Endurance Sports = Handsome.

Ender

I have to increase my running mileage to be the handsomest guy. But my wife complain I run too much already, can't she see the change in my looks, supported by scientific study.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2551952/Study-Tour-France-cyclists-finds-good-looking-men-did-better.html

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/02/06/sports/cycling/cycling-study-says-hearts-race-with-the-riders.html?_r=0

17811454.JPG?itok=ZvESFgh_

It should be pretty clear that professional athletes are better at sports than you. It turns out, though, they may be better looking, too.

A new study of cyclists who competed in the Tour de France, generally considered one of the toughest endurance events in sports, suggests that good endurance is highly correlated with good looks.
A Swiss biologist, Erik Postma of the University of Zurich, reached this conclusion by analyzing data from cyclists who finished the 2012 Tour. He collected 80 portraits supplied by race organizers that showed the head, neck and part of the shoulders of each cyclist, all with the same kind of lighting and background. Then he created an online survey, with the portraits presented in random order.
Postma asked 816 participants to rate each portrait for attractiveness and masculinity on a scale of 1 to 5. He also gathered information on the raters’ nationality, age, level of education and sexual orientation.
To measure endurance with as much objectivity as possible, he used times from the prologue, the time trials and the complete race. None of the raters knew who won or the order of finish.
That performance and attractiveness were closely related was clear: The 10 percent of riders who performed the best in the race scored an average 25 percent higher on attractiveness than the 10 percent who performed the worst.
About three-quarters of the survey respondents were women. To see if fertile women would react differently to the pictures, Postma asked the women to report whether they used a hormonal contraceptive and, if they did not, the length of their menstrual cycle and the start date of their last period.
Postma found that the women’s level of fertility made no difference in how appealing they found the riders.
The education level of the raters was high, partly because the surveys were distributed mainly among academics. About 93 percent of the female respondents were heterosexual, as were 89 percent of the males. The raters were 32 years old on average, with a range from 14 to 73.
Some of the variation in attractiveness ratings — about 20 percent — was attributable to characteristics of the raters rather than characteristics of the cyclists. For example, older raters generally handed out higher marks than younger ones. Still, men and women generally agreed on which riders were better looking.
A rider’s nationality was irrelevant to how attractive he was found, and whether the portrait showed him smiling or straight-faced was not significant either. The study excluded any cyclist a rater recognized, to make sure the rater was judging by looks alone and not by prior knowledge of the rider.
Other experts found the study convincing. Simon P. Lailvaux, an assistant professor of biology at the University of New Orleans who has published widely on sexual selection in animals, said the work was thorough.
“With humans, there are so many potential confounding variables,” he said, “and I think he does a good job of addressing them — even accounting for the point in the menstrual cycle of the women. It makes the results complicated, but I think he did a good job of controlling for these sources of variation.”
Surprisingly, ratings of masculinity — presumably an indication of testosterone levels — did not correlate with either attractiveness or performance, suggesting that testosterone might not be as significant a factor as generally believed. And the explanation, Postma said, could lie in our evolutionary past.
“You might think masculinity would be attractive — it signals testosterone, how strong you are,” he said. “But if you try to hunt a gazelle, it might not be so important that you are strong enough to knock it out because it will run away. If you have the endurance to run after it, it might be more beneficial.”
The attractive man, in other words, would be the one with the genes for endurance, not necessarily the one with the biggest muscles.
Of course, the study reports only an average, and it does not conclude that the best-looking cyclist will always be the winner. Amaël Moinard of France was rated the most attractive rider in the study, but he finished in the middle of the field in the study’s measure of performance.
Rui Costa, a Portuguese racer, was ninth in attractiveness and 15th in the performance rating, and the Belgian cyclist Maxime Monfort was third in attractiveness and sixth in performance.
The 2012 winner, Bradley Wiggins, was not included in the analysis. He was hidden behind sunglasses in his portrait, which might have given him an unfair advantage.

Endurance is indeed very important. Premature E will lead to tension between couple and you can bet it will make you look very unattractive to your female partner.

I have to increase my running mileage to be the handsomest guy. But my wife complain I run too much already, can't she see the change in my looks, supported by scientific study.

Any wife in the world would complain, if the husband become more attractive looking and become magnet for xmm.

Real crap ...

Handsome / Good-looking men is not just only face swee swee with good features.. its more of how one feels good or confident about himself

KNN ... if endurance sports = handsome, I think all those super fit elderly people (~60 year old~) also can considered as handsome liao...

How come this is considered "endurance", unless he endures till the end then shoot his sp??!!

Can! The longer he can "hold", the better is his endurance.... [;)]

But skali hold too long it spills from somewhere else!!! Messy!!

That is part of the process......spills out and be messy.

Just like in sports, there'll be sweat spill out, and also it is messy.

That is part of the process......spills out and be messy.

Just like in sports, there'll be sweat spill out, and also it is messy.

Seems like there are similarities between sports n sex! Actually the two shouldn't mix, that's why the sportsmen always abstain from it before major competitions.

When our international SPORTSHUB opens, wonder if the nearby Geylang business should move out to Jurong??!

I everyday ENDURE traffic jam, ENDURE ERP, ENDURE haze, ENDURE speed cams and restrictive speed limits,ENDURE stupid drivers etc etc. I think I should be very good looking hor.

You are not alone, everyone of us endured the same thing as you, everyday.

So, we, together with you, are very handsome, too.

[blush]

Glad that my thread has become a 'feel good' thread. Every body can gives themselves a pad on their own shoulder here.

ENDURE = Endurance.

Thumbs up!!

Glad that my thread has become a 'feel good' thread. Every body can gives themselves a pad on their own shoulder here.

Looks like i need to clock higher mileage.