SAF Colonel only fined $6,000 for traffic accident

missmarigold

lan jiao lah like that, 6k fine is not even one third of his monthly salary...assuming his ku lui gang is 20k.....which is highly unlikely......

In previous discussions elsewhere, there are ppl who suggested the amount of traffic fines should be proportionate to the income of the culprit: say a % of his income or networth to make the pains sufficiently high that he will remember it.

For example, what's 6k to a multi-millionaire, while a mere 600 could mean a lot to a person earning 1000 monthly?

Actually it could happen to anyone. I mean, sometimes pedestrian also just don't care anyhow cross the road. Worst is when they wear dark clothing at night plus raining. Driver not careful, which happen to be at wrong place at wrong time, maybe that so unlucky and hit onto the pedestrian. I am not trying to side the colonel, but sometimes things happen, it is very difficult to say who is at fault. Who wants to meet into such accident anyway??

Elderly persons' family members who live together with them can take some precautions:

Make the old folks wear something bright if they go out at nite. Better still, wear a blinking belt / cap / shoes etc used by cyclists at night

Btw I used to brand those uncles who wear white pants/shoes or colour shirt as lao-hiao, but come to think of it such dressings are safer on the road if they are walking or crossing.

ok ok, 不管最后判决是否公平, 他绝对是一个双手沾满血腥的杀人凶手!

永远都背负着杀人凶手的罪名!!

(死未)

Edited by Nightkids

no. Col tan kar thiam. he is from Armour.

hip hip hooray, all hail the Colonel Knight.

;-)

when it rains, I tot auto alert for chiongsters (jay runners) especially in HDB areas. Drivers should be fitted for this enemy detection device. Also known as forward planning.

Elderly Bo chap lor, 'can die better lor'. Dangerous pedestrians.

I think he should have had a driver if he was so busy. His fault actually, why never get MT line Best Driver for his use?

Should post him to Afghanistan for three years. If can come back, promote to General. No need suspend licence. At least can get a chance to recover his honor or ... trying.

commando Lau 'assassinate' Colonel.

敢死队。

ok ok, 不管最后判决是否公平, 他绝对是一个双手沾满血腥的杀人凶手!

永远都背负着杀人凶手的罪名!!

(死未)

Did he show remorse?

Will he loose his job?

Maybe he believed he is innocent?

from media report.....

Tan could have been jailed for up to two years and/or fined for causing death by committing a negligent act.

After his conviction, he read out a prepared statement, saying he was disappointed and discouraged.

"My only regret was that I did not equip myself well during my early testimony. I did not handle my emotions well, and I let two years of frustration get the better of me," he said.

Did he show remorse?

Will he loose his job?

Maybe he believed he is innocent?

from media report.....

Tan could have been jailed for up to two years and/or fined for causing death by committing a negligent act.

After his conviction, he read out a prepared statement, saying he was disappointed and discouraged.

"My only regret was that I did not equip myself well during my early testimony. I did not handle my emotions well, and I let two years of frustration get the better of me," he said.

Probably he feels that he's innocent?!

This reminds me to fix the car cam I bought last year to my windscreen instead of leaving it in the cupboard. The video wilł tell the true story of my innocence in an accident, assuming I m indeed innocent.

In any case, usually the law will side the party that suffered severe grievious loss. The penalty needs to be more than a slap on the wrist relative to the impact caused. And in SG, if they take out the hw code & check ur papers, they will already prove that driver is aware how he is "suppose" to drive. And the onus will be on the party with more power. Superheroes ? With great powers come greater responsibilities.

But its a sad case. Yck is along road & not that well litted. Speed limit 70? That means by typical sin driver standard, speed should be easily 80+.

As for the driver, it could have happen to ne1 of us. All it takes is a tiring day, caught up with thoughts at work, drift into the music...

btw, was it ever mentioned what car he driving?

Couldn't be Lexus, because he didn't say cannot hear sound as defence.

Anyone can exprain the difference between a good lookout and a better lookout?

Defence statements reading at below :

A good lookout is to drive with car head lights "ON" :huh:

A better lookout is to pull lights control level to "high beam" flashing car front to see slightly further for obstacles [shocked]

Judge says: Concur with defence reasonable facts, me too ! [drivingcar] drive like that everyday. Case closing and conclude with " COURT FIND S$6,000 for the day " [:p]

Edited by Fongmy

Actually it could happen to anyone. I mean, sometimes pedestrian also just don't care anyhow cross the road. Worst is when they wear dark clothing at night plus raining. Driver not careful, which happen to be at wrong place at wrong time, maybe that so unlucky and hit onto the pedestrian. I am not trying to side the colonel, but sometimes things happen, it is very difficult to say who is at fault. Who wants to meet into such accident anyway??

Dont mean to make racist remark but.....a few times when approaching filter lane with zebra, some are not that well litted, when paired with other factors, I only realized their presence when they look at me, presumeably angry at why I am not slowing down.....

So I really take xtra care when approaching filter lanes when its a little dark. Another prob is that my old Getz, doesnt have that triangular small window panel ( not sure whats the correct name) beside my wing mirrors. On more than 1 occasion, I checked see no 1, suddenly appear I slam brake. Or my wife wonder why I never slow down & warn me.

So these days when making turns I need to look over that before & after that panel.

Dont mean to make racist remark but.....a few times when approaching filter lane with zebra, some are not that well litted, when paired with other factors, I only realized their presence when they look at me, presumeably angry at why I am not slowing down.....

So I really take xtra care when approaching filter lanes when its a little dark. Another prob is that my old Getz, doesnt have that triangular small window panel ( not sure whats the correct name) beside my wing mirrors. On more than 1 occasion, I checked see no 1, suddenly appear I slam brake. Or my wife wonder why I never slow down & warn me.

So these days when making turns I need to look over that before & after that panel.

Another problem (a man-made one) is that many pedestrian crossings in the slip roads are poorly lit, or not lit at all!! Anyone, regardless of race, wearing dark clothing crossing it will be very hard to be seen until its quite / too late for the drivers going towards the crossing. I guess one of LTA's KPIs may be to use as few street lamps as possible at these crossings!!!

+ if they are cycling ...... [shakehead][shakehead]

recipe for disaster....

As per Riding Theory test for 2B, wear bright clothing at night.

Maybe we need a 2C for cycling on the road ...motorised or not with the same DIPs.

Then for this class perhaps can follow the old days where min age is 16yrs.

Edited by Baal

+ if they are cycling ...... [shakehead][shakehead]

recipe for disaster....

As per Riding Theory test for 2B, wear bright clothing at night.

Maybe we need a 2C for cycling on the road ...motorised or not with the same DIPs.

Then for this class perhaps can follow the old days where min age is 16yrs.

Yes, for the cheapo, at least hang a few CDs to reflect on coming cars' headligths!!!

But they crossing the zebra and is perpendicular how to hang CDs ?

They are smart ppl, and know how to hang the CDs to the side of their bikes, or their shoulders/hips!!

Don't underestimate them hor..... [grin]

They are smart ppl, and know how to hang the CDs to the side of their bikes, or their shoulders/hips!!

Don't underestimate them hor..... [grin]

Like that I must apologize for my elitist holier than thou statement.... [:p]

LOL, not easy to be an elite hor, first must pass their oral exams, and then pay license fee to be an elite.... you got both? [grin]

bor lor.....if have the latter wont be ranting & ranting on coe liao....dunno to :D or [bigcry]