PTC announces fare review/increase!

Darthrevan

On 1/17/2014 at 2:00 PM, TVT said:

Then find a home-based job that relates to porn, eg. write an review on a porn movie, etc. [:p]

This will be my dream job!!! But where to find it?? will sgp be the Hollywood of porn since gambling, a more harmful industry is now the blue eye boy of our leaders, av will be the angelic industry compared with gambling.

On 1/17/2014 at 4:06 AM, Vid said:

Work at home. No need transport fees [scholar]

Sounds good. Save money on proper office clothing also, just wear underwear at home to do work!!!

On 1/17/2014 at 2:31 PM, Super7 said:

Sounds good. Save money on proper office clothing also, just wear underwear at home to do work!!!

Ya. Actually there's a lot of good with working at home. Saves a lot of money and do not have to squeeze and jam with people out there. Flexible working hours. Problem is not many people has the self control to do it. Many end up sleeping, slacking or simply masturbating over porn [sly][rolleyes]

On 1/17/2014 at 2:00 PM, TVT said:

Then find a home-based job that relates to porn, eg. write an review on a porn movie, etc. [:p]

[thumbsup] That's a mighty good idea! [idea] Wonder if they need a degree holder for that? [scholar]

On 1/17/2014 at 3:06 PM, Vid said:

1. Ya. Actually there's a lot of good with working at home. Saves a lot of money and do not have to squeeze and jam with people out there. Flexible working hours. Problem is not many people has the self control to do it. Many end up sleeping, slacking or simply masturbating over porn [sly][rolleyes]

2. [thumbsup] That's a mighty good idea! [idea] Wonder if they need a degree holder for that? [scholar]

2. No need, no need degree or diploma. Just a testimony from mcf confirming his tiko status will do!!!

1. To overcome lack of self control, install a 24hrs webcam linked to boss's laptop!!!

On 1/17/2014 at 1:32 PM, Bystander50 said:

Additional includes your fans or aircon.

Then if you decided to switch on your tv or radio.

All these adds up.

Phone will depend on individual. I wouldn't be calling my vendors or suppliers with my home number, at least I can get some peace if I switched off my mobile.

agree. + you use your own water and flushing system, drink and wash your cups using your own water.

Nowadays, most house has no sunlight, must switch on lights in the day.

On 1/17/2014 at 1:06 AM, Super7 said:

Maybe to support tired cyclists, buses should have a "bikes deck" at the rear end, like a pickup? Tired cyclists can load their bikes on the deck like putting them on the rear of a pickup?

The horse must have dumped all his shiit on the seat till today no one can clean up his shiit properly. TOO MUCH SHIIT to clean up!! That's why!!!

Sorry i should clarify, its a motorbike not bicycle haha.

On 1/17/2014 at 11:17 PM, Nullifi3d said:

Sorry i should clarify, its a motorbike not bicycle haha.

No worries.

In fact motorbikes are a form of private transport which takes up much less road space than cars! Good use of public roads!

On 1/16/2014 at 10:06 AM, Mcf777 said:

Heng ah.

If govt dont inject money,we will be paying 40 to 60cents.

Stop complaining.

But the company making money every year leh......still need govt funds and increase transport fees ?

the head of PTC i think is a rich man, and i believe he does not take public transport as well. is he able to understand the 'sufferings' of the common man?

On 1/17/2014 at 4:08 PM, Kangadrool said:

agree. + you use your own water and flushing system, drink and wash your cups using your own water.

Nowadays, most house has no sunlight, must switch on lights in the day.

You're right.

Till then, Internet usage will go by meter, in SG, whichever option we go, we'll be trapped.

Electricity charges will increase to make up for the losses.

Maybe till then they'll introduce a Work at home tax because our HDB flats are not registered to conduct business.

On 1/18/2014 at 5:08 AM, Bystander50 said:

You're right.

Till then, Internet usage will go by meter, in SG, whichever option we go, we'll be trapped.

Electricity charges will increase to make up for the losses.

Maybe till then they'll introduce a Work at home tax because our HDB flats are not registered to conduct business.

Go MacNornal there work, free aircon, free toilet! Free views of xmms somemore. Wifey can't sukak sukak ask you go do errands

On 1/16/2014 at 11:40 PM, RadX said:

i agree with all hands and legs up/.

i senior citizen and i need free transport. i vote you to take over tuck you ok? then you no need take free cuppon from me. [grin][grin][grin]

Say the reach, must do the reach. (Can say must can do!)

Free coupon please!! Hahaha.. I duwan be Tpt minister... Wait Tuck You out, he Tuck Me!

