valdez January 12, 2014 Author Share January 12, 2014 I bought my 5yrs old E60 with 56k mileage now almost 110k at 9yrs mark. Car is problem free but minor wear and tear still got to do. My most expensive repair is $1.5k for the active steering rack. Others include air con compressor, alternator, brake disc/pads. Repair the fault and all is good, just have to take care of her and she'll serve you well Thanks for the important information bro will take all of it in mind. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
valdez January 12, 2014 Author Share January 12, 2014 Ohh no offense to T2 ah, only from what i know bmw isnt as reliable as merc and lexus in long term I think it all depends on the driver, whether he maintain the car or his style of driving in particularly how heavy footed he is. In my point of view mechanically wise I am new to Bimmers but in terms of style & looks 06 Mercs and Lexus models a bit ah pek for me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
valdez January 12, 2014 Author Share January 12, 2014 Bro you should... My buddy an average Joe in his 40's driving a 7yrs old Nissan Sunny still waiting for his pretty beau to appear. He always said pretty beau will not bother about cars, just a car can move can impress. It's been a decade and he's still waiting..... Many babes did came and then go... Haha if babes who go for branded cars can ask them to be FATA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 (edited) I think it all depends on the driver, whether he maintain the car or his style of driving in particularly how heavy footed he is. In my point of view mechanically wise I am new to Bimmers but in terms of style & looks 06 Mercs and Lexus models a bit ah pek for me Yes only the recent merc look cool For lexus always look like ah pek And true driving style affect alot, if keep on whacking sure easily spoil esp brake pad finish (i drove my audi last time and @40k change one that comment alone will stir up some s.hit Oops hope he wont see this Actually you are wrong lah Really bmw better than merc and lexus in term of reliability? From what i know bmw is a good driving machine but reliability has yet proven to be better than the rivals Edited January 12, 2014 by Thaiyotakamli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achee 4th Gear January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 Offering at $35000, sometimes the pricing make ppl worries too... Very cheap. At this price you ought to be worry unless the seller is your friend Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 Yes only the recent merc look cool For lexus always look like ah pek And true driving style affect alot, if keep on whacking sure easily spoil esp brake pad finish (i drove my audi last time and @40k change one Oops hope he wont see this Really bmw better than merc and lexus in term of reliability? From what i know bmw is a good driving machine but reliability has yet proven to be better than the rivals BMWs are just as reliable as Merc and Lexus. Just that their parts need to be replaced sooner. Whether because of scheduled/planned obsolescence or the way BMW drivers drive their cars. All cars need parts replacement sooner or later. Lexus maybe fall into the later category. But that doesn't mean Lexus are more reliable. At the end of 10 years, I think both a BMW and a Lexus will have more or less equal number of parts replaced. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 Offering at $35000, sometimes the pricing make ppl worries too... Whats the OMV? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 (edited) Thanks for the important information bro will take all of it in mind. Check the gearbox. Car lynching forward after stopping pretty common issue. Solenoid, valve body problem, luckily mine so far so good as I did ATF change every 50k mileage but I think can be repaired cheap in JB. Check bmw-sg forum, lots of info advice from gurus. Looking forward towards end of COE end of this year for my E60, will be looking at a pre-own close to 5yrs old F10 in 2015, just hope sellers don't ask $20k per year depreciation then which is what current 2010 F10 asking now Edited January 12, 2014 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 Very cheap. At this price you ought to be worry unless the seller is your friend Even my friend also worry lol cos he can sell at any dealer at that price or higher Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achee 4th Gear January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 Even my friend also worry lol cos he can sell at any dealer at that price or higher You are certainly very well versed with E90 prices Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 Check the gearbox. Car lynching forward after stopping pretty common issue. Solenoid, valve body problem, luckily mine so far so good as I did ATF change every 50k mileage but I think can be repaired cheap in JB. Check bmw-sg forum, lots of info advice from gurus. Looking forward towards end of COE end of this year for my E60, will be looking at a pre-own close to 5yrs old F10 in 2015, just hope sellers don't ask $20k per year depreciation then which is what current 2010 F10 asking now $20k per year for which one? F10 523i? Siao lah... And still got people buy? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amazon777 3rd Gear January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 (edited) $20k per year for which one? F10 523i? Siao lah... And still got people buy? Brand new F10 523i in 2010 was $186k. I almost bought but later chicken out as got new born kid. It's easily $250k now before discount for a brand new one. Asking $20k yearly depreciation or slightly less in today's high COE environment for a used current model is pretty much there Edited January 12, 2014 by Amazon777 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thaiyotakamli Supersonic January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 You are certainly very well versed with E90 prices Simi well verse? Open sg carmart answer come out liao lol Brand new F10 523i in 2010 was $186k. I almost bought but later chicken out as got new born kid. It's easily $250k now before discount for a brand new one. Asking $20k yearly depreciation or slightly less in today's high COE environment for a used current model is pretty much there Bought E250 in 2010 and it cost me 190-200k that time and now new 260k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 (edited) Very cheap. At this price you ought to be worry unless the seller is your friend I also think the price is too low. My friend just bought a 320i last week which left 22mths. I view the car with her. 1 owner and only 63k+ mileage, with PML endorsement letter. Service and parts changed record. Paid for $43k. Edited January 12, 2014 by Tohto Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
valdez January 12, 2014 Author Share January 12, 2014 Very cheap. At this price you ought to be worry unless the seller is your friend The bad part is he's not my friend it's recommended by a previous car dealer, how to confirm that the car's mileage is genuine if it's not fully serviced and maintained by PML, like wear and tear parts like tyres, brake pads, battery replacement. I know there's no definitely time when to have these parts replaced, just needed a some guidelines Registered in Feb 2006 with only 80000km++ mileage is really kinda fishy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic January 12, 2014 Share January 12, 2014 The bad part is he's not my friend it's recommended by a previous car dealer, how to confirm that the car's mileage is genuine if it's not fully serviced and maintained by PML, like wear and tear parts like tyres, brake pads, battery replacement. I know there's no definitely time when to have these parts replaced, just needed a some guidelines Registered in Feb 2006 with only 80000km++ mileage is really kinda fishy. Tyre, brake pad & battery are least concerned. You need to be concerned for GB, any oil leak issues. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
valdez January 12, 2014 Author Share January 12, 2014 Just drive to R2D and get Rod check your car He will tell you what to repair or replace Nice Pro Guy Hi bro you have the address and contact no for R2D? How much do they charged usually? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
valdez January 12, 2014 Author Share January 12, 2014 Tyre, brake pad & battery are least concerned. You need to be concerned for GB, any oil leak issues. I came across to know that for certain cars not just BMW, it's possible to trace back the original mileage even when the mileage has been tampered, but not for E90. Just want to learn more on how to spot a fake/tampered mileage via parts and components, the worst which I could imagined is that the mileage is not genuine and the owner did do a major servicing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...