Yewheng Twincharged January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 Actually I find that this fare adjustment do benefit certain group of people. Like those still studying in poly, now pay the same concession rate as students. Then for adult who need to travel long distance everyday or travel a lot, concession of $120 per month could actually be a cost savings for them. Also the limit to the train ride for concession is taken off, so in a sense do benefit some especially student who take train many times etc.. plus the benefit for disabled person not that bad... ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 On 1/16/2014 at 12:50 PM, Viceroymenthol said: Not happy then walk lor. Or ride bicycle lor. Nobody ask you take bus or MRT what. Kow peh. did I kow peh? seriously I do walk or bike as much as I can around my neighbourhood Bus Mrt Walk to/from work Do you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 so far no one cares for the ground workers of buses and trains,eg bus drivers,train operators and such. with their salaries are they able to survive.......with a family? hopefully they will be clear as to where the increased margin goes to as responsible organizations. clear on their workers' welfare and if reliability has improved. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nullifi3d 4th Gear January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 Perfect timing. I'm about to start riding my bike to work again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 On 1/16/2014 at 1:30 PM, Eviilusion said: just a bit more change....hope Sgian wake up from their daydream and vote more alternatives to the cabinet. One more grc would be nice though! Let's hope so... let's hope so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 (edited) On 1/16/2014 at 12:00 PM, Watwheels said: I think when open mob soldiers should be given free train/bus rides to camp. please hor area ic go to missing NS men home to tell them mob also on own transport expense recce the NS men home addresses in the list also own transport expense hor needless to say I don't do all that NS men missing just say go back and report "don't know" MR loh! Edited January 16, 2014 by Enye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 On 1/16/2014 at 1:30 PM, Eviilusion said: just a bit more change....hope Sgian wake up from their daydream and vote more alternatives to the cabinet. One more grc would be nice though! already forecasted by some of our members...no suprise there! Marine Parade, East Coast, Joo Chiat, Potong Pasir....gogogo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 On 1/16/2014 at 12:50 PM, Viceroymenthol said: Not happy then walk lor. Or ride bicycle lor. Nobody ask you take bus or MRT what. Kow peh. Yalor, later someone will ask those who complaint, to choose walk, bicycle or bus/mrt??..hehehe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger1 6th Gear January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 Teo boh, teo boh? Told you soooo many times liao... Nvr ever adk govt for help. Once they learn that you need help, they help you with 10cents, sure take back 20 one. Sooner or later nia.. See.. Dun believe. Ask some more la... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assaxefour 1st Gear January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 don't spend time complaining. spend time make more money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 I figured quite a while ago..... That instead of getting unhappy about fare hikes, profit from it... Not likely that trains are getting not crowded.. So.. Buy SMRT share.. The more crowded, the better the dividend.. And fare hike benefits the company. If take bus, buy comfortdelgro.. I see this fare hike thing, my immediate thought is not happy.. But when I think about my stocks, quite glad.. Then.. My office parking is expensive.. Then I realize that landlord is Hong Kong Land... Then I also buy HKLand shares to help offset my unhappy thoughts a little.. When dividend come or got some capital appreciation, tell myself I got discount on season parking.. Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asher 1st Gear January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 (edited) I thought this is a good point raised. Btw, who is Quah Wee Lai? He or she is the biggest individual SMRT shares holder with 3,600,000 shares.... and not surprisingly, Temasek owns half of SMRT ... http://www.allsingaporestuff.com/article/2014-fare-hike-shame-you-singaporean-smrt-shareholders 2014 Fare Hike: Shame on you Singaporean SMRT Shareholders! Published by farhan on Thu, 16 Jan 2014 09:14:56 PM On this fateful day 16 Jan 2014, the Public Transport Council or PTC announced a fare increase of 3.2 per cent on train and bus fares from April 6 this year. Adult card fares for buses and trains will go up by 4 to 6 cents per journey. Senior citizens will pay 2 to 3 cents more per journey, while students pay 2 cents more. Cash fares for train and adult bus rides will go up by 20 cents per trip, while senior citizen and student concessionary cash fares for bus rides will increase by 10 cents per trip. Because of this unpopular fare hike, Singaporeans have taken to Minister Lui's Facebook to vent their frustration. Most Singaporeans chastised Lui Tuck Yew as being out of touch with the common Singaporean man and felt that the justification of the fare hike being lower than the average wage increase (6.6%) was unconvincing. Especially so when Singaporeans can hardly feel the 6.6% average wage increase with the sky rocketing inflation in Singapore! But apart from Lui Tuck Yew's role in increasing the financial burden onto regular Singaporeans, there is another guilty party