Junks renamed to Dislike

Laserjet

The Junk button was intended for users to have an outlet to express their negative emotions on posts.

It could be for disagreement, anger, annoyance, disgusted, etc.

We have received much feedback that Junk is too strong a word to use.

The administrators including myself also agree that this word has a much stronger negative connotation than we had intended.

Therefore, we have changed Junk to Dislike.

Receiving a few negative points should not be taken too seriously.

But if you get it all the time from many users, then you should reflect on your own words and behaviour.

We welcome all feedback on this change.

Hope everyone can Dislike and get Disliked in peace.

Should make it compulsory for the forumer who click the "Dislike" button, to put in his/her name and the reason.

For me I prefer "Agree" & "Disagree".

I know it's very 'survey' like but it makes sense.

For eg. Opinions change, one moment ppl might say things that garner praises, other moment opinion might change and ppl might say things that others do not agree within the same thread or topic. You can't "un-praise" or something similar. If you are using "Dislike" you will have to use "Like" to make sense out of it. But this is unlike liking or disliking a profile. We are more of agreeing or disagreeing with comments or opinions.

I understand that the admin might try a differing approach rather dan sticking to some standard template but it must also make sense. Just my point of view.

There are kids around who cannot take any form of constructive criticism. I profess to confer one anonymous dislike to someone who insisted he can do the impossible and go on and on insisting he is right, you can't argue/ debate with this type of person who will never concede defeat.

Many anonymous dislikes mean time to reflect on oneself, it serves its purpose without starting too many fights.

Should make it compulsory for the forumer who click the "Dislike" button, to put in his/her name and the reason.

So we can dislike him back, then open another few accounts and dislike him again until he minus point

See what reason he/she give first....then decide if want to dislike him/her back. [cool]

Sarcli its one of my ex whom I dump before....then just [lipsrsealed] lor....

There are kids around who cannot take any form of constructive criticism. I profess to confer one anonymous dislike to someone who insisted he can do the impossible and go on and on insisting he is right, you can't argue/ debate with this type of person who will never concede defeat.

Many anonymous dislikes mean time to reflect on oneself, it serves its purpose without starting too many fights.

I do not think it's kids who can't take criticism. In honest opinion nobody will take criticism lightly. It's a matter of what words are used. For most ppl they can take agree & disagree coz it's not personal. If using "junk" or "dislike" ppl might take offense and think it's personal when actually it's not.

For me I do not expect everyone to agree with my opinions or comments but to "junk" or "dislike" what I think that is like getting a little personal which I think some ppl gets upset. It's not so much about the anonymous part. That's also why ppl want to know who exactly "junk" their comments. It more or less becomes personal.

See what reason he/she give first....then decide if want to dislike him/her back. [cool]

Sarcli its one of my ex whom I dump before....then just [lipsrsealed] lor....

One of ur ex like in ur dp picture?

Liddat i dun mind kena junk hundred times

I do not think it's kids who can't take criticism. In honest opinion nobody will take criticism lightly. It's a matter of what words are used. For most ppl they can take agree & disagree coz it's not personal. If using "junk" or "dislike" ppl might take offense and think it's personal when actually it's not.

For me I do not expect everyone to agree with my opinions or comments but to "junk" or "dislike" what I think that is like getting a little personal which I think some ppl gets upset. It's not so much about the anonymous part. That's also why ppl want to know who exactly "junk" their comments. It more or less becomes personal.

I have been junked for very neutral comments, it bothers me for like 5 mins and after that, who freaking cares. We are all adults and should be able to live with some criticism once in a while but not everyone behaves like grown up here, some get personal, vindictive and start stalking you all over the forum. I thought the dislike button can be a good feedback loop to auto regulate/ police the forum in a collective manner and sniff out all the bloody goons. You are assuming everyone is a grown up or behaves like one and that cannot be true.

The problem is most people take the dislikes too seriously and like Alice in Wonderland, you cannot pleased everyone and not everyone will agree with you all the time, so live with it (if you are reasonable and logical, you shoud not get too many dislikes that puzzle you). If your comments attract a lot of dislikes, then perhaps you need to review them and/ or change how you put ideas and thoughts across in a public forum.

Receiving a few negative points should not be taken too seriously.

This is the main thing that stood out for me! Junk or Praise, Like or Dislike, all are people's opinions.

Have we gotten rid of anonymous "disliking"? Because I think it's cowardly to allow this.

I think the anon portion serves its purpose of not escalating some fights. While it's cowardly, I think it should stay, though personally, when I junked people, I'll leave my name. I praised / junked the opinion, not the person, so doesn't matter to me.

This is just a forum, for people to voice out opinions. Getting praised feels good, junked feels bad, but just let it be lor. It's just a reflection of how our opinions are received by others.

This is the main thing that stood out for me! Junk or Praise, Like or Dislike, all are people's opinions.

I think the anon portion serves its purpose of not escalating some fights. While it's cowardly, I think it should stay, though personally, when I junked people, I'll leave my name. I praised / junked the opinion, not the person, so doesn't matter to me.

This is just a forum, for people to voice out opinions. Getting praised feels good, junked feels bad, but just let it be lor. It's just a reflection of how our opinions are received by others.

I agree that if things get too personal, it can lead to vendettas.

But I prefer to stand up for my opinions. And the very few times I've junked, I've always left my name. The times I've been junked, no-one bothered to be so forthright, all anon. <_<

I agree that if things get too personal, it can lead to vendettas.

But I prefer to stand up for my opinions. And the very few times I've junked, I've always left my name. The times I've been junked, no-one bothered to be so forthright, all anon. <_<

Don't worry, next time I find a post of yours to junk, not only will I leave my name big big, I will post comment big big below also, say I junk you.

Wording sized this big. Can?

Haha..

Don't worry, next time I find a post of yours to junk, not only will I leave my name big big, I will post comment big big below also, say I junk you.

Wording sized this big. Can?

Haha..

Donno whether to "praise" or "dislike" this sort of suan-post. :D

Like Tin Pei Ling, I also donno what to say. [laugh]