Liverpool Season 2013/14 part 3 - The Final Push to Top Spot

Berncsp76

You are right. We are one of the best known and supported clubs in the world.

Thats why we don't need oil money, the commercial revenue we could generate

is so hugh but was neglected for so many years. Stan chart gave us 80 million pounds

for a 4 year shirt deal. These are trhe kind of deals we should be going for.

Once we get back to the CL our commercial potential will just rocket.

Every fan just give US$100 and liverpool will be very rich

Why I say Liverpool is the most supported club is simply because despite our lack of success for 20+ years, apart from the CL triumph in 2005, we are one of the top 10 most supported club in the world. As for last season's BPL winner, their huge fan base is mainly because they have been triumphant all these while and the existence of the internet; and most of their new supporters are fair weather fans. How many can claim the accolade of supporting an average team who lacks success all these years? Playing in a much smaller capacity stadium and not having the financial muscle, we stand united in supporting Liverpool through thick and thin. Can our rivals attest to that if their clubs go downhill?

Pools fans have not been that vocal for the past 24 years, but deep down in our hearts, we are still strongly supporting our Liverpool, thru' thick and thin, though mostly have been quite down for these past few years, except when we won the European Champ in 2005.

We, fans, don't jump ship when our Pool don't perform well, in contrary, we still support and these can be seen thru' the numerous comments and suggestions for our Pool to improve.

We may have lost a new younger generation of fans, cos we didn't win much in the past.

But, if we continue to perform well every year from now onwards, I am sure we will increase our fans base with addition of younger fans throughout the world :)

Just wait and we will see !

13 04 @ 2037, we shall make our dream come true !

Pools fans have not been that vocal for the past 24 years, but deep down in our hearts, we are still strongly supporting our Liverpool, thru' thick and thin, though mostly have been quite down for these past few years, except when we won the European Champ in 2005.

We, fans, don't jump ship when our Pool don't perform well, in contrary, we still support and these can be seen thru' the numerous comments and suggestions for our Pool to improve.

We may have lost a new younger generation of fans, cos we didn't win much in the past.

But, if we continue to perform well every year from now onwards, I am sure we will increase our fans base with addition of younger fans throughout the world :)

Just wait and we will see !

13 04 @ 2037, we shall make our dream come true !

Huh?? Not vocal?? Cannot be lah. We still speak louder than any other club fan Leh. If we not vocal in the pass 20 years then the other teams fans must be mute. :D

just look at the qty of post in liverpool thread compared to the others...

i know quite of bit of newcastle and manure supporters, some Arsenal, some Leeds, some Spurs...

but shitty and chelski fans?? nvr know they exist...

ok i admitted i man shitty fan on the day they beat manure to the title 2 yrs back

I'm sure Liverpool was one of the most-supported clubs in the world, but we have to admit that in the last 10 yr or so, clubs like Manu, Barca, RM, etc., had widened their fan base considerably, and coupled with their success domestically and in Europe, would probably have a bigger fan base then LFC.

A Pool fan always a Pool fans ..... [smash]

come 20yrs, 30 yrs or even 50 yrs without winning anything .... [bounce2][bounce2][bounce2]

I'm sure Liverpool was one of the most-supported clubs in the world, but we have to admit that in the last 10 yr or so, clubs like Manu, Barca, RM, etc., had widened their fan base considerably, and coupled with their success domestically and in Europe, would probably have a bigger fan base then LFC.

Just a few days ago, there was an article that Manu was much more popular in Korea and China, and now Japan, because of the effects of Park Ji Sung, Dong, and now Kagawa. Can't find the report now, but it mentioned that a few seasons ago, when Manu was arranging a friendly in Korea, the K league rescheduled its matches to accommodate manu, but when LFC was trying to do the same, a couple of seasons ago, the K league felt it wasn't important enough so the whole trip was cancelled...

Barca and RM have of course been been helped tremendously by the popularity of Messi and Ronaldo, who for a number of years have been at their peak, and importantly been at the same club, so soccer fans who appreciate talent will support their clubs too. I remember that Stanchart after starting to sponsor LFC, had spent $$ doing up collaterals featuring prominently Torres, who was very good then, but had to quickly take them down and replace them when he left abruptly...

