Liverpool Season 2013/14 part 3 - The Final Push to Top Spot

Berncsp76

with SG playing in the DM role, Henderson cannot be playing the old SG role... too much space at the defensive half, but problem is that seems to be henderson best position. he is growing so much confidance that he is justifying his price tag, not that can be said of JA :(

Actually the commentators last night was saying he played well after coming on. I also felt he did quite well and read somewhere else this morning that it was JA coming in and solidifying the midfield that prevented them from coming back after 4-3 down. So I am not so sure....so I won't write him off yet. All he needs is some confidence and time. But to give JA more time means having to sacrifice someone else and it should be SG but somehow that won't happen so it will be either JH, RS or PC. None of which deserves to be sacrifice.

Victor Moses is a different matter. I not sure what he did after coming on.

right now, we need both gerrard n allen. but for this to happen, one of coutinho or sterling needs to b dropped...which is not good either cos both are playing well. in an ideal situation, a trio of lucas, henderson n coutinho is good. so to solve this, pool badly need a lucas replacement. gerrard just wont cut it. he is just too slow to b a good DM.

i have said it before, to play gerrard will make another player useless, cos that guy has to cover gerrard when he decides to go for a walk.

Liverpool matches should be declared a health risk for heart patients. People at risk should be required to get a quarterly health-check up and an all-clear from their physician before being allowed to be a Liverpool supporter.

Luckily I'm in good physical health. Else I might have been found dead in my armchair this morning.

Actually the commentators last night was saying he played well after coming on. I also felt he did quite well and read somewhere else this morning that it was JA coming in and solidifying the midfield that prevented them from coming back after 4-3 down. So I am not so sure....so I won't write him off yet. All he needs is some confidence and time. But to give JA more time means having to sacrifice someone else and it should be SG but somehow that won't happen so it will be either JH, RS or PC. None of which deserves to be sacrifice.

Victor Moses is a different matter. I not sure what he did after coming on

i dun really pay attention to commentators... but i know JA kena F by JH cos he tackle like pussy and let Swansea had a run at goal when it was @ 4-3

JA cost $$, Victor Moses cost wages only, so cannot complain ;p

Moses replaces DS, so i gather his job is to close out the spaces... and not provide attacking thrust at that stage of the game..

my opinion nia, dun whack me har

We need to close out games, too open, the good thing now is we score enuf, and we fight back hard enuf...

JA cost $$, Victor Moses cost wages only, so cannot complain ;p

Moses replaces DS, so i gather his job is to close out the spaces... and not provide attacking thrust at that stage of the game..

my opinion nia, dun whack me har

No whack lah, we all supporters of the same team and want the same thing....

Anyway, in terms of cost, I don't care abt fee o wages. I meant the opportunity cost to the outcome of the game. So the cost of VM coming on is DS going off. And DS at this time is - I hate the clichéd term - our goal machine. So the cost of VM is the loss of a potential 5th goal. Some manager (i think red nose?) once said "however many goals they (opposing team) scores, we will score at least 1 more".

No whack lah, we all supporters of the same team and want the same thing....

Anyway, in terms of cost, I don't care abt fee o wages. I meant the opportunity cost to the outcome of the game. So the cost of VM coming on is DS going off. And DS at this time is - I hate the clichéd term - our goal machine. So the cost of VM is the loss of a potential 5th goal. Some manager (i think red nose?) once said "however many goals they (opposing team) scores, we will score at least 1 more".

I think Moses came in as Right Wing....

Coutinho stays on the left....

Allen beefed up central mid...

we transit into 4-5-1 with Suarez playing lone striker...

BR probably feels that Suarez can still score despite being lone striker... and its more important to control the middle of the park...

I think Agger has not been playing well after returning form injury. This could be because he don't want to get injured prior to the world cup in June. He has been slowing down tremendously, after all he was not a fast defender to start with. Pairing him with Skrtel is suicidal as Skrtel as shown in his recent display, is not someone you can rely on especially at defending set pieces. Toure has been making calamity errors lately and that is his signature 'season after season' speciality. I actually think that Mignolet has been decent so far. He don't have a reliable centre back to rely on. Skrtel who has been featuring all season, is not forging a good understanding with the keeper. And how to understand him when I still find it hard to comprehend what he is trying to do during the game. Hope that Sakho can provide some solidity in defence when he returns.

Gerrard, after showing signs of settling in well into his new position, went MIA last night. Leaving behind a big gap in the middle of the field, allowing his former understudy Shelvey to roam freely. From my observation, Liverpool clearly need to leave out Gerrard when facing opposition who play hard pressing high tempo games. He don't have the legs to carry him around throughout the entire match. Only when Joe Allen came on to replace Sterling, we can see stability in midfield. His rather short cameo reminds me of a certain pit bull called Edgar Davids.