which is responsible for this outrageous move! They are the Singaporeans shareholders of SMRT Corporation! They are the ones SMRT answer to and SMRT is obliged to pay them dividends year on year! This is where the fare increase in going to, to sustain profit levels and to pay cash dividends to these Singaporean shareholders! Besides putting pressure on Transport Minister Lui, we need to pick out these blood sucking Singaporeans who are apathetic to the plight of regular working class Singaporeans and constantly profiteering at our expense! These are the people who turn a blind eye to the suffering and hardship of Singaporeans so long they get their company dividends year after year! If you know any Singaporean friends who own SMRT shares, please urge them to do the right thing and stop partaking in this blood sucking exercise! Not every Singaporean is born with a silver spoon in the mouth and all Singaporeans deserve to have a quality standard of living and without having such onerous fare hikes stuff down our throats! Singaporeans should stop cannibalizing fellow Singaporeans! A Pissed Off Singaporean Edited January 16, 2014 by Asher Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 On 1/16/2014 at 9:23 AM, Dafansu said: CHANGES TO BUS/TRAIN FARES New monthly unlimited travel pass for Adults and PRs - S$120 New monthly unlimited travel pass for Senior Citizens - S$60 Children below seven years old - FREE Polytechnic students - same monthly concession pass prices as secondary, junior college and ITE students. Prices down by between 44 and 47 per cent NSF - prices lowered to the same price as university students Adult fares - up by 4 to 6 cents Low-income workers - 15 per cent discount Persons with disabilities - 25 per cent discount. Not have to pay additional fares for distances beyond 7.2 kilometres. from what i can see, the increase in fares is to subsidise the old, poor and students Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 On 1/16/2014 at 9:23 AM, Knoobie said: I cannot understand why the raise of fare includes senior citizen too.. Seriously.. hopeless.. IMHO, senior citizens should be either given free travels (but heavy penalties for those using the senior citizen ezlink card if they're not rightful owner), or at least, free travels at certain time, and a token sum for travels during peak time (to reduce senior citizens who are just milling about to add additional load to the transport system at peak periods). Only for Singapore citizens.. On 1/16/2014 at 11:51 AM, Bystander50 said: NSFs and reservists (in uniform) should be given free travel. They are the people protecting the assets of these transport companies and ultimately giving them the opportunity to raise fares. Too bad I've RODed, if not in times of unrests where I'm called upon, I'll surely negotiate with these transport companies for a sum of $$$ to defend their assets. Peace time they benefit, war time, soldiers should benefit from it. NSFs, agreed, reservist (during ICT) not so, because we're still given make up pay. Just careful who you negotiate with. No point negotiating with the station managers or bus captains. They don't make these decisions. IMHO, I'm not complaining too much about the fare hike. Just reduce the breakdowns and track faults. Before 2011, it wasn't that common, and I was taking public transport way more at that time. Now, seems like every week or every other week, something is happening to the MRT lines... Make sure the damn system is working before raising the rates, stupid ministry! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 16, 2014 Share January 16, 2014 On 1/16/2014 at 6:05 PM, Hydrocarbon said: IMHO, senior citizens should be either given free travels (but heavy penalties for those using the senior citizen ezlink card if they're not rightful owner), or at least, free travels at certain time, and a token sum for travels during peak time (to reduce senior citizens who are just milling about to add additional load to the transport system at peak periods). Only for Singapore citizens.. i agree with all hands and legs up/. i senior citizen and i need free transport. i vote you to take over tuck you ok? then you no need take free cuppon from me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 17, 2014 Share January 17, 2014 Why can't they give free travel to all HANDICAP on wheelchair or walking aid (not those with walking stick) ? KNN..... how many handicap peoples in SG.. Every year in & year out asking public for donation through charity shows or selling 'flag'. Why can't this big transport companies give free travels to do their part in donations to the handicaps... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear January 17, 2014 Share January 17, 2014 On 1/16/2014 at 1:24 PM, Strat said: CNA reports fare hikes received positive response wor: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/new-transport-fare/956432.html CNA of course will want you to hear and watch the right thing. What makes you think that those interviewed are not from a pool of pre-selected positive responders? I was once stopped for an interview, the assistant or whatever you call it will first ask if you're interested, then prep you with the questions. Everything can be skewed to your desired response. If you read around the forums or the coffeeshop talks, see if CNA's report represents the majority or minority. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 17, 2014 Share January 17, 2014 Still got ppls watch CNA meh ...... 90% good news, 5% so so news and the other 5% oversea bad news... I watch the CNA Tues conversation 'Live' with panels for the first 3 series and then gave up watching. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...