Mkl22 Supersonic May 3, 2018 Share May 3, 2018 On 5/3/2018 at 12:02 AM, Keithchue said: hybrid? with electric motor in the middle? I test the b-class, found that the gearshift is laggy than the Vw, but I would trade that for reliability, I have not seen any complaints on the DSG on the merc. anyone has seen any? btw, 6 more days to handover... dekit season starts this weekend, going for 1 last car wash car wash? i rather buy 10cans of coke and get more enjoyment..... then to spend more money on a lemon. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear May 3, 2018 Author Share May 3, 2018 On 5/3/2018 at 12:28 AM, Mkl22 said: car wash? i rather buy 10cans of coke and get more enjoyment..... then to spend more money on a lemon. I have free carwash for packages that I sign, afterall, she is still a good drive.. 2019 jetta in US using automatic, 8 speed. I wonder if VCS were to bring that in 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
merc280v6 6th Gear May 3, 2018 Share May 3, 2018 On 5/3/2018 at 12:51 AM, Keithchue said: I have free carwash for packages that I sign, afterall, she is still a good drive.. 2019 jetta in US using automatic, 8 speed. I wonder if VCS were to bring that in I think VCS’ flawed marketing strategy in forcing DSG-only, as a Hobson’s choice, down our throats (in a very small country which is deficit on road space ... and the daily start/stop jams, hot road conditions, etc.) has to be re-thought. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear May 3, 2018 Author Share May 3, 2018 On 5/3/2018 at 1:20 AM, merc280v6 said: I think VCS’ flawed marketing strategy in forcing DSG-only, as a Hobson’s choice, down our throats (in a very small country which is deficit on road space ... and the daily start/stop jams, hot road conditions, etc.) has to be re-thought. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
turtlebroth 1st Gear May 3, 2018 Share May 3, 2018 (edited) why ah? you've got a troublesome VW and you are still getting emotional letting it go. Is VW really such a nice car to drive? i drove my sis touran last week and i don't find it any special leh... Edited May 3, 2018 by turtlebroth 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fuelsaver Supercharged May 3, 2018 Share May 3, 2018 On 5/2/2018 at 1:44 AM, Keithchue said: DSG? no judder? only one dsg I see no judder is the Mercedes units, super wet DSG, 9 li of Gb oil I'd say less obvious than vw n Audi, maybe due to programming? Mine is dry type need 1.3l trans fluid. Will see how Jap fares in dual clutch tech On 5/3/2018 at 1:34 AM, Keithchue said: yup, if automatic option comes in, I will consider.. just checked UK, they also have the automatic (8sp) option and 6 sp manual, no sign of DSG. if that is the case, I probably hop back to VW if they release the option in SG with automatic.. Bro the auto is torque converter auto trans? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear May 3, 2018 Author Share May 3, 2018 On 5/3/2018 at 2:12 AM, turtlebroth said: why ah? you've got a troublesome VW and you are still getting emotional letting it go. Is VW really such a nice car to drive? i drove my sis touran last week and i don't find it any special leh... yes, it is troublesome, but it has memories, memories that I don't want to let go for personal reasons. On 5/3/2018 at 5:06 AM, Fuelsaver said: I'd say less obvious than vw n Audi, maybe due to programming? Mine is dry type need 1.3l trans fluid. Will see how Jap fares in dual clutch tech Bro the auto is torque converter auto trans? yes, old school auto, torque converter type Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
t0y0ta Supercharged May 3, 2018 Share May 3, 2018 Sat in a low-spec VW Jetta (current model but PFL) recently... lots of hard cheap plastics around and all black gloomy. Feels at best same class as Honda City or Vios. Golf feels much better, not sure why anyone will have emotional attachment to Jetta. Anyway no more Jetta in SG... cos think they no longer producing RHD version from their Amigos factory. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic May 3, 2018 Share May 3, 2018 (edited) On 5/3/2018 at 5:39 AM, Keithchue said: yes, it is troublesome, but it has memories, memories that I don't want to let go for personal reasons. yes, old school auto, torque converter type if i had your car and it was worth only paper, i might have let it catch fire on its own and park it in front of VW showroom and watch it burn liao!!! hahahahahhahahahaha Edited May 3, 2018 by Mkl22 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
merc280v6 6th Gear May 3, 2018 Share May 3, 2018 On 5/3/2018 at 6:09 AM, Mkl22 said: if i had your car and it was worth only paper, i might have let it catch fire on its own and park it in front of VW showroom and watch it burn liao!!! hahahahahhahahahaha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear May 4, 2018 Author Share May 4, 2018 On 5/3/2018 at 6:09 AM, Mkl22 said: if i had your car and it was worth only paper, i might have let it catch fire on its own and park it in front of VW showroom and watch it burn liao!!! hahahahahhahahahaha wa so, bad meh.....thou I would want to park infront of VW and label as a lemon 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear May 9, 2018 Author Share May 9, 2018 car handed over, last clocked mileage 155890km. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
No_worries 6th Gear May 9, 2018 Share May 9, 2018 On 5/9/2018 at 12:00 PM, Keithchue said: car handed over, last clocked mileage 155890km.Got picture of your car or not? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic May 9, 2018 Share May 9, 2018 glad the saga is over for you. Cheers to new car. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear May 9, 2018 Author Share May 9, 2018 On 5/9/2018 at 12:02 PM, No_worries said: Got picture of your car or not? old one? sadly no, picture in my heart On 5/9/2018 at 12:04 PM, Hamburger said: glad the saga is over for you. Cheers to new car. thanks, new car is ok, very light Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged May 10, 2018 Share May 10, 2018 On 5/3/2018 at 12:02 AM, Keithchue said: hybrid? with electric motor in the middle? I test the b-class, found that the gearshift is laggy than the Vw, but I would trade that for reliability, I have not seen any complaints on the DSG on the merc. anyone has seen any? btw, 6 more days to handover... dekit season starts this weekend, going for 1 last car wash only one with a issue on DSG draggy is merc Only one with similar DSG issue is ford Only one that is being watch for future DSG issue is renault Only one that hs least issue is VW wet clutch but thats like going back to the lions den. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Keithchue 5th Gear May 16, 2018 Author Share May 16, 2018 no VW DSG anymore.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic May 16, 2018 Share May 16, 2018 On 5/16/2018 at 12:43 AM, Keithchue said: no VW DSG anymore.... Get a diecast model. No breakdowns. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...