Chongster 6th Gear February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 hi guys i would like to transfer my wife's car to me. Car is fully paid up. Insurance and road tax due end of the month. is there a one stop counter at LTA to do this? how long will the transfer take? can we both go down to LTA and get it done in a couple of hours? am I able to pay my road tax and insurance there as well? i dont have a car in my name now. last time i owned a car was two years ago. thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 LTA can do the transfer and road tax. Shouldn't take more than a couple of mins if there's no queue. Insurance you will have get one yourself from the insurance companies. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear February 10, 2014 Author Share February 10, 2014 LTA can do the transfer and road tax. Shouldn't take more than a couple of mins if there's no queue. Insurance you will have get one yourself from the insurance companies. thanks! you need to get insurance first then can pay road tax right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 should be able to do a transfer of ncd from ur wife to u as well if ur wife aint buying new car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 what's there to help. go down LTA in sinming. sign a few forms. 11 bucks nia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear February 10, 2014 Author Share February 10, 2014 should be able to do a transfer of ncd from ur wife to u as well if ur wife aint buying new car she doesnt have NCD lah, only got loading Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear February 10, 2014 Author Share February 10, 2014 she doesnt have NCD lah, only got loading ok, seems like the insurance portion is most tricky. what's the best way of doing it... at the poitn of transfer i need to have insurance right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iisterry 3rd Gear February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 (edited) You need to get insurance coverage for yourself first prior to dropping by LTA. Thereafter, bring along both your NRIC/license and your insurance certificate/cover note along to LTA. Transfer is immediate. Do note that transferring ownership to avoid claims loading might be a point of contention for insurers to refute your claims in future. Edited February 10, 2014 by Iisterry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Old-driver 5th Gear February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 thanks! you need to get insurance first then can pay road tax right? Yes you will need insurance coverange then they will renew your road tax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear February 10, 2014 Author Share February 10, 2014 thanks all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enzomatrix 2nd Gear February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 dun forget to cancel ur wife's insurance and get the pro rated premium back. Will involve admin charges, not cheap but better than nothing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chongster 6th Gear February 10, 2014 Author Share February 10, 2014 dun forget to cancel ur wife's insurance and get the pro rated premium back. Will involve admin charges, not cheap but better than nothing thanks. wife's insurance literally left days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boxster 2nd Gear February 10, 2014 Share February 10, 2014 I think you need to get insurance and present it during the the transfer at LTA. You also need to pay a transfer fee depending on the car value you can check at LTA website Refer to this http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/buy___sell_a_used/Transfer_of_Vehicle.html If you have downloaded and filled up the form the transfer can be done within 10mins if there is no queue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wfpclare168 Neutral Newbie January 3, 2015 Share January 3, 2015 (edited) I had bought a car near 2 months ago, all payment had fully paid, but i found the car ownership not yet transferred to me, can anyone advice me what to do ? thank you ! BTW:The car dealer where i bought is Cars Today Pte Ltd Edited January 3, 2015 by Wfpclare168 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 3, 2015 Share January 3, 2015 I had bought a car near 2 months ago, all payment had fully paid, but i found the car ownership not yet transferred to me, can anyone advice me what to do ? thank you ! BTW:The car dealer where i bought is Cars Today Pte Ltd You mean you've been driving for 2 months and you just realised it today? What does the dealer say? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spurman Supercharged January 4, 2015 Share January 4, 2015 Cb. The cars today should change to cars tomorrow... or gone car.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wfpclare168 Neutral Newbie January 4, 2015 Share January 4, 2015 reply with all kinds of nonsense! ...not free lah....can't find owner lah.....owner offended trafic rule & car can't do tranfer lah....the ownership is not under the seller but his wife....shit, police or CAD case liao ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bicolor 5th Gear January 4, 2015 Share January 4, 2015 I had bought a car near 2 months ago, all payment had fully paid, but i found the car ownership not yet transferred to me, can anyone advice me what to do ? thank you ! BTW:The car dealer where i bought is Cars Today Pte Ltd First of all, make a police report. If you do a search around, you'll realize that this dealer has a record of pulling such stunts and delaying transfer of ownership. Not the first time. Good luck. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...