Liverpool Season 2013/14 part 3 - The Final Push to Top Spot

Berncsp76

Well, as you grow older, so what if Liverpool wins the league...

You can't transfer their success to yourself, we are just supporters. What they achieved doesn't really add anything to us. Unlike some fairweather fans, I don't think that you can transfer any such success to yourself.

Unless you are a staff, player or shareholder.

I will still be happy for LFC but more for the following reasons

a) Revitalising a club that has been lagging behind

b) Making the BPL more exciting

c) Showing that money isn't everything

d) That loyalty can be rewarded to players like Stevie G

I don't think LS will want to get his hattrick at this moment.....

If he scores 1 or 2 goal this weekends, Pool will sit and defence to ensure a win. No point chiong all up as he already achieve top score in personal goals.

Even if Pool chiong with 5 or 6 goals, it still three points that matters and should keep himself fit for the next match. Just don't b'cos want to be hero to get another hattrick or even get himself red carded... [sweatdrop]

Pool had enough goals different now and don't need more goals to prove. Just 3 points thats matters ... [sly]

I think city has better goal difference, so still important for pool to score more n surpass city in case it goes down to goal differences.

conner wickham was not even 1st team until recently.

You arre right.

Sunderland reserve denied man City first team win.

Well, as you grow older, so what if Liverpool wins the league...

You can't transfer their success to yourself, we are just supporters. What they achieved doesn't really add anything to us. Unlike some fairweather fans, I don't think that you can transfer any such success to yourself.

Unless you are a staff, player or shareholder.

I will still be happy for LFC but more for the following reasons

a) Revitalising a club that has been lagging behind

b) Making the BPL more exciting

c) Showing that money isn't everything

d) That loyalty can be rewarded to players like Stevie G

when we win the lge again, its like going back to childhood.. when pool was sweeping everything in sight.. until they play 30 games, i always think 3rd place is up for grabs... today we are 4 wins away... we have 10 on the trot, what is 4?

the 90s and 2000s has pass Liverpool by, i am stuck in a time warp, when pool win the lge, i will wake up and realize i am 24 yrs older ;p

i dun need the bpl to be more exciting. i can take pool winning 38 lge games 1-0 every year

- EPL SITUATION

1) Liverpool win all their remaining games,

they win the league

2) If Chelsea beat Liverpool and City win

all their games, City win the league

3) If Chelsea beat Liverpool and City draw

or lose even one game, Chelsea wins the league

Actually...

We can afford to draw against Chelsea, and win the remaining 3, we will still be champions. :)

If Chelsea win their remaining 4 matches (which means we lose 1), they will be champions.

Man City will only be champions if they win their remaining 5 matches, and hope that we lose one of our matches, and at the same time, Chelsea fail to win all 4.

Actually...

We can afford to draw against Chelsea, and win the remaining 3, we will still be champions. :)

If Chelsea win their remaining 4 matches (which means we lose 1), they will be champions.

Man City will only be champions if they win their remaining 5 matches, and hope that we lose one of our matches, and at the same time, Chelsea fail to win all 4.

all tge scenario are highly plausible.

city hoping pool and Chelsea draw...

I don't think LS will want to get his hattrick at this moment.....

If he scores 1 or 2 goal this weekends, Pool will sit and defence to ensure a win. No point chiong all up as he already achieve top score in personal goals.

Even if Pool chiong with 5 or 6 goals, it still three points that matters and should keep himself fit for the next match. Just don't b'cos want to be hero to get another hattrick or even get himself red carded... [sweatdrop]

Pool had enough goals different now and don't need more goals to prove. Just 3 points thats matters ... [sly]

i'll be happy if he starts on a goal scoring run and stop his antics like in the match against City. He is at his best when he behaves :)

when we win the lge again, its like going back to childhood.. when pool was sweeping everything in sight.. until they play 30 games, i always think 3rd place is up for grabs... today we are 4 wins away... we have 10 on the trot, what is 4?

the 90s and 2000s has pass Liverpool by, i am stuck in a time warp, when pool win the lge, i will wake up and realize i am 24 yrs older ;p

i dun need the bpl to be more exciting. i can take pool winning 38 lge games 1-0 every year

Actually call me paranoid or a worry-wart but I worry if we win the league this year, there will be a lot of pressure/expectation to continue to be front runner for league next year - what if things fall apart next season? Will feel like back to square one, LPPL kind of feeling....our "sudden" and unexpected success this year could make things awkward for us next year as things happened too fast. This year we keep saying minimum is 4th place anything more is bonus. What will we be saying next year? Minimum is 2nd place and UCL quarterfinals?

