Engineering career anyone?

Vulcann

To see the state of engineering. Look at singtel.

They basically dumped a whole chuck of their engineering dept to huawei, many of their old staff were very unhappy but had no choice, take it or leave it.

What does that say for the future as a career choice?

Sure there are exceptions, engineering work is so very vast in type and level, but the trend is inescapable.

As a norm. It's about paying the minimum to reduce cost for engineering.

In say finance. .. It's often about paying the maximum to retain people.

And for the vast majority no local engineer can compete with the cost of an FT due to social realities.. and that's how the cookie crumbles.

To see the state of engineering. Look at singtel.

They basically dumped a whole chuck of their engineering dept to huawei, many of their old staff were very unhappy but had no choice, take it or leave it.

What does that say for the future as a career choice?

Sure there are exceptions, engineering work is so very vast in type and level, but the trend is inescapable.

As a norm. It's about paying the minimum to reduce cost for engineering.

In say finance. .. It's often about paying the maximum to retain people.

And for the vast majority no local engineer can compete with the cost of an FT due to social realities.. and that's how the cookie crumbles.

engineering will forever be a cost centre.

for manufacturing even worst. always under pressure to reduce cost.

25 years ago, i was science siao

wanted to be simi scientist

think albert ensiten is jin satki

heng my art is fail

kena condemn do commerce in jc

now i look back, knnn, kan see lang heng man [crazy]

my engineering skiil now is use to repair my 40d with contact cleaner

ownself repair iphoe battery

ownerself repiar ps3 laser lens

jin staki mens [grin]

Edited by Mustank

heng my art is fail

jin staki mens [grin]

Not bad liao.

my wife is engineering manager with M.Sc dont even know how to pump petrol. lol

heng my art is fail

jin staki mens [grin]

LOL. why art fail = go do commerce? Can't do science meh.

just take into consideration auditor pay vs engineer pay.

engineer fresh grad about 2.8-3k. every yr 3-5% Per yr.

auditor fresh grad about 2.7k but annual increment $500-800

less than 5 yrs already big diff liaoz.

even for engineer to senior engineer take abt 5-10 yrs. senior engineer abt 5-6k?

if auditor stay in big 4 for 10 yrs easily 8-10k

You're very chun, my wife is an auditor.

For senior eng, should get within 5 yrs if youre good, but pay is only 4-5k.

5-6k is already section manager or near principal eng pay liao

Engineering is a good basic stepping stone to something higher... gives the widest options after your 1st job.... and after a few years top it up with a business or finance post grad... priceless....

i guess almost all fields of finance will earn more than the average engineer bah

just look around your own social circle.

what car is the average finance professional is driving vs what car an average engineer is driving?

you have your answer there.

Acherlee Retail lagi Huat. Can pull off Engineering feat that Japanese Bullet Train Mgmt also nvr tot off.

Not bad liao.

Lol, pumping petrol no link whether you are engineer train or not la. [:p]

You're very chun, my wife is an auditor.

For senior eng, should get within 5 yrs if youre good, but pay is only 4-5k.

5-6k is already section manager or near principal eng pay liao

different coy, diff structure lah.

some coy very fast senior engineer. but salary as you say only 4+

some coy senior engineer is equivalent of asst manager.

but my feeling is that engineering competition very stiff.....

one company got maybe 100 engineers. but how many managerial positions. probably less than 10? so to make it to engineer you need to be the top 10% of engineers. otherwise forever stuck in the ceiling .

for finance/auditor line, seems like everyone is a manager. 等酒就有。。。lol

Engineering is a good basic stepping stone to something higher... gives the widest options after your 1st job.... and after a few years top it up with a business or finance post grad... priceless....

perhaps lah.

maybe its just a case of sour grapes on my end. as i see my friends in finance so huat while i was stuck in dead end engineering job.

sometimes its really a matter of luck.

alot of engineers i know, went to take MBA thinking that its a step to managerial positions. until now, they are still doing engineering stuff.

a MBA is not a magic bullet. unless its those top tier harvard/insead type.

quite a few friends end up being disappointed after taking the ntu/nus mbas......

Lol, pumping petrol no link whether you are engineer train or not la. [:p]

my point is that alot of engineers nowadays are very theory based.

very good on paper.

but hands on cannot make it.

lol

Not bad liao.

U siao! Spore no need to dirty her hands. Can earn $ n keep u happy is tok kong.

LOL. why art fail = go do commerce? Can't do science meh.

Sec 2 streaming overall score kena pull down by art, so no pure science, no c math

perhaps lah.

maybe its just a case of sour grapes on my end. as i see my friends in finance so huat while i was stuck in dead end engineering job.

sometimes its really a matter of luck.

alot of engineers i know, went to take MBA thinking that its a step to managerial positions. until now, they are still doing engineering stuff.

a MBA is not a magic bullet. unless its those top tier harvard/insead type.

quite a few friends end up being disappointed after taking the ntu/nus mbas......

Actually ... shld point urself towards the right direction first... engineer... try move towards customer engineering.. then towards account managing then to sales... somewhere along the way...go for MBA/Finance post grad... then it will help u... dun suka suka out of blue go take MBA/finance.. no help 1...

And of coz must have interest in moving out from technical field lah... must be more vocal.. speak more "human" language... see things from P&L perspective... able to interface with customers and management... blah blah blah...

The funny thing is Ur engineering knowledge will become very useful once u are out for the field... in banking/marketing/sales environment u will have the advantage... hahaha... coz few can dazzle u with those flowery technical terms and u can see thru the "smoke" pple throw...