhere they like and inconveniencing others like you or me, e.g. parking inside a handicap lot, blocking access ways, parking on two lots, etc.

On 3/12/2014 at 1:23 AM, Topspin said:

Don't intend to be a wet blanket and spoil the fun of this thread here on how to beat the wheel clamp....but there is a reason for wheel clamping a car, never mind if it wasn't installed as per the 10 pages long instruction booklet. This is to send a message to those who has no hesitation parking their vehicle anywhere they like and inconveniencing others like you or me, e.g. parking inside a handicap lot, blocking access ways, parking on two lots, etc.

Let me share my experience.

When I was still studying at NUS, I drove to campus to sit for exams.

The carpark was full and I was gonna be late. I found a secluded spot that did not obstruct traffic at all and parked.

After I sat for the paper, I saw a clamp on my car.

I looked around and saw that several other cars that were parked illegally in obstructing areas were not clamped instead.

My analysis is that the security guards decided to clamp me as I was totally not obstructing traffic, not inconveniencing others and they could risk me being clamped there for days.

My take-away. When you park illegally, make sure you park in an area that obstructs the traffic by a little. Not so much such that security needs to tow you away. But enough so that the security guards will not want to risk you staying there for long.

The area that I got clamped.... They drew a parking lot on it the subsequent semester... [dead][dead]

On 3/12/2014 at 1:35 AM, tanbk said:

The carpark was full and I was gonna be late. I found a secluded spot that did not obstruct traffic at all and parked.

I looked around and saw that several other cars that were parked illegally in obstructing areas were not clamped instead.

My analysis is that the security guards decided to clamp me as I was totally not obstructing traffic, not inconveniencing others and they could risk me being clamped there for days.

My take-away. When you park illegally, make sure you park in an area that obstructs the traffic by a little. Not so much such that security needs to tow you away. But enough so that the security guards will not want to risk you staying there for long.

The area that I got clamped.... They drew a parking lot on it the subsequent semester... [dead][dead]

May be other few reasons :

1) Your car is the most expensive among all those illegal parked cars. That's why the security only targeted your car.

( Morale of the story : Don't drive expensive cars to school )

2) All the illegal parked cars are driven by the lecturers. You are the only student that dare to park illegally.

( Morale of the story : Only those with the ranking can have the privileges )

Lol... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

  On 3/12/2014 at 1:35 AM, tanbk said:

So far, my NUS days, i kena multiple warning letters for illegal parking.. but no clamp..