Liverpool Season 2013/14 part 3 - The Final Push to Top Spot

Berncsp76

Next season will certainly be harder. Pool needs at least 5 players for strength n depth. Not sure if owners will give that much money. The reported 60m can mayb get abt 3-4 quaity players. Hope they buy the right ones.

Pool wil hv a chance only if they attack with the same tenacity n the defence improve tremendously. It wont b easy as a new back 4 may take time to gel.

As for lucas, his best position is gerrard's position. For me, its better to play him there than gerrard. The team shouldnt rely on gerrard any longer. But as pool has come so near, im sure he'll b itching to hv another next season, which i hope will b his last. But, lucas or gerrard, i hope rodgers will buy a real quality DM n solve the problem once n for all.

Will quality defenders want to come Liverpool? BR had 3 defenders (2 are considered decent) on the sub bench and he doesn't use any.

they need defenders not to come in as sub n hold a lead. they need defenders who can replace current ones n form a real backbone of the team. as u said, those on the bench are decent. pool dont need decent defenders, they need top quality ones.

n bcos of this failure, im hope rodgers will learn to set up the team to defend. n bcos of that, the starting defenders are more impt than those on the bench. as much as skrtel has improved this season, he is still prone to his lapse of concentration n commit silly challenges.

What do you guys think of Lucas in his "new" role ?

Honestly, I think it's a waste of a starting slot. He has contributed almost nothing..... and it's all because of ----> Henderson and his STUPID needless red card. Again he will learn....

My point is what future role Lucas has ? Cos it seems that the train has gone and left him behind. The years under Rafa, Roy and now BR has curbed his box-to-box instincts that now he doesn't know how to play anywhere else. In short, he do not qualify has a versatile/interchanging/flexible MF under BR's setup. SG's position at the base means Lucas must adapt AGAIN or risk being marginalised. It's unfortunate but we cannot simply let him be a passenger when he plays

Lucas has perservered well over the last few years, and deserves our backing. The problem is he's not as good as before after all the injuries, and he's also not getting younger/faster. There comes a time, unfortunately, when he will not be valued as much anymore - such is the reality (or cruelty) of the game.

On the other hand, SG is even older, and I suspect playing on borrowed time. After this steroid-laden season and the WC, I am not sure he can still play a major role in the team, and even if so, he is injury-prone at this age, and boh stamina liao... With UCL involvement, there will be more matches so need more Plan B (if SG is Plan A)...

Knowing this problem, either BR reinforces the midfield with a solid guy who could replace SG, or if he thinks SG is still influential next season, he can't buy a solid guy who will not want to sit on the bench - in which case Lucas will be back-up to SG when the latter can't play lor... the risk is with less game time, lucas might fare even worse than now...

Next season will certainly be harder. Pool needs at least 5 players for strength n depth. Not sure if owners will give that much money. The reported 60m can mayb get abt 3-4 quaity players. Hope they buy the right ones.

Pool wil hv a chance only if they attack with the same tenacity n the defence improve tremendously. It wont b easy as a new back 4 may take time to gel.

As for lucas, his best position is gerrard's position. For me, its better to play him there than gerrard. The team shouldnt rely on gerrard any longer. But as pool has come so near, im sure he'll b itching to hv another next season, which i hope will b his last. But, lucas or gerrard, i hope rodgers will buy a real quality DM n solve the problem once n for all.

Buying so many will break the balance of the squad. Personally I will think 3 is enough. The rest can find from youth team. It's just personal opinion.

One cb

One dm

One striker.

No matter what, there is still hope up till the last match. My heart still believes Liverpool will win it.

PLD W D L F A GD PTS
1 Liverpool 37 25 6 6 99 49 50 81
2 Manchester City 36 25 5 6 96 37 59 80
3 Chelsea 37 24 7 6 69 26 43 79

Edited by Extinguisher

Didn't plan to wake up but did so with last 5 min left as it was too darn hot - which must have been a bad omen to begin with...

My room doesn't have Mio, but tablet with app is there so switched on to see. on the match/result panel still showed 2-3, and when i clicked to watch, straight away showed reply of the equalizer !@#$%^&*(

sigh... couldn't get back to sleep after that. Now like zombie at work...

