Liverpool Season 2013/14 part 3 - The Final Push to Top Spot

Berncsp76

5th Gear

That's the spirit and romance of football, especially when you see the best striker in the world who has won it all this season put the club in front of his own achievements.
Despite of an upset, we see passion, eagerness, team spirit, and most importantly, a bright future for the club.

if at start of season anyone say pool will be top 2 at end of season with a chance to go top.

you'd have said they're nuts.

now. ppl are saying they are disappointed? cmon guys. u have come a long way. its a great season. just need to maintain this way for next season too!

if at start of season anyone say pool will be top 2 at end of season with a chance to go top.

now. ppl are saying they are disappointed? cmon guys. u have come a long way. its a great season. just need to maintain this way for next season too!

isn't it human nature to be disappointed after a case of so near yet so far?

people buy toto even though there is 1 in million chance to strike big but I can assure you those that kena 5 numbers will still be disappointed they never strike the 6th number

what if....

going for a draw against cheslki. A 1: 0 win against cp and nc.

Then we would have won the League just like how Spain won the World Cup.

For me best game was against arsenal at anfield, when 5-0 up, sweet revenge for losing 0-2 at emirates...

Also, to be able to emerge 0-3 winners at old trafford, giving chance with one penalty to spare, was also good. Not to mention the almost total control of that game...

Talking about the season in review, actually it wasn't out of the question to be able to win on goal difference, if only the team was more focused and didn't concede goals the way it happened in the last ~10 matches, where we leaked about 16 goals. Apart from Spurs, we only won by the odd goal since Sunderland on 26 Mar. There were Sunderland, West Ham, Norwich; if we add in Fulham and Swansea, that would have been 5 teams that we realistically should have won by a (far) bigger margin, if you look at the Spurs, Arsenal, Everton, ManU matches... If we had won by 2 more goals per match, that would have given us a positive 10 GD, and we'll not be under the pressure even if taking into account the loss to Chelski (which should have happened too...).

I know the team had already exceeded all expectations 3 games before the end of the season, and these are all bonus (to even talk about the title and what-ifs)... And we really shouldn't criticise a team after all the good work done. It's just that having come so far and being so near the ultimate, the team slipped, literally...

Well, just for discussion purpose lor...

In football there is a saying - if your name is on the cup its yours.

Sadly if its not then its not.

So many times in the FA Cup the favourite did not win.

Gerrard slipped at the most crucial time.

No way was that Chelsea's tactic to plan for that to happen.

And CP first goal was a deflection.

No way did Pulis plan and told the stricker with 11 minutes to go

Hit the ball against Glen Johneson and defect it off him to beat the keeper.

At 3-1 down CP has nothing to lose and kept attacking and got the equaliser.

However I still feel our name is on the Cup and City will get 2 draws.

some are saying this is liverpool only change to win the lge... i disagree.. the players and manager will learn pragmatism... we do not have to thrash everyone everyweek...we have chance to strengthen.. and strengthen with quality players.... players who will lead the team to park the bus or to go for all out attack...

will manure suffer the same fate that players refuse to join them cos they are not in ucl? looking at their team, more than half a dozen need to go

Arse as usual punch well till Feb / Mar

Spurs? Thank God they sold Bale... and bought gems and turn them into rubbish.

Chelski and shitty have loads of $$, there will be there and abouts..

Everton may lose barry and duakuku...

i think we still have a great chance provided we strengthen correctly... No more wingers for now!

Before this season started, if you told us we still have a chance( however remotely little) to win the title on the last day.

How many of us will say " You Must be crazy!!!!"

SO this season has exceeded all expectations...

just hope for the best..

But lets thrash newcastle this sun 10-0 nonetheless!!! let Suarez break the BPL record!!!

5th Gear

why shld it be a sad season?

All targets achieved... and u r sad?

okok.. super duper happy. Targets achieved. Whatever dun get is ok..

Well said everything... but i can't help it for this sentence... If it's only your feel then ok...

But if you're dead sure about it..., then that really makes me wonder whether you're... kelong/bookie king... :D :D

actually i also hope, but no need city drops 4 points. just lose one match i happy liao...

Totally agreed.

Ppl sometimes forgot where we started in the first place. Hey, we started from 7th last season !

