Gen Y shun hawker centres?

Scion

I don't think it's a question of got money. It's about not eating in a peasant environment which paints you as a peasant.

Jialat liao.

Me and my family are peasants......

Yes, please ask them don't go.

So I have more seats at old airport road, 85 bedok, etc hawker centres.

That's what I was thinking too, haa!

My weekday lunch daily is $3 fish soup + 30 cents rice.

Top up with Teh-C xiu xiu tai.

Si beh boring lunch day-in day-out.

Im as peasant as it gets...........lol.

I avoid hawker food as much as possible as I am preparing most of my own meals.

But once a week, I must have my fish ball, mee pok ta.

Agree with some of the comments, its the up brining of the kids by the parents. All my nieces and nephews (10+yrs old) all enjoy makan at hawker center, especially the one at old airport road..

I love eating in restaurants,

living in a condo and driving a car.

I must be a Gen Y.

I would love it even more if only someone

else was paying for all the above.

When young ladies ask me how old I am,

I always knock a few years off, actually I

knock a lot of years off.

But based on the above criteria, I am not being

dishonest, I really qualify to be Gen Y.

[:)]

I heard Gen Y are very lazy and like the maid to do everything for them

I am very lazy and like the maid to do everything for me.

I heard Gen Y only want to be manager and want to tell people what to do

I am a manager and tell people what to do.

I heard Gen Y like to take nice holidays and only like to stay in nice hotels

I like to take nice holidays and only like to stay in nice hotels

I heard Gen Y never like to work and only like to play smart phone and surf internet

I never like to work and only like to play smart phone and surf internet especially MCF

By every definition I am Gen Y so I must be Gen Y

I also heard Gen Y don't like to be criticised and corrected

so please don't criticise and correct me.

I heard Gen Y are very lazy and like the maid to do everything for them

I am very lazy and like the maid to do everything for me.

I heard Gen Y only want to be manager and want to tell people what to do

I am a manager and tell people what to do.

I heard Gen Y like to take nice holidays and only like to stay in nice hotels

I like to take nice holidays and only like to stay in nice hotels

I heard Gen Y never like to work and only like to play smart phone and surf internet

I never like to work and only like to play smart phone and surf internet especially MCF

By every definition I am Gen Y so I must be Gen Y

I also heard Gen Y don't like to be criticised and corrected

so please don't criticise and correct me.

ok we get it, you are Gen Y, Generation of Yesteryear.

Aiyah, not all gen Y like how the article describe lah..

I fully agree with you gor gor. I also dun like how they protray young Gen Y people like us.

They always make us look so bad.

I avoid hawker food as much as possible as I am preparing most of my own meals.

But once a week, I must have my fish ball, mee pok ta.

Agree with some of the comments, its the upbringing of the kids by the parents. All my nieces and nephews (10+yrs old) all enjoy makan at hawker center, especially the one at old airport road..

Agreed that it's the attitude of the parents and how they raised the kids. If the kids are spoiled brats, who raised them? Don't blame the maid or the grandparents, the responsibility should lie with the parents.

Parents who claim otherwise are just shirking responsibility. Doesn't matter rich or poor, parents always have to be responsible for their children.

Agreed that it's the attitude of the parents and how they raised the kids. If the kids are spoiled brats, who raised them? Don't blame the maid or the grandparents, the responsibility should lie with the parents.

Parents who claim otherwise are just shirking responsibility. Doesn't matter rich or poor, parents always have to be responsible for their children.

While I agree that parents should be responsible for their children, I do not agree that parents are always responsible for their children when they become adults (i.e. have a job) or until the parents die.

It breeds a generation of children who cannot stand on their own two feet, an entitlement and belief that one is privileged, and unable to survive (even with a job) without mummy or daddy subsidising their life styles. [shakehead]

Edited by Mason016

I love eating in restaurants,

living in a condo and driving a car.

I must be a Gen Y.

I would love it even more if only someone

else was paying for all the above.

When young ladies ask me how old I am,

I always knock a few years off, actually I

knock a lot of years off.

But based on the above criteria, I am not being

dishonest, I really qualify to be Gen Y.

[:)]

hahaha...not gen y but cat y....maybe cat z or above!

The foundation years of a person's basic values and behaviours are the first few years of his life and who else but his parents are responsible for it?

My weekday lunch daily is $3 fish soup + 30 cents rice.

Top up with Teh-C xiu xiu tai.

Si beh boring lunch day-in day-out.

Im as peasant as it gets...........lol.

Your meal is quite enjoyble what? no? [grin]

While I agree that parents should be responsible for their children, I do not agree that parents are always responsible for their children when they become adults (i.e. have a job) or until the parents die.

It breeds a generation of children who cannot stand on their own two feet, an entitlement and belief that one is privileged, and unable to survive (even with a job) without mummy or daddy subsidising their life styles. [shakehead]

Obviously, once the children become adults, they should be able to think for themselves and be responsible for themselves, else, how are they going to be able to replicate themselves in a decent manner?

However, like what MG said below, foundation is important. What happens in the first few years of a child's life has profound impact on their development in the future.

If you mentioned an entitlement mentality or a privileged mentality, who is the one who instilled that in them in the first place? They will need a few years of working experience to unlearn those bad habits, and hopefully, not instill THEM in their own kids..

The foundation years of a person's basic values and behaviours are the first few years of his life and who else but his parents are responsible for it?

I think some grandparents must blame. Have to see the situation, I've seen many grandparents shielding the kids from their parents when they are being discipline.

The author of the article is only 19 years old. I don't know how many Gen Y's she interviewed, but for sure it's a biase article.