Jamesc Hypersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Why people keep comparing to other jobs? People should just do what they love and good at. I wish the career guidence officer told me that when I was younger. I would have been an adult education instructor or a the rapist. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Just curious, what are the career advancement for Bank backend personnel? I have got a friend who's going to resign from one of the banks was telling me backend is like rank and file system or sorts. not true, u still need supervisiors, managers and directors in bank backend but its true that often lesser attention is paid to the rank and file employees who make the most significant contributions to the business. its not glamorous but imagine u signed a multi million deal but the trade failed to settle... how? u still need backend staff to settle the trade. so really, everyone needs someone to deliver the entire product. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorrow 2nd Gear December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 not true, u still need supervisiors, managers and directors in bank backend but its true that often lesser attention is paid to the rank and file employees who make the most significant contributions to the business. its not glamorous but imagine u signed a multi million deal but the trade failed to settle... how? u still need backend staff to settle the trade. so really, everyone needs someone to deliver the entire product. Thanks for the sharing, cause I was informed he can't move up the ladder as his top is not moving. So i was thinking, you can't jump over your immediate superior unless he f up his job I suppose. Thus promotions are somewhat limited Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 aviation for technician level need CAAS certs. last time engineer need C14/L11/L12 etc. now change liao. you can sign up at SAA. CAAS license not so simple to get. Passing their exam alone not enough. Have to find an employer, i.e. aerospace company, that will let you get the hours and practical experience (need to be certified by another qualified staff, and recorded in logbook). Then only can go for interview and get the license. Many companies actually don't like to have too many license holders, as they have to be paid higher (thus higher cost to the company) - so sometimes they have only a few staff to do actual signing and certifying, while the job is done by technicians. MRO companies typically take in poly grads or nowadays degree holders, and the whole training, exams and gaining experience, takes up to 3 to 4 yrs before a person becomes license holder. Any aerospace job without license, is much the same as any engineering sector job, i.e. long hours and low pay. The govt try to make it look glamourous but really... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Why people keep comparing to other jobs? People should just do what they love and good at. I wish the career guidence officer told me that when I was younger. I would have been an adult education instructor or a the rapist. what's that job where you dig around and get paid? ahh... i think geegologist also suits you.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 what's that job where you dig around and get paid? ahh... i think geegologist also suits you.... how.abt chibailogist? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldlian987 3rd Gear December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 As long as one is able to do hands on in his job and have a willing mind to learn, one can excel in an engineer job :)) But in sg the perception of hands on=low skilled and no future, and thus low pay. CAAS license not so simple to get. Passing their exam alone not enough. Have to find an employer, i.e. aerospace company, that will let you get the hours and practical experience (need to be certified by another qualified staff, and recorded in logbook). Then only can go for interview and get the license. Many companies actually don't like to have too many license holders, as they have to be paid higher (thus higher cost to the company) - so sometimes they have only a few staff to do actual signing and certifying, while the job is done by technicians. MRO companies typically take in poly grads or nowadays degree holders, and the whole training, exams and gaining experience, takes up to 3 to 4 yrs before a person becomes license holder. Any aerospace job without license, is much the same as any engineering sector job, i.e. long hours and low pay. The govt try to make it look glamourous but really... So far I only saw one job opening for trainee licensed aircraft engineer from a company. The other openings are only for those that already have a license to join, really cui. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear December 5, 2014 Share December 5, 2014 (edited) Thanks for the sharing, cause I was informed he can't move up the ladder as his top is not moving. So i was thinking, you can't jump over your immediate superior unless he f up his job I suppose. Thus promotions are somewhat limited Isn't this the case everywhere? When i was an engineer, my supervisor was a senior engineer. I could not be promoted cos quite sure he wont recommend me to be on e same title as him ... so I need move to another team headed by a staff engineer or a manager or if there is a new opening elsewhere in the company to get a senior engineer promotion. in some banks, they practise mobility ie people are encouraged to rotate around the different teams. if you cannot get what you want in this team, join somewhere else in the bank. sometimes, a lot also depends on if your friend has wanted to do more e.g. participate in projects, do improvement projects etc. i mean thats the only way to stand out among the crowd, yes? On the other hand, again, i guess its also has to see if his boss is encouraging people to do more and giving people the chance to do more... but no harm doing more than our usual share of work. just do 1 more project would mean 1 more item on appraisal form but also means spending more time in office but hey, thats called investment, rite? no pain no gain... haha cheers Edited December 5, 2014 by Fishy 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 5, 2014 Share December 5, 2014 But in sg the perception of hands on=low skilled and no future, and thus low pay. So far I only saw one job opening for trainee licensed aircraft engineer from a company. The other openings are only for those that already have a license to join, really cui. LAME usually for fresh grads... typically those airlines or overhaul shops will take in. ST, SIAEC, SAESL or ESA. starting pay quite jialat. but will jump in long term. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 5, 2014 Share December 5, 2014 Isn't this the case everywhere? When i was an engineer, my supervisor was a senior engineer. I could not be promoted cos quite sure he wont recommend me to be on e same title as him ... so I need move to another team headed by a staff engineer or a manager or if there is a new opening elsewhere in the company to get a senior engineer promotion. in some banks, they practise mobility ie people are encouraged to rotate around the different teams. if you cannot get what you want in this team, join somewhere else in the bank. sometimes, a lot also depends on if your friend has wanted to do more e.g. participate in projects, do improvement projects etc. i mean thats the only way to stand out among the crowd, yes? On the other hand, again, i guess its also has to see if his boss is encouraging people to do more and giving people the chance to do more... but no harm doing more than our usual share of work. just do 1 more project would mean 1 more item on appraisal form but also means spending more time in office but hey, thats called investment, rite? no pain no gain... haha cheers great thoughts. not many ppl think that way nowadays. alot of young chaps want immediate gratification with minimal sacrifice and work. