Food px increase? Most Singaporeans say they can absorb it

Scion

the standard of ST is getting lower and lower... sigh

but to ensure we only read the right things, standard is not important ...... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

You can make a survey say anything you like.

The trick is revealed here (the relevant part starts at 27s):

http://youtu.be/G0ZZJXw4MTA

Honestly, I learnt SO much from that show - it's pretty much a documentary on how government works (or rather why it doesn't). My absolute favourite show of all time.

do you believe in this report or that poll done by Nielsen?

(anyway 69% is hardly equivalent to "most") [shakehead]

They make up the over 60% who voted for *** LOL

I tend to agree with the article to some extend.

My fav minced meat noodles cost $4. If they raise the price to $4.50, it wont affect me much. I will still continue to buy without hesistation

My usual kopi-C just increase price. From $1.10 to $1.20....neglible difference.

If the noodles end up $12 or my kopi-C end up as $3, then i will feel the hikes. Otherwise no big deal la

10% hike is significant. Multiply it by 3 meals a day and number of family members, $0.60 x 3 x 4, that is $7.20. Which is $2628 increase in food expenses a year and we are only talking about very cheap food here. When COE goes up by 10k, we kpkb and that is only an increase cost of $1k a year. Do you still think it is negligible?

Sidetrack, those with DD/DS in school, did they feedback that prices increased and portion reduced?

Last yr, my DD can hv a bowl of fishball noodle soup (2 fishball) for $1. This yr the same stall increased the price to $1.20 (20% increase) with lesser noddle (50% decrease). So, ended up have to buy extra bowl.

As for those bakery under HDB shophouse, pandan cake increase by 11%, from $4.50 to $5.00.

Maybe there are those who can cope but those with school going kids, will understand why their kids have to request for more $$ for recess.

hmmm.....

the passengers were the SMRT staffs is it?

http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/traffic-lights-indicate-wait-time-trains-20140208

By Audrey Tan

Commuters have given the green light to a new system which tells them how crowded the platforms are at MRT stations.

"Traffic lights" are in place at the entrances of Tanjong Pagar and Ang Mo Kio stations in a trial which began last December.

Passengers The Straits Times spoke to yesterday at lunchtime liked them so much that they want them rolled out at other stations.

If the lights are green, it means the platform is clear and commuters can catch the next train. Amber means a wait for approximately two trains to pass before they can board, while red indicates a crowded platform and "prolonged waiting time".

the survey must be done in mcf, just the car installment alone can easily be over $1000 a month, petrol + parking $300.

Any increase of course can absorb lah, just dun drive, everyday eat abalone also can afford.

based on your est. monthly car instal & petrol are you calculating in RM conversion ?

If so, it's wonderfully affordable. To be honest, I do not think inflation can justify current rate of living standard here, housing , rental, food, transports, education & daily needs can sustain.

increase by percent depends on the value,

u tell me if a business sell accessories earn 500% which is $5 can sustain more

or an item markup 10% but margin is $100 a piece?

or hdb can increase 10 folds in 30 years look bigger or a landed up 1 fold in 5 years?

like dividend, i give u 10% like 0.10 a year sounds great or $1 a year like 2 percent better?

for me, i think really depends value and % ,significant or not, up to individual

talking about inflation in necessities goods vs increment, i mean we spend most 90% of our salaries in necessities? if not why always say increment cannot cover inflation? LOL

Edited by Freestylers09

- stop buying expensive smartphones every year, get one smartphone that is OS-efficient. You don't need latest chips if OS is efficient.

- use only prepaid card, at home and office use wifi

- charge your phones in the office instead of home

- stop drinking sugary water at lunch, does not help your health either

- for everyday essentials like clothes, shoes, socks and underwear, buy quality but cheap ones which can last many years

- stop eating expensive prata at kopitiams and hawker centres, buy ready-made ones + curry sauce and prepare them at home. Simple and nice = costs approx 30 cents a piece after factoring in electricity, water and gas to cook

All these actions will help retailers in Singapore to sink. We don't need so many retailers in Singapore. After all, they are always complaining about difficulty in hiring workers and expensive rentals. We can help them to rationalise their businesses!

- stop buying expensive smartphones every year, get one smartphone that is OS-efficient. You don't need latest chips if OS is efficient.

- use only prepaid card, at home and office use wifi

- charge your phones in the office instead of home

- stop drinking sugary water at lunch, does not help your health either

- for everyday essentials like clothes, shoes, socks and underwear, buy quality but cheap ones which can last many years

- stop eating expensive prata at kopitiams and hawker centres, buy ready-made ones + curry sauce and prepare them at home. Simple and nice = costs approx 30 cents a piece after factoring in electricity, water and gas to cook

All these actions will help retailers in Singapore to sink. We don't need so many retailers in Singapore. After all, they are always complaining about difficulty in hiring workers and expensive rentals. We can help them to rationalise their businesses!

AND STOP BUYING 4D AND TOTO, STOP DREAMING THE MONEY ISNT URS [sly]

Why don't they ask all the kopitiam bosses to come out for interview? Then take pictures of their brand new cars while they lament abt riding rentals, rising utilities, rising raw materials, not enuff workers, etc.

Support!!

Even if the food prices increase, I think most people can afford it right? The article said most can absorb, but never mention whether they will be unhappy or not ma.

If food prices rise, I won't like it but then I can still afford it ma.

ya lor. I thought the media is accurate. I mean how much do you people spend on EVERYDAY food, not fine dining.

For me, everyday meals is a small component. The big hitters are housing and cars.

AND STOP BUYING 4D AND TOTO, STOP DREAMING THE MONEY ISNT URS

iirc..46% of gaming revenues from S-pools goes to IRAS..in actual fact these punters are indirectly helping to fund many state projects and charities..so the more they gamble the better it is for the less fortunate