Pocus Turbocharged November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 (edited) French army can....... provided one can pass the selection phase.Pass physical test is one thing, must pass French language fluency test. For citizen whose country does not allow them to serve other armies, the legion will register you with a fake name and country. Once you serve a number of years, automatic French citizen. There were French legionaires from Asia too, Japan, Korea and Thailand to name a few. how badly can you fark up? chao geng? go DB? the type of ppl that will willingly serve NS to get citizenship, seemed unlikely to be the type that will end up in DB or something.... True. Most of the 1st gen PRs I know are actually the garang Siao on ones. I think even you go db still can get pink ic. Farkup as in very serious case like outside criminal prosecution or awol the whole year. Like that also can .. sigh. Is it illegal for Singapore citizens to serve in a foreign military service though ? I believe US military also accepts non-citizens. Yes it's illegal for SGeans to serve in other armies unless you are grant special permission from mindef. For US, not every foreigner can serve in the US forces, only close allies like Korea, Canada or even Pinoy. I think SG cannot unless green card holder. Edited November 13, 2014 by Pocus ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alpha78 6th Gear November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 Problem is I think the PR NSF were put on the spot being in this awkward position they shouldn't be in. They could have been thrown into jail or worse charged with treason - I don't what's the actual penalty in Indonesia for citizens serving in foreign military service. I believe SAF is assisting to get them back to Singapore, so that's good. Probably some amounts of kopi money... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 Yeah, but this time we happen to be doing it on their land with their people so they have jurisdiction and the authority to do something. that's why it's indo issue not us... but how come it seems to be our issue now based on the comments here Most NSFs don't really get access to any sensitive info la. you already say most.. which means word of mouth is still possible within camp mates If they get their indon citizenship revoked because of this, will SG 100% certainly and without regard for any other factors give them SG citizenship? why should SG guarantee? In life, you have to take a gamble... weigh the pro and cons and decide to go for it anot. when you change job and you tender your old job, your new job will guarantee you a job meh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 They still do this. Those that serve can get citizenship faster. One of my platoon mates did that. He is PR from China. While doing NS he got his citizenship already. But those second generation PR no choice. Its compulsory for them also. 1. Having non-citizens in our armed forces runs the risk of compromising national security unless strict rules are in place to restrict them to serve only in absolutely insensitive military roles. 2. Instead of making NS as a route leading to citizenship, why not use fulfillment of authentic, substantive community service instead for the purpose? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 No issue for you and me. For the NSF, he has little recourse. Maybe better if the NSF has an option to take up citizenship before going for NS ? Or at least they don't send them to their home country knowing that they may be detained for breaking the law there. It's like a Singaporean run away from NS, chow to US, then one day the US government send him to Singapore to work in the embassy .. also quite strange right ? recourse? siao bo.... then when we put our life at risk during NS.. what is our recourse for my family if something happened to me? strange is singapore allow the person to work for US embassy in SG. but what so strange on US part if they deem him fit for the job? thats why the indo are making noise which is understandable but i don't see why SAF need to cater specially for this 2 person lor 1. Having non-citizens in our armed forces runs the risk of compromising national security unless strict rules are in place to restrict them to serve only in absolutely insensitive military roles. 2. Instead of making NS as a route leading to citizenship, why not use fulfillment of authentic, substantive community service instead for the purpose? for no.2, then the peng kia will be unhappy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 i doubt there has been any case of PR being denied citizenship even after serving NS. even if got, i think its the very rare exception rather than the norm. how many cases in the last 10 yrs? Here is one japanese dude : http://news.asiaone.com/News/The+New+Paper/Story/A1Story20101108-246249.html Here is one malaysian dude : http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2685329-did-ns-but-unable-to-get-citizenship-or-pr/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 Here is one japanese dude : http://news.asiaone.com/News/The+New+Paper/Story/A1Story20101108-246249.html Here is one malaysian dude : http://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2685329-did-ns-but-unable-to-get-citizenship-or-pr/ lol yeah. i remember. but all resolved in the end with happy ending right? it only happened because they themselves took things for granted and did not complete the procedures to get citizenship. NOT the govt deny citizenship despite serving NS. 2 very different things. