Engineering career anyone?

Vulcann

Sec 2 streaming overall score kena pull down by art, so no pure science, no c math

What is C Math?

Only heard of A and E Maths.

my point is that alot of engineers nowadays are very theory based.

very good on paper.

but hands on cannot make it.

lol

I agree on this. Lol. [rolleyes]

i have no regrets doing engineering.

but then again, i was lucky because i wasn't stuck in a dead end engineering role.

but its not a career i would recommend for everyone.

given the state of engineering nowadays, i wouldn't want my children to do engineering in future if possible.

You really need to have a passion in order to excel in Engineering. Especially in our job market, where engineering are considered to be "dirty" and "second-class" jobs when compared to the financial sector.

This fact is not being helped by our many local SMEs who will squeeze as much as possible from engineers, while not paying them the equivalent of what engineers in MNCs are getting. The lucky ones gets hired by big MNCs like Shell, Esso, Chevrons etc..and it's more or less doing the same job.

To improve the uptake in engineering students, govt really need to change the image and pay problem.

Edited by Shull

Actually ... shld point urself towards the right direction first... engineer... try move towards customer engineering.. then towards account managing then to sales... somewhere along the way...go for MBA/Finance post grad... then it will help u... dun suka suka out of blue go take MBA/finance.. no help 1...

And of coz must have interest in moving out from technical field lah... must be more vocal.. speak more "human" language... see things from P&L perspective... able to interface with customers and management... blah blah blah...

The funny thing is Ur engineering knowledge will become very useful once u are out for the field... in banking/marketing/sales environment u will have the advantage... hahaha... coz few can dazzle u with those flowery technical terms and u can see thru the "smoke" pple throw...

alot of engineers don't move out of engineering because they lack the ability to think on their feet and lacks the ability to articulate their thoughts.

basically as you said, not vocal enough.

too many fall into the template of the typical " engineer"

my point is that alot of engineers nowadays are very theory based.

very good on paper.

but hands on cannot make it.

lol

Yup, correct. Those can hands on probably w poly backgrd.

One thing appears to be overlooked. Engineering is about 35 hours per week. There are two to 3 lab / practical per week for which a report has to be written after hours.

And the industrial attachment is a waste of time. 6 months industrial experience can be gained by letting the students graduate 6 months earlier .

Compare that to business, acoounts or other courses which are less than 20 hours per week.

The undergrad days are really no fun. You graduate with 2 bachelorships.

Can talk normally cannot work or not as good.

Cannot talk well one normally very good at work.

Seldom you see can work and can talk one.

alot of engineers don't move out of engineering because they lack the ability to think on their feet and lacks the ability to articulate their thoughts.

basically as you said, not vocal enough.

too many fall into the template of the typical " engineer"

Can talk normally cannot work or not as good.

Cannot talk well one normally very good at work.

Seldom you see can work and can talk one.

Doctor also the same lah.

Very good EQ one sometimes skills only soso. The one behave like bit autistic one is actually sibei good one. [laugh]

Sometimes do the right thing also kana complaint. Sian, minor downer on my mood today.

Sec 2 streaming overall score kena pull down by art, so no pure science, no c math

u should thank your art teacher then.

Pai seh

Is a math

You no study A MATHS is ACCOUNTANT? [laugh]

Hahaha i study A maths but really my higher maths is super weak one. O level can just whack ten year series.

Got a B in maths for JC.

Hahaha i study A maths but really my higher maths is super weak one. O level can just whack ten year series.

Got a B in maths for JC.

Accountancy no need maths one lah and they dun add 1 + 1 = 2 [laugh][laugh]

Haha creative accountant. 1+1=10. Maybe can join city harvest or tesco in UK Lol. Edited by Lala81

Sometimes do the right thing also kana complaint. Sian, minor downer on my mood today.

most impt is your conscience clear.

even if kena complain, you also can look your boss in the eye and he will understand.

if he doesn't , then you'd be better off looking for another job.

Actually ... shld point urself towards the right direction first... engineer... try move towards customer engineering.. then towards account managing then to sales... somewhere along the way...go for MBA/Finance post grad... then it will help u... dun suka suka out of blue go take MBA/finance.. no help 1...

And of coz must have interest in moving out from technical field lah... must be more vocal.. speak more "human" language... see things from P&L perspective... able to interface with customers and management... blah blah blah...

The funny thing is Ur engineering knowledge will become very useful once u are out for the field... in banking/marketing/sales environment u will have the advantage... hahaha... coz few can dazzle u with those flowery technical terms and u can see thru the "smoke" pple throw...

Egnn knowledge useful once out of the field ? maybe useful if you branch out to the sales side of engineering. banking not quite tally wor..I got marine engineering background, but so far no one talk to me about ballast tank, pistons, pumps etc in financial industry.

The thing I find it useful will be computer knowledge in banking. coz banking very active in automation, alot of projects require tweaking the existing systems or build new systems to cut cost and of course cut headcount, LOL

3.5k is starting gross pay or with experience? When was your 2.2k pay? If at least 10 years ago, then cannot compared liao?! Lol.

Engineering job usually should be higher pay than business job, due to engineering degree needs 4 years to complete as compared with business degree?!

The 3.5k was starting pay without any working experience. Now engineering degree also quite fast. SIT only 2 years.

Egnn knowledge useful once out of the field ? maybe useful if you branch out to the sales side of engineering. banking not quite tally wor..I got marine engineering background, but so far no one talk to me about ballast tank, pistons, pumps etc in financial industry.

The thing I find it useful will be computer knowledge in banking. coz banking very active in automation, alot of projects require tweaking the existing systems or build new systems to cut cost and of course cut headcount, LOL

dunno leh. i find engineering degree obselete very fast though and usually quite irrelevant to the work place.

even when i was doing hard core engineering work, i think i used less than 5% of my degree knowledge? lol

how many of you engineers here really utilise the engineering knowledge you learnt in your degree?

The 3.5k was starting pay without any working experience. Now engineering degree also quite fast. SIT only 2 years.

SIT so short nia?

3.5k for starting pay quite high.... i remember i only got ard 2k when i fresh grad from ntu =(

SIT so short nia?

3.5k for starting pay quite high.... i remember i only got ard 2k when i fresh grad from ntu =(

Ya lo. All of us who finished poly with them but go NTU/NUS instead still got another 1 or 2 more years to go but they already graduated from SIT. Even completed their 1 month overseas exchange program. Their career fair quite good. I heard many of them got jobs during that fair so graduate already immediately got job.

Doctor also the same lah.

Very good EQ one sometimes skills only soso. The one behave like bit autistic one is actually sibei good one. [laugh]

u should thank your art teacher then.

Got a B in maths for JC.

Accountant math is bery easy one

+-x/ only