Coolad 5th Gear October 31, 2014 Share October 31, 2014 We once had 2 hires from an overseas semiconductor giant MNC, in fact it was 1 of the biggest and most profitable in the world so we thought they were really good. They were recommended and hired by seniors who were their own countrymen. 1 was exceptionally good. Another 1 only sit at his desk to send emails marked in high priority to the manufacturing and production staff but hey, those people hardly read emails or answer the phone because they are working at their stations. By the time they read the email, its end of shift so nothing gets done or implemented. Sometimes, its not their nationality but really, their attitude and a lot of common sense and of course their knowledge. Miss out any 1 of these 3 ingredients and the equation will fail. Last but not least, please hire based on merit and not what is their mother tongue or which village they came from. TSMC or Intel? Both have no close 2nd... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldlian987 3rd Gear December 3, 2014 Share December 3, 2014 Hi all I'm looking for an engineering job currently in the auto or aviation industry. Anyone know of any lobangs? Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 (edited) Hi all I'm looking for an engineering job currently in the auto or aviation industry. Anyone know of any lobangs? Thanks! Do you hold a degree? The job with one of the best starting pay is rsaf, sign on as ME4. But often over subscribe. But you won't get to use your engineering knowledge you had learnt. Edited December 4, 2014 by GLZT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Why no engineer wants to go into Marine sector? Or oil & gas? Sgp has such a large port and Jurong island as oil refinery. The pay not bad if you are willing to work hard. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 As long as one is able to do hands on in his job and have a willing mind to learn, one can excel in an engineer job :)) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 I had worked with local degree holders, foreign (advanced and 3rd world) degree holders, local QP, local AP, British Chartered Engineer, Full Technological Certificate Holders. I find the latter three more practical based and resourceful. The worst are those who could possess faked degree (dismissed any thing he is ignorant as irrelevant). I agree. Poly and ITE grads are the more hands on people on the production floor, able to identify and fix the problems faster than the so called fake degrees. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 (edited) The 3.5k was starting pay without any working experience. Now engineering degree also quite fast. SIT only 2 years. Don't be fooled by the 3.5K starting pay. Subsequent increments are really miserable!! Accountants will catch up & surpass u in no time!! These days locals are not into engg. 8/10 fresh grads I interviewed are foreigners. We are getting many M'sian engrs these days. Diff in culture & working styles are closer compared to Pinoys, & Tiongs My peers in audit & finance sectors are earning much more than me now! Edited December 4, 2014 by Karu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Hi all I'm looking for an engineering job currently in the auto or aviation industry. Anyone know of any lobangs? Thanks!singapore got what auto.industry ? At.most support auto nia e.g delphi Aviation industry mostly mro. all hiring freeze at the moment . Some like pratt etc retrenching left right centre Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Don't be fooled by the 3.5K starting pay. Subsequent increments are really miserable!! Accountants will catch up & surpass u in no time!! These days locals are not into engg. 8/10 fresh grads I interviewed are foreigners. We are getting many M'sian engrs these days. Diff in culture & working styles are closer compared to Pinoys, & Tiongs My peers in audit & finance sectors are earning much more than me now! Engineers still ok la. Just for bench marking purposes. Whats the salary of a engineer abt 7-10yr exp? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Engineers still ok la. Just for bench marking purposes. Whats the salary of a engineer abt 7-10yr exp? As a Marine Chief Engineer, ard USD10-13k starting pay. A marine engineer with 7-10yr exp would have gone for his chief cert. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Engineers still ok la. Just for bench marking purposes. Whats the salary of a engineer abt 7-10yr exp? If you are talking about electronics manufacturing & if you still remain as an engineer without supervisory roles, we're looking at 4- 6Ks. For those who takes up managerial roles, you'll probably get another 500 - 1000 more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 If you are talking about electronics manufacturing & if you still remain as an engineer without supervisory roles, we're looking at 4- 6Ks. For those who takes up managerial roles, you'll probably get another 500 - 1000 more. ok mah. not that bad? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ldlian987 3rd Gear December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 Do you hold a degree? The job with one of the best starting pay is rsaf, sign on as ME4. But often over subscribe. But you won't get to use your engineering knowledge you had learnt. I don't have a degree. My highest qualification is a cert of higher education from uni (didnt complete my bachelors) followed by a diploma. My interest is in cars and planes but most of the jobs I find are those technicians (higher nitec, nitec). The other engineer positions require working experience but I have 0. singapore got what auto.industry ? At.most support auto nia e.g delphi Aviation industry mostly mro. all hiring freeze at the moment . Some like pratt etc retrenching left right centre I was looking at some of the jobs at those car ADs servicing centres. Aviation the jobs also hard to find. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 ok mah. not that bad? 吃不饱饿不死... Compared to the auditors, bankers... They are earning much more Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 I don't have a degree. My highest qualification is a cert of higher education from uni (didnt complete my bachelors) followed by a diploma. My interest is in cars and planes but most of the jobs I find are those technicians (higher nitec, nitec). The other engineer positions require working experience but I have 0. I was looking at some of the jobs at those car ADs servicing centres. Aviation the jobs also hard to find. aviation for technician level need CAAS certs. last time engineer need C14/L11/L12 etc. now change liao. you can sign up at SAA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 吃不饱饿不死... Compared to the auditors, bankers... They are earning much more hmm. depends lah. i know alot of auditors also dun really earn that much more. and the hours are quite ridiculous. and bankers.... only for those front office sales then really super gao gao pay. those typical back office staff may not really be that fantastic as well. i know quite a number of engineers that went into banking back office. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 i know quite a number of engineers that went into banking back office. i'm 1 of them, not looking back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sorrow 2nd Gear December 4, 2014 Share December 4, 2014 i'm 1 of them, not looking back. Just curious, what are the career advancement for Bank backend personnel? I have got a friend who's going to resign from one of the banks was telling me backend is like rank and file system or sorts. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...