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 recourse? siao bo.... then when we put our life at risk during NS.. what is our recourse for my family if something happened to me? strange is singapore allow the person to work for US embassy in SG. but what so strange on US part if they deem him fit for the job? thats why the indo are making noise which is understandable but i don't see why SAF need to cater specially for this 2 person lor for no.2, then the peng kia will be unhappy Peng kias? If community service includes volunteering in garbage collection, clearing of public toilets, construction / maintenance work for hospitals, old folks homes, driving public buses, etc, if they complain, so be it. LOL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 Peng kias? If community service includes volunteering in garbage collection, clearing of public toilets, construction / maintenance work for hospitals, old folks homes, driving public buses, etc, if they complain, so be it. LOL you seem to want to demean them more than asking them do community service leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 1. Having non-citizens in our armed forces runs the risk of compromising national security unless strict rules are in place to restrict them to serve only in absolutely insensitive military roles. 2. Instead of making NS as a route leading to citizenship, why not use fulfillment of authentic, substantive community service instead for the purpose? But wouldn't this further contradict with naysayer's complain on FT with the famous phrase "Jobs for FTs, NS for Sinkies"? Now add PR into the equation is like a big slap to ourselves. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 (edited) But wouldn't this further contradict with naysayer's complain on FT with the famous phrase "Jobs for FTs, NS for Sinkies"? Now add PR into the equation is like a big slap to ourselves. Refering to jobs in community service which are not paying jobs, but volunteered. These a jobs not attractive to too many locals looking for jobs which pay. Edited November 13, 2014 by Super7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 you seem to want to demean them more than asking them do community service leh If they feel this way so be it. Please dont put words into others' mouth thank you. Are you saying these jobs are not respectable? Of course you are entiltled to your own opinion, worthy or otherwise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 By that same logic, our aircraft based in SG is also like pointing a machine gun next to Batam's head? In any case, wouldn't you say they were vindicated when they caught SG aircraft flying around in their airspace without permission? The two events can co-exist but the intrusion doesnt look like one with ill-intention. Do you feel our armed forces are set up to threaten our neighbours, or to defend ourselves just in case? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 If I Indonesian minister of defense, sure detained the 2 Indonesians NSF and charge them for treason Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged November 13, 2014 Share November 13, 2014 If I Indonesian minister of defense, sure detained the 2 Indonesians NSF and charge them for treason Based on? http://www.mole.my/content/indonesia-president-rapped-over-hardline-defence-minister Indonesia's reformist new president Joko Widodo has come under fire for appointing a hardline ex-general as defence minister, with activists saying Wednesday it marks a step backwards for human rights. Widodo, the country's first leader from outside the political and military elites, surprised observers by naming former army chief of staff, Ryamizard Ryacudu, to his cabinet at the weekend. Activists have alleged that abuses took place during his leadership of military operations to quash separatist groups in Aceh, on western Sumatra island, and in the eastern region of Papua. In 2003, he was criticised for praising a group of soldiers who had been jailed for killing a Papuan pro-independence leader as "heroes". "There is a pessimism that he will respect human rights," said Al Araf of prominent rights group Imparsial. John M. Miller from the East Timor and Indonesia Action Network added: "The appointment of a hardliner like Ryamizard Ryacudu tells us that President Widodo is not serious about promoting human rights or reaching out to Papua." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear November 14, 2014 Share November 14, 2014 Based on? http://www.mole.my/content/indonesia-president-rapped-over-hardline-defence-minister Indonesia's reformist new president Joko Widodo has come under fire for appointing a hardline ex-general as defence minister, with activists saying Wednesday it marks a step backwards for human rights. Widodo, the country's first leader from outside the political and military elites, surprised observers by naming former army chief of staff, Ryamizard Ryacudu, to his cabinet at the weekend. Activists have alleged that abuses took place during his leadership of military operations to quash separatist groups in Aceh, on western Sumatra island, and in the eastern region of Papua. In 2003, he was criticised for praising a group of soldiers who had been jailed for killing a Papuan pro-independence leader as "heroes". "There is a pessimism that he will respect human rights," said Al Araf of prominent rights group Imparsial. John M. Miller from the East Timor and Indonesia Action Network added: "The appointment of a hardliner like Ryamizard Ryacudu tells us that President Widodo is not serious about promoting human rights or reaching out to Papua." not to forget during 98, capital flight of borrowed money from collapsed Indonesian banks to Singapore, we refused to sign a extradition with them for the longest of time ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...