M'sian Bikes Purposely Hiding in Car's Blindspot?

Ah_Zai

Anyone observed this as well? I notice some M'sian bikers (purposely?) like to tailgate cars and positioned themselves in the driver's blindspot. What is strange is that the roads surrounding the bikers are clear. Logically, they can just zoom off easily but they choose to hide in driver's blindspot.

Is there something more sinister going on?

Anyone observed this as well? I notice some M'sian bikers (purposely?) like to tailgate cars and positioned themselves in the driver's blindspot. What is strange is that the roads surrounding the bikers are clear. Logically, they can just zoom off easily but they choose to hide in driver's blindspot.

Just last week, I nearly run down a malaysia registered bike because of this. Bike was traveling at my left blind spot. I was turning left (lane is go straight or turn left).

Just what is wrong with these bikers?

Ummm, so do they like to tailgate or do they like to position themselves in the blindspots?

Two different places leh.

Both are happening. But the positioning of themselves in the blindspot is more sinister I feel.

Sorry I didn't state clearly. I forgot to drink coffee today.

Edited by Ah_Zai

i asked my biker friend the same question. he doesn't know the answer either.

i'm thinking of this...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drafting_(aerodynamics)

Drafting (aerodynamics)
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Drafting or slipstreaming is a technique where two vehicles or other moving objects are caused to align in a close group reducing the overall effect of drag due to exploiting the lead object's slipstream. Especially when high speeds are involved, as in motor racing and cycling, drafting can significantly reduce the paceline's average energy expenditure required to maintain a certain speed and can also slightly reduce the energy expenditure of the lead vehicle or object.

440px-Tour_de_france_2005_15th_stage_mt_

Edited by Jellandross

I also kena before....

I was travelling on AYE toward the split between ECP and CTE...I was on second lane and going to ECP. It was in the morning about 6+. Road quite empty... In order to go ECP, I have to filter to 3rd lane... I signaled my intention... check blind spot... see nothing... but heard motorbike noise... I slowed down and turned my body to check the surround... see nothing...

So I bo hiew... filter to 3rd lane... then the stupid motorist honked... he sped up beside me and point middle finger... and then off he went to CTE... yes, Malaysia bike...

I was thinking... when i signal my intend... why did he still following me at the blind spot... lucky his bike is lousily loud... or else, I buang him liao...

Tailgate

- They hide in your slipstream to either save petrol or reduce their exposure to the wind and cold

- They are also idiots. Those that tailgate big buses and trucks on the NSH, at night, less than 1m from the bumper, are very stupid idiots.

- They might also be simple idiots who don't understand/never learnt the concept of safe following distance, or just think they're supermen.

Hide in blindspots

- They are simple idiots who don't understand/never learnt the concept of blindspots around vehicles, or just think they're supermen.

Remember most of these m'sian riders don't have any proper education in road safety and their license is pay money to buy type. Even some of those riding big bikes. Heck, some of those riding big bikes up in KL don't even have any license. Same goes for the small bikes I guess.

Simi blindspot simi following distance?

Edited by Myxilplix
  • Dislike 1

hide in blind spot...ride like a hell rider and die like a hell rider.

msian drivers sop for those rider that buang is just run them over instead of siaming them.

I buang him liao...

u mean "langgar"? buang is to throw away

May be you look like the SQ girl in your avatar. [gorgeous] ..they want to bio you zhao geng lah... [laugh]

Edited by LoverofCar

Every time when I drive on BKE, there will be some Malaysian registered motorbike hiding at my car's blind spot so therefore I will always make sure I check my rear passenger window before I change lane.

I doubt there is anything sinister. Just ty like to play like TP who hide in cars blindspot.

Afterall ty dun hv anything to gain cos if u bang them, ty wil fly or die even.

Anyway I adjust my mirrors so there is hardly any blindspot for me.

As a rider for some time, I also dun understand the rational of them doing this. Do they do this on NSH? Less affected by crosswinds? [speechless]

I also kena before....

I was travelling on AYE toward the split between ECP and CTE...I was on second lane and going to ECP. It was in the morning about 6+. Road quite empty... In order to go ECP, I have to filter to 3rd lane... I signaled my intention... check blind spot... see nothing... but heard motorbike noise... I slowed down and turned my body to check the surround... see nothing...

So I bo hiew... filter to 3rd lane... then the stupid motorist honked... he sped up beside me and point middle finger... and then off he went to CTE... yes, Malaysia bike...

I was thinking... when i signal my intend... why did he still following me at the blind spot... lucky his bike is lousily loud... or else, I buang him liao...

I kana 1 time at night time around 10+ at AYE Jurong..best they never on the headlight and at the blind spot somemore..really don't know what to say..lucky that time i in time to jam my brake and honked at him as he go pass me...

As a rider for some time, I also dun understand the rational of them doing this. Do they do this on NSH? Less affected by crosswinds? [speechless]

It's not the crosswinds, it's the slipstream. I've come across a kup kia tailgating a container truck on nsh at 2am. His front tire was less than half a meter from the trailer and the trailer lights were dim enough that even if he hit the brakes I doubt the kup rider would notice. Also seen this being done being those big buses in the middle of the night.

You can sometimes see 3-4 rempits doing it as well, slipstreaming each other but I guess they're doing it for more speed. Sometimes when I'm riding on nsh I slow down and let them tag along behind me for awhile, give them a bit of a tow. But only if it's clear up ahead. They love to do this especially when heading back after watching the MotoGP race, all got the speeding mood.

It's not the crosswinds, it's the slipstream. I've come across a kup kia tailgating a container truck on nsh at 2am. His front tire was less than half a meter from the trailer and the trailer lights were dim enough that even if he hit the brakes I doubt the kup rider would notice. Also seen this being done being those big buses in the middle of the night.

You can sometimes see 3-4 rempits doing it as well, slipstreaming each other but I guess they're doing it for more speed. Sometimes when I'm riding on nsh I slow down and let them tag along behind me for awhile, give them a bit of a tow. But only if it's clear up ahead. They love to do this especially when heading back after watching the MotoGP race, all got the speeding mood.

Because with slip stream, less headwind?

Less head wind on the rider's body = require less energy from the body and hands to hold, thus less tiring?