Darthrevan Supercharged January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 The US became a hotspot for visual treats this week, when the record shattering polar vortex saw Hell freeze over, turned boiling water into snow and even froze the Niagara Falls in its tracks - quite literally. These images show the US side of the three waterfalls straddling the border between Canada and America after they were frozen in time by the Arctic chills. In these pictures taken on Wednesday the water can be seen after it has been replaced by icicles dangling from its precipice. The Midwest of America, home to the Niagara Falls, has experienced temperatures plummeting as low as -37C. Yet the freezing weather failed to deter visitors eager to see the falls in the midst of the polar vortex, which affected approximately 240 million people. Tourists were out in force with their cameras yesterday at the Prospect Point at Niagara Falls State Park and Rainbow Bridge, where frozen mist and solid ice was clearly visible. The weather conditions produced by this polar vortex have been so severe that even polar bears at the Lincoln Park zoo in Chicago were brought inside as the mercury dropped to a record low of -26C. Residents were warned their skin may freeze if they leave their homes when wind and Central Park broke a 118-year-old record when the temperature dropped to -15C. But people in the US and southern Canada can look forward to a reprieve from the subzero conditions later this week, when the frigid air and polar vortex departs and a far-reaching January thaw begins, AccuWeather.com have predicted. Source: http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/niagara-falls-frozen-in-time-by-polar-vortex-9048837.html ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Camrysfa Turbocharged January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 Not sure abt the term "polar vortex" - I just know that the falls turn to ice every year. -10 or -50, it is still ice? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 Not sure abt the term "polar vortex" - I just know that the falls turn to ice every year. -10 or -50, it is still ice? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 So cold their cameras still work meh? hahaha.... Must be keeping it warm using their own body heat. Maybe kiap between the armpits. LoL... I ever encounter my camera froze. I think it was under 10C. I have to keep it working by hiding it in my body. Quickly snap a few shots and put it back under my body. Quite an experience. LoL... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 Polar Vertex is like a Tonardo. The cold air from Arctic moved down South, but instead of flowing down normally, it turned like a vortex, hence the cold air cannot escape. When it finally let go, it spread out like a ripple, sending cold air over a massive area. Something like that. The Polar Vertex is also believed, to disturb Alantic current, forcing warm moist air to the other side of Altantic, resulting in unusually warm Winter in central Europe. With the Vortex softening, Continental cold Air normally expected in Winter from the East, from Russia is expect to return pushing the Atlantic current out, & bring Winter weather back. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 I just hope you chose the right bodily orifice to hide the camera, although I've no idea whether there is even a right one. It sounds painful. So cold their cameras still work meh? hahaha.... Must be keeping it warm using their own body heat. Maybe kiap between the armpits. LoL... I ever encounter my camera froze. I think it was under 10C. I have to keep it working by hiding it in my body. Quickly snap a few shots and put it back under my body. Quite an experience. LoL... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 having to take off gloves to snap pictures is more troublesome for me. Anyway, I use compact cameras, not like you guys, so its never a real issue. Its only problem when I use SLR. I always hang my camera on my neck (beauty of compact), & under my jacket when I am not taking pictures. I amgoing one step further now, to buy a phone with a good camera, & call it a day. haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 having to take off gloves to snap pictures is more troublesome for me. Anyway, I use compact cameras, not like you guys, so its never a real issue. Its only problem when I use SLR. I always hang my camera on my neck (beauty of compact), & under my jacket when I am not taking pictures. I amgoing one step further now, to buy a phone with a good camera, & call it a day. haha. Lumia 1020? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiadaw 6th Gear January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 Lumia 1020? Thats one of the consideration, but I do not like the plastic look. I heard the sucessor coming in Feburary will have Aluminium finish, I am waiting for that one. Anyway, i am still using Iphone 3GS. :p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 See it Live here. (note that our night is their day time) http://www.earthcam.com/canada/niagarafalls/?cam=niagarafalls_str Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear January 10, 2014 Share January 10, 2014 calamities all falls on to USA....hoseh lah!!!!!!!.....hope big big asteroids drop on them too..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 10, 2014 Share January 10, 2014 calamities all falls on to USA....hoseh lah!!!!!!!.....hope big big asteroids drop on them too..... looks like the movie The day after tomorrow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 10, 2014 Share January 10, 2014 calamities all falls on to USA....hoseh lah!!!!!!!.....hope big big asteroids drop on them too.....u siao har...like that we will miss Walking Dead, American Pickers, NCIS, Deadly Catch and others!calamities all falls on to USA....hoseh lah!!!!!!!.....hope big big asteroids drop on them too.....Nice also them bad also them! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear January 10, 2014 Share January 10, 2014 looks like the movie The day after tomorrow [sweatdrop] i need the girl inside the movie to keep me warm. i feel cold now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 10, 2014 Share January 10, 2014 I feel cold now too. Its -1 degreesC here. Its snowing in the bright sunshine. But with white snow covering everything(look out for open drains), it beautiful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear January 10, 2014 Share January 10, 2014 Hrrrrr.....i dont see anything wrong lei. Bad things happening to bad people. Perfectly normal.............lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Actan72 5th Gear January 10, 2014 Share January 10, 2014 Reminds me of a show "THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 10, 2014 Share January 10, 2014 looks like the movie The day after tomorrow [sweatdrop] This is only the begining. Maybe god sent US the signal ..... Just imagine, every year it getting worst and worst till one year, its will be like 'The Day After Tomorrow' ... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...