Good work to the team for a fine season that exceeded expectations, though.

Hope for more miracles next season.

Buying so many will break the balance of the squad. Personally I will think 3 is enough. The rest can find from youth team. It's just personal opinion.

One cb

One dm

One striker.

I am not so sure. Remember BR said midway through that the defence was weak and not coachable? if he's really good and daring, he should really look to overhaul defence, and early too so that they can learn to gel. Johnson only showed rare flashes that he's still good, CBs got noone particularly trustworthy or reliable, and Flano is really a stand-in for LB...

DM is widely known, and there is noone who can cross from the left...

Goalie also a suspect leh..

1st an individual gave it away.. then the team gave it away.... as i said the title is a bonus and with this i guess they have to try again next season....

I am not so sure. Remember BR said midway through that the defence was weak and not coachable? if he's really good and daring, he should really look to overhaul defence, and early too so that they can learn to gel. Johnson only showed rare flashes that he's still good, CBs got noone particularly trustworthy or reliable, and Flano is really a stand-in for LB...

DM is widely known, and there is noone who can cross from the left...

Goalie also a suspect leh..

If u change the whole defend our attack will suffer. Our def is leaking because he require them to help in attack. If u keep running the whole field for the whole match. The last 15 min will leak easily one. Tire is a true concern.

3 players not enough. remember, pool will hv more games to play next season. for the 3 u mentioned, they r for replacement. so the team still need good back ups. that in itself means another 2-3 players.

for sure RB needs to be replaces. johnson no longer reliable in defence n attack. CB needs a good commanding player to hold the fort. LB must buy as flanno is jus a backup, albeit a reliable one. enrique too injury prone now n non fm academy can step up.

then still need a good DM to replace gerrard or lucas. n a left winger to replace moses. we hv only sterling, coutinho, sturridge n suarez in attack. this season all can play well for most times as there were lesser games. but next season? obviously they need to b rested n so cos of this, need another 2 more as quality backup.

If u change the whole defend our attack will suffer. Our def is leaking because he require them to help in attack. If u keep running the whole field for the whole match. The last 15 min will leak easily one. Tire is a true concern.

All the more should put in a fresh defender in the last 15 min since in the lead right? This is something I don't understand.

All i can say is......The bull run have to end someday.

Look at it this way.......chelsea got an even worst deal than this.......they lost to CP 1-0.

So 3-3 is not so bad afterall......... [:p]

This is one of the weirdest stumble at the worst possible time. And against CP. :(

But stranger stuffs has happened.

Just a side note. This Pool team reminds me of the Newcastle team of Shearer era, so close yet so far. Mesmerizing in attack, nightmarish in defense. Wonder if Keegan is doing something in the boot room...

I think Liverpool season capitulated when they start to count the chickens before they are hatched.

Anyone still rem this, when they selling on the streets before the Chelsea game

BmE-oX2IEAETD4c.jpg

Quite right there, but at least should get defenders that are like, let's say, Zabaletta, that Azilipecueta, Luke Shaw, etc. Even LS's food the Ivanovic chap, seems far more reliable than ours - and they almost all helped out in attacks lor...

I'll say our strikers are good c.f. to rest of the league, but our defence is nowhere near. Midfield... well, SG is really over his prime (sadly) and the rest, while good with attack, are quite lightweight and cannot protect defenders enough.

One cb

One dm

One striker.

Agree. Provided first 11 all stay.

The DM must be able to cover CB type like Mascherano.

The Forward is fast and play on the wings as well.

The CB must be faster than any of our current CBs.

Think we might need a LB for Enrique.

2013-2014

Early- season

If Liverpool is in top 06 – we will be happy.

Mid-season

If Liverpool in top 04 – a bonus for the fans.

Near end season

Expecting Liverpool as a league champion – we are expecting TOO MUCH…..

It’s a BIG BONUS for Liverpool to be 2nd in EPL for this season…..

As some bros mentioned – CB + LB + MF + a winger will make a complete team for Europe next season..

YNWA……..