My wish list for next season, 2 world class CB, a DM and a proven striker just in case DS or Sturridge gets injured.

One person said: Hodgson should just take half the Liverpool team to the WC.

Another person: I'd rather he didn't given what he managed to do with the whole of a Liverpool team.

I am wondering during training session how many goals our SAS on average can score against our 1st team defence.

Edited by Kopites

Next 3 games all away, with the home tie vs Sunderland postpone due their cup final.

Southampton, Man U and Cardiff......

If can navigate through these 3 with 7 points or so, it will be the "charge" to the end!

Next 3 games all away, with the home tie vs Sunderland postpone due their cup final.

Southampton, Man U and Cardiff......

If can navigate through these 3 with 7 points or so, it will be the "charge" to the end!

These 3 games could define where we end up in the league table…..

wah lucky I was away for work at baby fair...if not I also have heart attack... :ph34r:

last time I think RB also see his team until have heart attack I think... -_-

ugly win it might be...but we got the 3 points with norwich doing us a favour to win spurs...now have 6 points gap...chiong to the top! [bounce1][bounce1]

Liverpool matches should be declared a health risk for heart patients. People at risk should be required to get a quarterly health-check up and an all-clear from their physician before being allowed to be a Liverpool supporter.

Luckily I'm in good physical health. Else I might have been found dead in my armchair this morning.

One person said: Hodgson should just take half the Liverpool team to the WC.

Another person: I'd rather he didn't given what he managed to do with the whole of a Liverpool team.

he cant buy poulsen and i think konchesky is too old for the world cup!!!

lol

I think Agger has not been playing well after returning form injury. This could be because he don't want to get injured prior to the world cup in June. He has been slowing down tremendously, after all he was not a fast defender to start with. Pairing him with Skrtel is suicidal as Skrtel as shown in his recent display, is not someone you can rely on especially at defending set pieces. Toure has been making calamity errors lately and that is his signature 'season after season' speciality. I actually think that Mignolet has been decent so far. He don't have a reliable centre back to rely on. Skrtel who has been featuring all season, is not forging a good understanding with the keeper. And how to understand him when I still find it hard to comprehend what he is trying to do during the game. Hope that Sakho can provide some solidity in defence when he returns.

Gerrard, after showing signs of settling in well into his new position, went MIA last night. Leaving behind a big gap in the middle of the field, allowing his former understudy Shelvey to roam freely. From my observation, Liverpool clearly need to leave out Gerrard when facing opposition who play hard pressing high tempo games. He don't have the legs to carry him around throughout the entire match. Only when Joe Allen came on to replace Sterling, we can see stability in midfield. His rather short cameo reminds me of a certain pit bull called Edgar Davids.

My wish list for next season, 2 world class CB, a DM and a proven striker just in case DS or Sturridge gets injured.

Agger and Skrtel were pretty ok once we have a DM to screen them properly ;p

i think one if not both will be sold this summer. Sahko is too expensive to put on the bench from FSG perspective.

i think no manager will take the risk to rest SG now.. so someone else have to compensate for his immobility

he cant buy poulsen and i think konchesky is too old for the world cup!!!

lol

Agger and Skrtel were pretty ok once we have a DM to screen them properly ;p

i think one if not both will be sold this summer. Sahko is too expensive to put on the bench from FSG perspective.

i think no manager will take the risk to rest SG now.. so someone else have to compensate for his immobility

During Lucas absence, BR should play with 2 dm instead of 1. Gerrard together with Allen sitting deep and Henderson in front. Its either Sterling / Coutinho together with Suarez and Sturridge to make up the attacking half.

our defence is terrible is largely due to the injuries that befall them one after another. first it was the LB n RB. then CBs. most impt are the CBs. but they hv changed so many times that the understanding will surely not b there. for me, an ideal pairing will b agger and sakho. but agger got injured, n sakho played with skrtel. then skrtel also paired with toure. which was ok for a few games. then agger n skrtel, which should b good, but somehow they lost their chemistry n was always not where they should b as a pair n left spaces open.

to move forward, sakho should b a first choice. followed by a reliable partner in the mould of agger. as much as i like agger, he has clearly lost form n pace.

I am wondering during training session how many goals our SAS on average can score against our 1st team defence.

i supposed they scored so many until the CBs all demoralized everyday

And as a result, SAS's confidence grew from facing kolo and co

which is reflected in the way they play the games on weekends.