PTC announces fare review/increase!

Darthrevan

On 1/18/2014 at 2:10 PM, Kiadaw said:

When I was in Secondary school. It took about 1 hour for me to get to school (& back), including walking about 1km. I never see an issue, my school mates also never complained as well.

But maybe times are different now, with the enrichment cousre and all. However bus were not usually crowded to be fair then.

I remember the same for my childhood, it is really walk and bus and walk, so the conclusion is public transport system has not really improved significantly in the last 20 years? Maybe it has gotten worse for some, with all the crowd, and you are right, life is definitely not as slow moving as before for kids these days.

On 1/18/2014 at 4:35 AM, Picanto said:

the head of PTC i think is a rich man, and i believe he does not take public transport as well. is he able to understand the 'sufferings' of the common man?

He is a accountant. Read that his father was involved in setup of 'Community Chest'. Both father & son are doing good work - one is working for people's welfare while the other is working for shareholder's welfare

Edited by Christan

On 1/18/2014 at 12:41 PM, Voodooman said:

My son takes approximately 50 mins to 1 hour to get from home to school in the morning (inclusive of waiting time and involving 2 different bus services), a journey covering a distance of around 7.3km in super packed buses, this is about as fast as my weekly run (I can probably beat that time in a good day).

My wife or me drive him to school, it takes 15 mins, and I add on to the traffic.

Singapore public transport system has a lot of rooms for improvement or maybe my expectation are too high. All I know is if you are poor, you got to suck it as the privatized public transport system (with little competition) has really no incentive to shorten my son's journey to say, a more reasonable 30 mins? Maybe my case is unique.

Well, a typical journey from point to point in Singapore is usually around an hour, inclusive of waiting for buses, trains etc... It has been so as long as I remember...

For those who lived before there was MRT, getting out to another estate, usually involves 1) walking down your block to the nearest bus-stop, 2) waiting for 10-15 minutes for the feeder bus, 3) and another 10-20 minutes as it makes its way around the estate to the town centre.

From there, walk for another 4) 5-10 minutes to the inter town, or city bus bay, and 5) wait another 5- 20 minutes. 6) The journey usually takes about 20-45 minutes, depending on where your destination is, hop off, and 7) walk to your destination

Even with the arrival of MRT, I doubt there is much changes to this routine, except the need to change trains, or if one lives near the MRT, lope 20-30 minutes off your travel time.

Add points 1-7, there you have, the total travel time you have to wind back your alarm clock.

Better let your child get used to this, least he demands you get him a car, or he can't get to school or enrichment classes.

Of course, you can mention this poor routing between your home and destination to your local MP, and see if there is sufficient demand to request for the route, but your kid probably would have already graduated.

For such a distance, I would think cycling is the best form of transport within Singapore

On 1/19/2014 at 6:52 AM, Sturtles said:

Well, a typical journey from point to point in Singapore is usually around an hour, inclusive of waiting for buses, trains etc... It has been so as long as I remember...

For those who lived before there was MRT, getting out to another estate, usually involves 1) walking down your block to the nearest bus-stop, 2) waiting for 10-15 minutes for the feeder bus, 3) and another 10-20 minutes as it makes its way around the estate to the town centre.

From there, walk for another 4) 5-10 minutes to the inter town, or city bus bay, and 5) wait another 5- 20 minutes. 6) The journey usually takes about 20-45 minutes, depending on where your destination is, hop off, and 7) walk to your destination

Even with the arrival of MRT, I doubt there is much changes to this routine, except the need to change trains, or if one lives near the MRT, lope 20-30 minutes off your travel time.

Add points 1-7, there you have, the total travel time you have to wind back your alarm clock.

Better let your child get used to this, least he demands you get him a car, or he can't get to school or enrichment classes.

Of course, you can mention this poor routing between your home and destination to your local MP, and see if there is sufficient demand to request for the route, but your kid probably would have already graduated.

For such a distance, I would think cycling is the best form of transport within Singapore

Yeah, almost an hour for a 7.3 km journey (8 km/h), everyday he spends close to 2 hours on transport, if we are not sending him. I supposed that is still ok for school kids but it does take away time for study and play. Fact is it is probably faster to jog to school, that is certainly not world class by any benchmark.

No, I will never allow him to cycle to school, not with our road culture.

pix from TRS - sembawang station

Jurong East also got train fault? JE is not on NS line leh

29xsn4x.jpg

1016383_702290546482782_108155764_n.jpg

edmw people say today amk also kena

end up ask an empty train to push away the broken down train

all the people in the stations north of amk all kena [laugh]

coe high, wanna take bus take mrt, but whole day breakdown wor

On 1/20/2014 at 12:49 AM, Wt_know said:

pix from TRS - sembawang station

Jurong East also got train fault? JE is not on NS line leh

29xsn4x.jpg

1016383_702290546482782_108155764_n.jpg

On 1/20/2014 at 1:44 AM, Mustank said:

edmw people say today amk also kena

end up ask an empty train to push away the broken down train

all the people in the stations north of amk all kena [laugh]

coe high, wanna take bus take mrt, but whole day breakdown wor

They are very optimistic in their announcement. 20mins delay. I thinking...wo nyay boh?

some colleagues just arrived office.

stuck about 45mins or so

On 1/20/2014 at 1:50 AM, Watwheels said:

They are very optimistic in their announcement. 20mins delay. I thinking...wo nyay boh?

somebody should stay calm, hip siong and upload [laugh]

their estimation no beri good, 3 of my colleagues stuck at Yishun/Yio Chu Kang for 45mins or longer.

aberthen ... if they announced the delay is 30-45mins ... ho say liao ...