Which team can go from 7th and now 1st in just a season with only abt 14 players playing.

Pool didn't even buy any quality players during last summer, and didn't even buy any player during the winter break.

Other teams can rotate their players, whereas Pool merely use the 14 players, with just a tweat of formation :)

Give our team due recognition, give BR gue recognition too :)

Of course, when we are so near now, and yet so far, there are bound to be disappointments and tears.

But, at the end of the day, we are Pool fans ! We are our Team hardcore supporters !

If we don't support our team, who will ?!

Let's give our Pool a rousing applause in our last match this Sunday :)

Oh, my view of the best match so far: Liverpool vs Arsenal.

We totally gunned down the Gunners in the first half. Totally attacking power in awe !

I think we had stolen the cannon from the gunners and pointed at them instead :)

That match is the only match that I have no time to sit down to enjoy, cos I kept standing up every few minutes cheering our goals :D - very the busy leh :D

In football there is a saying - if your name is on the cup its yours.

Sadly if its not then its not.

So many times in the FA Cup the favourite did not win.

Gerrard slipped at the most crucial time.

No way was that Chelsea's tactic to plan for that to happen.

And CP first goal was a deflection.

No way did Pulis plan and told the stricker with 11 minutes to go

Hit the ball against Glen Johneson and defect it off him to beat the keeper.

At 3-1 down CP has nothing to lose and kept attacking and got the equaliser.

Bro, for the Cups, it's true about your name being on the Cup etc cos depends on the luck of the draw, home or away, opp drawn, ref errors, players errors etc. Cos got no 2nd chance, lose and you're out.

But for the EPL, it's 38 games. U can't be unlucky, ref errors etc cos it more or less evens itself out. As the players always say, the table never lies. Whoever is on top after 38 games deserves to be the Champions and if it's City, kudos to them!

Which team can go from 7th and now 1st in just a season with only abt 14 players playing.

Bro, I agree with the 1st half of your sentence that Pool went from 7th to 1st/2nd is really an achievement, believe it has never been done in EPL history. For that BR and the team deserve credit and applause!!!

However, sorry to say, I don't quite agree with the 2nd half of your sentence cos it's precisely Pool with no UCL distractions were able to use 14 or so players. This became an advantage as a strong core came about which translated to better understanding, team work, more time to train between games etc. Mind you, next season, when Pool beef up their squad by adding in more players and with the UCL distraction, other problems will surface like how to handle the players not playing, fatigue etc. and that's why it's really sad that likely Pool will not be Champions this year as it represents their best chance. It'll only get harder next year and don't believe that with stronger pool of players, Pool will improve cos whilst undoubtedly they will improve but the perenial problem of keeping a big squad happy is not easy even old Fergie said so. Now Rooney not happy again cos Van Gaal will likely prfer van Persie. Bayern players also making noise like Goetze, Kroos etc!!

Bro, for the Cups, it's true about your name being on the Cup etc cos depends on the luck of the draw, home or away, opp drawn, ref errors, players errors etc. Cos got no 2nd chance, lose and you're out.

But for the EPL, it's 38 games. U can't be unlucky, ref errors etc cos it more or less evens itself out. As the players always say, the table never lies. Whoever is on top after 38 games deserves to be the Champions and if it's City, kudos to them!

For a league title race as tight as this one. One unlucky incident or referee error is enough to cause u the title.

Not to take anything away from city. But they themself had also some unlucky time.

Eh i just watched the highlights.

I think I'm happy to see the desire to whittle down the GD by the team. They really went all out to score. I haven't seen such a desire to score since SAF's Man U.

They didn't go for half measures.

On another day, they would have achieved a superb thrashing of CP.

But for the EPL, it's 38 games. U can't be unlucky, ref errors etc cos it more or less evens itself out.

You hear that a lot about ref errors and how it even itself out.

But the reality is that it doesn't. Just look at Old Trafford.

Opposition teams never got a penalty until SAF left.

And look at extra time at OT, its Fergies time.

Thats sometimes why smaller clubs get relegated.

Refs dare not give them penalties in front of 60,000 home

crowd of a big club. The first thing Jose said when he came to

England - I want to be like SAF and get the advantage from Refs.

And sadly he is right.