Jman888 Moderator February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 (edited) Quote PA used wrong list and invited Tan Cheng Bock by mistake: Lim Swee Say Published on Feb 07, 2014 By Robin Chan The People's Association made a mistake and used an old invitation list instead of an updated one. That is how it ended up inviting and then uninviting former People's Action Party Member of Parliament and presidential candidate Dr Tan Cheng Bock to a Chinese New Year garden party. The party is an annual event for past and present grassroots leaders and this year's is taking place this Sunday evening at the Istana. That was the explanation given by Mr Lim Swee Say, the deputy chairman of the PA and labour chief, in response to media queries on Friday hours after Dr Tan posted on his Facebook page a status update on being uninvited. "It is most unfortunate that PA made the mistake of using the old list instead of the updated list. We are sorry for the error, and this is why I phoned Mr Tan and the other affected invitees personally to explain the mistake, and followed up with personal e-mails to apologise again," Mr Lim said. He added that the list of invitees is reviewed and refreshed periodically to allow a wider base of people who serve the community to attend the yearly reception. "The most recent review was conducted a few months ago. Instead of inviting all ex-advisers to grassroots organisations repeatedly for 20, 30 years or even longer, we decided to limit the list to only ex-advisers who stood down in the immediate past general election," he added. Mr Lim did not say how many invitees were affected by this mistake, or who they are. He added that he was "heartened that Mr Tan very graciously accepted my explanation over the phone" and is "surprised that he now brings this up publicly as an issue". Dr Tan's post has gathered almost 2,000 likes and more than 800 shares since it was put online on Friday morning. He told The Straits Times that he decided to write about in on Facebook because many grassroots leaders had asked if he would be attending the event. if the wrong list was use to invite many others, but to Mr Tan he should then do a personal invite to show that he is not any other ordinary people mah. Edited February 7, 2014 by Jman888 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Harlic9 1st Gear February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 its a honest mistake, lets move on... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 7, 2014 Author Share February 7, 2014 On 2/7/2014 at 7:48 AM, Jman888 said: if the wrong list was use to invite many others, but to Mr Tan he should then do a personal invite to show that he is not any other ordinary people mah. waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah.....sibei fast man! agree bro! That would be the right thing to do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 On 2/7/2014 at 5:16 AM, Turboflat4 said: I think their pettiness IS a matter of public concern. Because it speaks volumes about the kind of leaders we have, and not in a good way. Totally agree.They Like Say Swee but actually is Like Sia Suay. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 7, 2014 Author Share February 7, 2014 On 2/7/2014 at 7:52 AM, Tigerwoods said: Totally agree. They Like Say Swee but actually is Like Sia Suay. muahahaha...good one bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 In the tune of 'Unforgiven' by Metallica. Quote What I've felt, What I've known Never shined through in what I've shown. Never free. Never me. So I dub thee invited Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 On 2/7/2014 at 7:37 AM, Count-Bracula said: Count-Bracula junked Zorloh. I feel embarrassed to be a Singaporean. Why my so-called leaders so pathetically ngeow chi . . . hum hum hum. I think not only Hum but TT Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 On 2/7/2014 at 7:45 AM, RadX said: Well, it is in the ST, so looks like it affects the public...unker SOYA pls take note. Let's see the response. I give some options 1. Somebody hacked into my email acct. I dunno how that happened. Someone also impersonate me thru phone call 2. It was misread and heard wrongly. WE never meant to uninvite but rather to unveil the invites.... 3. Somebody may be giving 'his wrong interpretation of the entire event' and we all carry on with life and kpkb abt ERP, COE, LTA, yadda yadda yadda.... and still listurb porker and turbo...the 2 inseparable lubbers Maybe they do it purposely as warning to people who wants to Oppose PAP... "See this is what you get for running against us!!" Swee Say was made the fall guy in this case... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 It's not well handled in this matter and we certainly expect better from our leaders. First policy change then wrong list used. But this gentleman has been attending annually since 1980. Good to have just let him continue to attend. He is afterall a true blooded Singaporean and one who stood forth to offer his service to the nation in the Presidential election. Yet, I sincerely hope that the real reason behind the Facebook sharing is one to register his disappointment and to let his friends know that he and wifey will not be there to lohei with them. So that there will not be any speculation to his absence. Personally, who goes on the invite list is the perogative of the organisers. What went wrong was the first "invite" which should not have been extended in the first place. Sometimes, mistakes like this may seem small or petty but I suppose it does show the other side of the coin of BOTH parties too. We just need to arrive at our own personal conclusion and opinion. Haiz.... Internet and Facebook do provide much entertainment and information yet it's also a double edged sword if not used wisely. Safe ride....and one can still visit true friends and have loheis till the 15th but I suppose this has a different significance for whichever parties involved. It's not my cup of tea but it's a glass of wine to others. Cheers 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 (edited) PA in damage control mode liao.. especially we're sure that TCB is not the only one who has been 'uninvited'.. Even they use the wrong list, social protocol SOP is you don't "uninvite" a person after invitation is sent out. It look very bad on the host. Edited February 7, 2014 by Shull 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 7, 2014 Author Share February 7, 2014 AS Wat Russ says Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 All invited must wear WHITE? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 who is the host in Istana? why the host never clarify? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 Frankly, how would you feel if your friend send you an invitation to his wedding and then he called you say sorry, actually he has no intention to invite you, so please don't go. this is one of the most embarrassing thing. If I made that mistake to invite someone wrongly, I will not do what LSS did. Thus shows the kind of sincerity these people have even with their party members. And I don't buy his explanations to the public. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 On 2/7/2014 at 8:28 AM, Tigerwoods said: Frankly, how would you feel if your friend send you an invitation to his wedding and then he called you say sorry, actually he has no intention to invite you, so please don't go. i would feel "heng ah.....no need kena pay red saman". 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 On 2/7/2014 at 8:27 AM, Mcf777 said: All invited must wear WHITE? What about underwear? I'm wearing red ones throughout these 15 days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged February 7, 2014 Share February 7, 2014 Anyone who thinks it about a simple mistake is smoked. The reason given is pure bull shit. The president is no mere ceremonial post as described, it was created specifically to counter any govt that steps out of line via his veto powers, of cos It makes no diff now cos its a PAP govt and TT is a PAP man. But if its a coalition type govt or if the PAP is defeated, then the Pres can become kingmaker by making things difficult for the non-PAP govt. An independent non-PAP Pres can also make things difficult for the PAP govt. See the political implications now?? Its common sense knowledge that TCB will cream TT in a straight up 1to1 fight for the presidential seat. TCB is still very popular with the people. What if TCB decide to challenge for the next Pres election? PAP sweating ah.... So they must stop TCB from gaining any publicity, especially at the Istana. Make the public forget him. ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...