On Mou, he's a fella that you will like if he's on your side, but hate when he's not. I remember reading many years ago that when he left Porto, it was the time that both chelski and LFC were looking to replace their managers, and that LFC approached him first (because of his UCL success c.f. to Benitez's UEFA cup (albeit with La Liga titles), but he turned LFC down to go to chelski...

Hated him since [thumbsdown]

I'm glad he rejected.Never like him as a person though he is a good tactician.

He always think he is bigger than his club n hate his bloody foul mouth.

I prefer manager like Kenny ,BR,Pep etc;

A Pool fan always a Pool fans ..... [smash]

come 20yrs, 30 yrs or even 50 yrs without winning anything .... [bounce2][bounce2][bounce2]

In Local term we called it LL

pool fans are always vocal. be it losing or winning, we will always b ard to whine or celebrate. when we lose, we keep talking abt how bad the team played, when we win, we keep talking abt how bad the team played but still win. hehehe.

i can say for sure, that if man u is to go thru wat liverpool did for another 2-3 yrs, their fans will b very quiet or even disappear. now already we can see a lot of them quieten down. even my man u fans friends got nothing to say when they lost. last time always say give chance, field not good, unlucky...etc .etc. now they running out of excuses n jus keep quiet.

1000x7254.jpg?w=650&h=471&crop=1#038;h=7Referee Howard Webb is not taking charge of Liverpool’s match with Manchester City (Picture: Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images)

England’s World Cup referee Howard Webb has been dealt another blow by being overlooked for Sunday’s crucial title clash between Liverpool and Manchester City.

Webb has been given a string of low-profile matches since a calamitous performance in the Arsenal-Liverpool FA Cup tie two months ago. The 42-year-old will handle Crystal Palace v Aston Villa this weekend.

Instead, Mark Clattenburg will referee this weekend’s title clash at Anfield, he last officiated a Liverpool game on March 16 when the Reds beat Manchester United 3-0 at Old Trafford in which the official awarded the Premier League leaders three penalties.

The decision to appoint Clattenburg as referee will be a welcomed relief to Liverpool supporters. who feared Webb would be the official for this important fixture.

1000x665136.jpg?w=650&h=432&crop=1#038;hReferee Mark Clattenburg will be the man in the middle on Sunday at Anfield (Picture: Paul Ellis/AFP/Getty Images)

It is no secret that Webb is not the fans’ favourite referee and many mocked him on social media sites by portraying him with a Manchester United shirt with his history of awarding Liverpool’s rivals so many big decisions.

But Webb has kept up his reputation of Liverpool’s most hated referee this season with him making more decisions against the Reds in high-profile games.

Webb refused to give Liverpool a penalty against Chelsea earlier in the season when Samuel Eto’o clearly upended Luis Suarez in the penalty area, then during the FA Cup defeat to Arsenal he refused to award the Reds their second spot-kick of the match when Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain blatantly fouled the Uruguayan striker.

Avoiding Webb in such a crucial fixture is a massive boost for Liverpool because, although the FA rate him as our top referee, my opinion is he has been unfair on Liverpool in the past.

http://metro.co.uk/2014/04/09/liverpool-relief-after-howard-webb-is-overlooked-for-manchester-city-premier-league-title-showdown-4693309/?

pool fans are always vocal. be it losing or winning, we will always b ard to whine or celebrate. when we lose, we keep talking abt how bad the team played, when we win, we keep talking abt how bad the team played but still win. hehehe.

i can say for sure, that if man u is to go thru wat liverpool did for another 2-3 yrs, their fans will b very quiet or even disappear. now already we can see a lot of them quieten down. even my man u fans friends got nothing to say when they lost. last time always say give chance, field not good, unlucky...etc .etc. now they running out of excuses n jus keep quiet.

We made the choice to support Liverpool, we are not scare to support a team that don't win title.

Having said that, I am proud that I have a friend who support Southampton and he is proud to show that, and he even brought their jersey.

Edited by Joseph22

Dun know if this have been posted, Liverpool will face Chelsea at Anfield on 27th April (Sunday).