You more hardcore than me.

While i do admire a good defensive performance, i think Pelligrini is right. The would-be winners of the league should aspire to do so in style. Maybe not over one game or even a run of games but definitely over a season.

1-0 is not the liverpool way!

Wah haha. indirectly mind game on Chelsea.

http://espnfc.com/news/story/_/id/1788457/brendan-rodgers-takes-pride-liverpool-class?cc=4716

"If you look at us we are top of the Premier League and we are top of the Fair Play League. We don’t surround referees. We want to win, but it shows you a mark of our behaviour."

On another note. It is important that we are leading on fair play league also.

Actually call me paranoid or a worry-wart but I worry if we win the league this year, there will be a lot of pressure/expectation to continue to be front runner for league next year - what if things fall apart next season? Will feel like back to square one, LPPL kind of feeling....our "sudden" and unexpected success this year could make things awkward for us next year as things happened too fast. This year we keep saying minimum is 4th place anything more is bonus. What will we be saying next year? Minimum is 2nd place and UCL quarterfinals?

exactly. pool cannot repeat the mistake made after winning the champ league. instead of building on the victory and attracting stars, they screwed it up.

if they really win the league they need to build on it and sign more stars players and create a dynasty. Stewarts like Gerrard cant play on forever. need to get a top notch replacement or at least a understudy like ross barkley in.

need to take into consideration that this season pool is fresh as no European distraction. next season, with all the mid week matches they need more strength in depth. and also they are lucky with injuries. if Gerrard or suarez injured, then jialat liao

def. cm. fwd need desperate strengthening.

On another note. It is important that we are leading on fair play league also.

Liverpool received only one red card (Henderson) in this season (34 matches so far).

win this year then decide what we need to think about next year...

UCL in 2005 was achieve out of the blue... we finished 5th that year... manage to qualify as holders via qualification rounds i believed.

we did try to move up.. resulting in 09/10 2nd place => team fall apart.

in current climate, UCL participation = $$, which can be used for players, stadium redevelopments

You more hardcore than me.

While i do admire a good defensive performance, i think Pelligrini is right. The would-be winners of the league should aspire to do so in style. Maybe not over one game or even a run of games but definitely over a season.

1-0 is not the liverpool way!

1-0 is not liverpool's way... but current swashbuckling style is not liverpool's way as well...

Pass and Move is Liverpool's way, the great teams that i watch in the 80s, always have this control about them..always look like they have 2 more gears to engage when necessary..

current team cannot control the tempo of the game, hence we have problems holding on to a lead...

win this year then decide what we need to think about next year...

UCL in 2005 was achieve out of the blue... we finished 5th that year... manage to qualify as holders via qualification rounds i believed.

we did try to move up.. resulting in 09/10 2nd place => team fall apart.

in current climate, UCL participation = $$, which can be used for players, stadium redevelopments

1-0 is not liverpool's way... but current swashbuckling style is not liverpool's way as well...

Pass and Move is Liverpool's way, the great teams that i watch in the 80s, always have this control about them..always look like they have 2 more gears to engage when necessary..

current team cannot control the tempo of the game, hence we have problems holding on to a lead...

well work with what we have lor.

if u want to talk about pass and move, seriously the only team in BPL who can do it a top level (not swansea or what) now is Man city.

The game is a lot slower back then. U won't get a return to such a time. The current players are much more athletic and fit compared to that generation.

Anyway the $ has to be well spent. Next year whether we win or not is also going to be tough.

Just enjoy this moment of glory, whether we win or not.

Win will be a huge bonus :)

Then, next season, we will have to invest to sustain... cos of many games involving European Champions, etc...

For now, lets' worry abt Norwich game first :)