On 1/20/2014 at 1:57 AM, Toothiewabbit said:

their estimation no beri good, 3 of my colleagues stuck at Yishun/Yio Chu Kang for 45mins or longer.

On 1/20/2014 at 2:02 AM, Wt_know said:

aberthen ... if they announced the delay is 30-45mins ... ho say liao ...

http://ride.asiaone.com/news/general/story/train-fault-ns-line-causes-20-mins-delay-during-morning-rush-hour

Train fault on NS line causes massive delay during morning rush hour
train.jpg
check-big.png
AsiaOne | Monday, Jan 20, 2014

SINGAPORE - There is at least a 20 minute delay in southbound train services from Sembwang to Marina Bay MRT stations since 8.18am.

SMRT said in a statement on their Facebook page that the delay is due to a signal fault near Ang Mo Kio station.

A contributor to AsiaOne at Yio Chu Kang station reported of long queues and a lack of announcements.

Another contributor told AsiaOne that a 10 minutes delay was initially broadcasted to passengers at Bishan MRT station.

This delay was later extended to 20 minutes in a later announcement.

Passengers were advised to take the bus or circle line if they were heading to town.

Users posting on SMRT's Facebook page complained of being delayed for more than 45 minutes.

SMRT also said that free bus bridging are available.

On 1/20/2014 at 2:22 AM, Mustank said:

http://ride.asiaone.com/news/general/story/train-fault-ns-line-causes-20-mins-delay-during-morning-rush-hour

Train fault on NS line causes massive delay during morning rush hour
train.jpg
check-big.png
AsiaOne | Monday, Jan 20, 2014

SINGAPORE - There is at least a 20 minute delay in southbound train services from Sembwang to Marina Bay MRT stations since 8.18am.

SMRT said in a statement on their Facebook page that the delay is due to a signal fault near Ang Mo Kio station.

A contributor to AsiaOne at Yio Chu Kang station reported of long queues and a lack of announcements.

Another contributor told AsiaOne that a 10 minutes delay was initially broadcasted to passengers at Bishan MRT station.

This delay was later extended to 20 minutes in a later announcement.

Passengers were advised to take the bus or circle line if they were heading to town.

Users posting on SMRT's Facebook page complained of being delayed for more than 45 minutes.

SMRT also said that free bus bridging are available.

TKYS, toa kang yao siu.

sg.yahoo chop chop headline liao

delay as long as 90-minute

i wonder what would be the "penalty" this time

20jijo8.jpg

On 1/20/2014 at 3:13 AM, Wt_know said:

sg.yahoo chop chop headline liao

delay as long as 90-minute

i wonder what would be the "penalty" this time

20jijo8.jpg

If mrt never sue yahoo, I will take yahoo version as truth

So mrt, if not true, pls sue yahoo [laugh]

Edited by Mustank

On 1/20/2014 at 3:22 AM, Mustank said:

If mrt never sue yahoo, I will take yahoo version as truth

So mrt, if not true, pls sue yahoo [laugh]

See lah ? Fare not increased enough, that's why break down.

Need to increase more fare.

Just like ERP increase to reduce congestion.

On 1/20/2014 at 3:36 AM, Kb27 said:

See lah ? Fare not increased enough, that's why break down.

Need to increase more fare.

Just like ERP increase to reduce congestion.

see!!! i told you all better buy fleshlight rite!!! [laugh]

don say bro mustank no share ah:

average $15 can get one xml torchlight liao

http://list.tmall.com/search_product.htm?spm=a220m.1000858.1000724.4.fR5o5W&q=GOREAD&sort=pd&style=g&active=1#J_Filter

Blackout hits Outram MRT station: MRT commuters use phones as flashlights
Posted on 20 January 2014
blackmain_1.jpg

A blackout hit parts of Outram Park MRT station this morning (Jan 20), and commuters made their way through the station in relative darkness with some using their phones to light the way.

Several STOMPers were among the commuters that were affected by the blackout.

STOMPer lokolalu says:

"Part of Outrum Park's underpass went dark with no lights.

"Commuters had to use their phone's flash to walk around."

STOMPer Panda2708 wrote:

"Underground link between East West Line and North East Line experienced a blackout early in the morning.

"MRT staff seen holding torches and standing at different parts of the walkway.

Another STOMPer who was at Outram Park MRT station added:

"I was on the way to work and going to change trains to the green line when I encountered a blackout at Outram MRT station.

"Some parts of the station were hit by the blackout."