Chelsea will have the first leg of CL either on 22/23 April and the second leg on 29/30 April.....

Wonder how will Chelsea face up to 3 important games within 6-8 days......

Dun know if this have been posted, Liverpool will face Chelsea at Anfield on 27th April (Sunday).

Chelsea will have the first leg of CL either on 22/23 April and the second leg on 29/30 April.....

Wonder how will Chelsea face up to 3 important games within 6-8 days......

They have to choose which one they wanted more urgently.....

League champion, they had won before so...... CL could be their main target ... [sly]

Why I say Liverpool is the most supported club is simply because despite our lack of success for 20+ years, apart from the CL triumph in 2005, we are one of the top 10 most supported club in the world. As for last season's BPL winner, their huge fan base is mainly because they have been triumphant all these while and the existence of the internet; and most of their new supporters are fair weather fans. How many can claim the accolade of supporting an average team who lacks success all these years? Playing in a much smaller capacity stadium and not having the financial muscle, we stand united in supporting Liverpool through thick and thin. Can our rivals attest to that if their clubs go downhill?

Ha ha... I think it would be more accurate and precise if we were to say that LFC has the most loyal following, as 'most supported' could be easily misconstrued as quantity, while we're thinking more of quality or passion or loyalty here.

Not sure if i'm typical of LFC supporter, but i started watching during the days of Steve Heighway in the mid/late 70s. I just started schooling and those days TV were B/W, and i remember going to an auntie's house to watch soccer on Sundays. I remember the name 'Big League Soccer', but not sure whether that name was heard at that time or later.

I remember the name Heighway, as i just learnt about the big roads being called highway, so found the name amusing... my first world cup was argentina 78, and the english league matches started before that.

Those years, LFC was hugely successful, and so was shown more often on tv and i started supporting it. Fast forward through the years of success, and then from the 90s onwards, the downward slide began, and it has been frustrating at times seeing them played the way they did. When i was playing myself and my team would go somewhere to watch the matches after our games on Sat afternoon, so often i (and my mates who support LFC too) was some upset that we had said umpteen times that we should look for another team to support...

But somehow we still stuck by the team all these years leh... until now my 9 year-old son also started to support the team, even waking up at 4 am to watch during school holidays [bounce1]

My sis-in-law is an Arsenal supporter, as she started watching English league during Thierry Henry's heydays. She has a very cute son who is 8 month-old now, and my whole family (including my son) adores him. My sis-in-law and bro-in-law also send us photos of their son regularly, to share with us. My son loves to see them...

Then 2 week ago, my SIL sent a photo of my young nephew in an arsenal jersey. And my son, who was enjoying the other photos before that one, jokingly said on seeing his young cousin in the arsenal jersey that the toddler was not cute in that photo :D :D :D

My wife, who is not a soccer fan, couldn't help but laugh...

Passionate boh, such LFC supporter...

I'm glad he rejected.Never like him as a person though he is a good tactician.

He always think he is bigger than his club n hate his bloody foul mouth.

I prefer manager like Kenny ,BR,Pep etc;

I fully understand what you said, but ... sometimes, such deficiencies can be overlooked if he had brought widespread success to the club when he is part of the club lor...

I remember I hated Harry Kewell when he was at Leeds, as he was so ya-ya dribbling past defenders (including ours), but then later we signed him. From then on, i actually didn't mind his antics. It was the same with Bellamy, whose reputation was not so good, after his falling out with almost every manager that managed him before. I still supported him when he joined us.

Last but not least, our Suarez now. Sometimes I wonder if he was a manu player, and if he had bitten SG, then how would we LFC supporters see him? Sure !@#$%^&* right?

So hor, maybe our dislike for Mou could be quite different had he chosen differently then.

But now, all I want is to see us beat them to the title!!!

They have to choose which one they wanted more urgently.....

League champion, they had won before so...... CL could be their main target ... [sly]

Can I modify the second sentence a bit to

League champion, Mourinho had won for Chelsea a few times before so...... CL (which he had won with 2 other clubs but never with Chelsea before) could be Mou's main target ... [sly]