On 1/17/2014 at 12:39 AM, Bystander50 said:

The reduction of profits is simply due to poor management. In such high poplulation density SG, the general public relies on both mode of transport. Ridership is definitely increasing, buses and trains are fully packed. This already contributes to increasing revenue.

Thing about increasing revenue is that it does not always co-relate to an increasing profit. While we think in similar ways, we cannot forget, our passport is by Singapore Inc.. The "republic" word is means "repossess from public".. Once we think that way, the fare hikes and everything else becomes easy to explain.

On 1/17/2014 at 7:44 AM, Matoonia said:

I feel the unlimited travel pass at $120 is quite reasonable. 1 visit to the petrol station I am alrdy paying $120 liao.

If I'm not driving, I will definitely get it. No need keep topping up and can take all you want with transport costs capped at fixed $120. But must resist taking taxi lah.

I would say that yeah, $120 for unlimited travel in Singapore for a month is reasonable. If I take public transport to work and back, it'll cost me about $3.60 a day, so about $80 a month... That's not including my travelling after work to meet friends, on weekends, and all those. So I'll spend about that amount. Potential problem I see is when people pay for an unlimited pass, (Singaporeans) they'll want to utilise it to the max, so there will be more people just hopping on trains and buses for the sake of it.

On 1/16/2014 at 9:12 AM, Darthrevan said:

The national wage increase is likely to be close to 5 per cent, he said.

I really have serious doubt about the above.

I think 120bucks for unlimited pass is not bad. I would buy it if I took public transport ion Singapore.

I do not think Public transport is as bad as some people made it out to be. What they need to do, is to tackle the overcrowding in trains & buses, but obviously, this is the toughest.

Converting many roads to tram rails can help a lot in the city area, like many Europe cities. But of course this means less roads for driver. But I think the comfort & conveniences of the majority should not be compromised for the minority of people driving within city.

$120 adult travel pass not cheaper option, say 60% polled

Six out of every 10 commuters say they will not get the new $120 monthly adult travel pass that is being introduced in April, because they do not spend that much on public transport.

Fifty-eight of the 100 commuters polled yesterday by The Straits Times said they spend between $50 and $110 a month, as they make only return trips from home to office on weekdays and travel little on weekends.

Many suggested that the pass, which gives unlimited bus and train rides, be priced at $100 or less, so that it can cater to average public transport users too.

Ms Phoebe Teo, 36, who does hotel valuations and goes to the Central Business District from her East Coast home, said the pass did not make sense as she spends at most $100 a month.

On 1/17/2014 at 8:40 AM, Hamburger said:

if nationalize, garment need to explain, very mafan.

now that its privatize, garment need no explanation as they cant intervene. Win liao lor.....

In 1986, before transport were privatized, garmen promised that these private companies would not be allowed to profit at the expense of the people. Don believe? See here

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/%5B1986-news%5D-fares-will-kept-low-possible-4545238.html

But later what happened? Now say need to raise fare because bus company financially ailing wor

Majulah pap!!!!!! [rolleyes]

On 1/18/2014 at 10:04 AM, Kiadaw said:

I do not think Public transport is as bad as some people made it out to be. What they need to do, is to tackle the overcrowding in trains & buses, but obviously, this is the toughest.

My son takes approximately 50 mins to 1 hour to get from home to school in the morning (inclusive of waiting time and involving 2 different bus services), a journey covering a distance of around 7.3km in super packed buses, this is about as fast as my weekly run (I can probably beat that time in a good day).

My wife or me drive him to school, it takes 15 mins, and I add on to the traffic.

Singapore public transport system has a lot of rooms for improvement or maybe my expectation are too high. All I know is if you are poor, you got to suck it as the privatized public transport system (with little competition) has really no incentive to shorten my son's journey to say, a more reasonable 30 mins? Maybe my case is unique.

Edited by Voodooman

On 1/18/2014 at 12:41 PM, Voodooman said:

My son takes approximately 50 mins to 1 hour to get from home to school in the morning (inclusive of waiting time and involving 2 different bus services), a journey covering a distance of around 7.3km in super packed buses, this is about as fast as my weekly run (I can probably beat that time in a good day).

My wife or me drive him to school, it takes 15 mins, and I add on to the traffic.

Singapore public transport system has a lot of rooms for improvement or maybe my expectation are too high. All I know is if you are poor, you got to suck it as the privatized public transport system (with little competition) has really no incentive to shorten my son's journey to say, a more reasonable 30 mins? Maybe my case is unique.

When I was in Secondary school. It took about 1 hour for me to get to school (& back), including walking about 1km. I never see an issue, my school mates also never complained as well.

But maybe times are different now, with the enrichment cousre and all. However bus were not usually crowded to be fair then.

Edited by Kiadaw