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 5, 2014 Share December 5, 2014 Could be wittingly/unwittingly, much efforts have being put to stop people entering engineering/technical profession from outshining others. Occassionally one or two slip through and are multi-millionaires without a U-education. So it has become 'our culture' not to let some people shine. you really want to know how much the govt values engineering. just check out last 10 yrs, how many top tier scholars e.g president scholars, SAFOS, SPFOS etc took engineering lor. i think one hand can count.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic December 5, 2014 Share December 5, 2014 what's that job where you dig around and get paid? ahh... i think geegologist also suits you.... Haha thats clever. I see what you did there. I always liked the cunning linguist. A doctor is the only person that can ask a wife to take off her clothes and send the husband the bill. And gynaes have the best job. I am sure thats more what you were thinking than geologists. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear December 5, 2014 Share December 5, 2014 you really want to know how much the govt values engineering. just check out last 10 yrs, how many top tier scholars e.g president scholars, SAFOS, SPFOS etc took engineering lor. i think one hand can count.... actually given a chance, i would want to study engineering again and i want to spend at least 2 years of my career as an engineer before moving out of engineering. the knowledge and training in engineering and the things you do as an engineer is actually quite handy if applied correctly to finance e.g. problem solving, process mapping / improvement, 6 sigma, VBA macro etc. but i wont want to stay there long cos different to move out and pay is lower hahaha glad im out but i was out too late. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 5, 2014 Share December 5, 2014 actually given a chance, i would want to study engineering again and i want to spend at least 2 years of my career as an engineer before moving out of engineering. the knowledge and training in engineering and the things you do as an engineer is actually quite handy if applied correctly to finance e.g. problem solving, process mapping / improvement, 6 sigma, VBA macro etc. but i wont want to stay there long cos different to move out and pay is lower hahaha glad im out but i was out too late. yeah. i agree. i also using some of those stuff you mentioned to pian jiak at the moment 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 5, 2014 Share December 5, 2014 But in sg the perception of hands on=low skilled and no future, and thus low pay. So far I only saw one job opening for trainee licensed aircraft engineer from a company. The other openings are only for those that already have a license to join, really cui. The trainee LAEs are not recruited so regularly. It's like cadet pilot recruitment, in batches. Perhaps there will be one ad at a certain time of the year. In singapore there are two large aircraft maintenance companies so chances are there. Except that now one of them start advertising for degree holders! (is the market so bad these days?? degree holders got no cushy jobs?) Salary for a trainee is of course on the low end. Same as for cadet pilot in training. But once graduate and start working, pay jumps significantly. Only thing is that the mindset must be correct, i.e. start very low and withstand for the years of training, must be able to take shift and irregular hours work, must be keen to do hands-on dirty jobs and boring, tedious jobs too. Also there is hierarchy of sorts in these kinds of unionised working environment. Cannot be too smart, as a fresh new guy. Politics aplenty. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldlian987 3rd Gear December 5, 2014 Share December 5, 2014 (edited) The trainee LAEs are not recruited so regularly. It's like cadet pilot recruitment, in batches. Perhaps there will be one ad at a certain time of the year. In singapore there are two large aircraft maintenance companies so chances are there. Except that now one of them start advertising for degree holders! (is the market so bad these days?? degree holders got no cushy jobs?) Salary for a trainee is of course on the low end. Same as for cadet pilot in training. But once graduate and start working, pay jumps significantly. Only thing is that the mindset must be correct, i.e. start very low and withstand for the years of training, must be able to take shift and irregular hours work, must be keen to do hands-on dirty jobs and boring, tedious jobs too. Also there is hierarchy of sorts in these kinds of unionised working environment. Cannot be too smart, as a fresh new guy. Politics aplenty. The 2 mro companies do they both start with S? Lol. I saw one company recruiting for trainee technician (not even engineer) minimum is diploma. Normally technician nitec/higher nitec can already, market really bad nowadays. Edited December 5, 2014 by Ldlian987 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator December 5, 2014 Share December 5, 2014 (edited) Just curious, what are the career advancement for Bank backend personnel? I have got a friend who's going to resign from one of the banks was telling me backend is like rank and file system or sorts. If I may add my 2 cents to describe this from a football point of view: Backend is like the goalie/defenders. Frontend is like the strikers. When the goalie/defender lets in a goal, it is their fault. When a striker misses an open goal, it will be deemed as ball is round, one of those things, unlucky etc. Fishy is correct, the strikers can score many goals but if the goalie/defenders keep on letting in also can't win the game right? In short, a bank needs both Frontend and Backend to function but as we live in a real world, fact is Frontend will always be more glamorous and paid better but never underestimate the importance of Backend which is the heart beat of the bank! not true, u still need supervisiors, managers and directors in bank backend but its true that often lesser attention is paid to the rank and file employees who make the most significant contributions to the business. its not glamorous but imagine u signed a multi million deal but the trade failed to settle... how? u still need backend staff to settle the trade. so really, everyone needs someone to deliver the entire product. Edited December 5, 2014 by Spring 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorrow 2nd Gear December 5, 2014 Share December 5, 2014 If I may add my 2 cents to describe this from a football point of view: Backend is like the goalie/defenders. Frontend is like the strikers. When the goalie/defender lets in a goal, it is their fault. When a striker misses an open goal, it will be deemed as ball is round, one of those things, unlucky etc. Fishy is correct, the strikers can score many goals but if the goalie/defenders keep on letting in also can't win the game right? In short, a bank needs both Frontend and Backend to function but as we live in a real world, fact is Frontend will always be more glamorous and paid better but never underestimate the importance of Backend which is the heart beat of the bank! Fruitful sharing guys, thanks for the headsup. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...