Siewss 1st Gear January 8, 2014 Author Share January 8, 2014 Many shops will not be open, roads will be jammed and congestion expected from both ends of the customs. Why take risk to having such inconveniences when you know its going to be there waiting for you. I'm prepared to take the risk. Of course I'd still like to travel during the lull period Start at 2am, sure reach KL by 4:30 or latest 5am. Swee swee time to drive into the city, get to hotel, park car and hv breakfast. Then hv a massage and sleep the rest of the day..... If I decide to leave early, it should be around 5am, close to my routine revelry of 5.45am. At least I won't feel zonky throughout the trip. I should arrive by 7.30am, in time for breakfast CNY eve whole day till midnight will be very jam, worker rushing home, load and load of buses heading up north. Those with family here and kampong in Malaysia will also rush in after reunion dinner. 1st day of CNY may not be jam at custom, but NSHW sure jam as people travel interstate for visiting or go back home town. Agree that NSHW will be jammed. So looks like wee hour driving is the better proposition 20 years ago if you visit malacca, you will see dead town, no food no entertainment no shopping. but the kampongs are busy and people playing firecracker. Now you go in on 1st day, everything as per normal and flooded with cars from Singapore and KL. Singaporeans seem to have an affinity for Malacca. But I guess the proximity, and the availability of food, entertainment, shopping makes it an attractive destination. KL, on the other hand, is relatively quiet on weekends. 1.30am to 4.30am (latest) to clear custom traffic jam start to build up at 5am past 6am ... expect 2+ hours jam ... likely longer This is good info. Thanks for sharing ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear January 8, 2014 Author Share January 8, 2014 sian then.. mine is a manual car.. so dread jams the most. it will be another experience for me.. especially dark road in NSHW.. but armed with HID ... anyone else going ipoh? i be heading alor star & thai borders too, initially wanted to drive to langkawi but heard in law tagging along.. so NO i be staying the boring town for a week.. High beam makes a whole lot of difference to night driving along NSHW and Route 3. On NSHW, you can perpetually stay on high-beam the worse car to be in when jam is auto tranny, not manual. If you feel it's manual, you're operating it incorrectly. I'm also on manual transmission and the clutch is very heavy. Definitely don't look forward to crawling traffic, like last weekend through Woodlands customs. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 8, 2014 Share January 8, 2014 (edited) if you drive at 2-3am on nshw with highbeam ... is like spore night race a long road ahead which is clear and bright ... it's like you own the road 110 > 120 > 140 > 160kmph and faster ... it's addictive but must be very very very careful a bump, a stone, a dead animal that might cause you sudden swerve steering could lead to serious accident Edited January 8, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear January 8, 2014 Author Share January 8, 2014 KL during CNY? The better restaurants will be closed, are you planning a resort stay? Any interesting idea to share? I was thinking of Tanjoing Jara (just go there to rot) but the long journey and possibly bad weather deter me. Anyone know if Midvalley will be opened on 1st day of CNY? I have come to notice that KL is comparatively quiet on weekends, contrary to Malacca which has gotten buzzy and congested with road and human traffic. I'll likely stay at the latest hotel, The Aloft, that's still on promotional rates and they are located next to KL Sentral, which is one train stop away from midvalley and Chinatown. They have an infinity pool at the top floor, very much like MBS. Don't plan to do much, except movies, lazying around the pool, some shopping, and generally chilling out. Tanjong Jara will be nice. Are they offering attractive Hong Bao rates? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 8, 2014 Share January 8, 2014 KL during CNY? The better restaurants will be closed, are you planning a resort stay? Any interesting idea to share? I was thinking of Tanjoing Jara (just go there to rot) but the long journey and possibly bad weather deter me. Anyone know if Midvalley will be opened on 1st day of CNY? Was at Tanjong Jara just after Chinese New Year 3 years ago. I love the place but hate the infrastructure. YTL marketed it as a luxury resort but the infra is 3 star at best. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged January 8, 2014 Share January 8, 2014 On NSHW, you can perpetually stay on high-beam Unless you are following another vehicle ....... Was at Tanjong Jara just after Chinese New Year 3 years ago. I love the place but hate the infrastructure. YTL marketed it as a luxury resort but the infra is 3 star at best. Really? It is very expensive to stay a night at T Jara leh....you sure its at 3 star only ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 I don't think the eve afternoon onwards will be jam at Causeway. Cos those wanting to rush back hometown would have done so the day before or on the eve morning. Many companies and factories also do not open on the eve itself. But the eve morning, and the day before the eve (29/1) would be jam. 1st day of CNY usually not jam at Customs. But 2nd day onwards it might be... many company still operates half day on the eve.. so sure jam in the afternoon too. this will be the first time driving up to ipoh during CNY. i be driving on the 1st lunar day, hopefully.. jams will be eased. Do plan enough rest stops. High beam makes a whole lot of difference to night driving along NSHW and Route 3. On NSHW, you can perpetually stay on high-beam Glaring!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 sure, thanks. the first time from ipoh to jb, i had 4 stops in total, every hour for toilet, smoking break. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 High beam makes a whole lot of difference to night driving along NSHW and Route 3. On NSHW, you can perpetually stay on high-beam I'm also on manual transmission and the clutch is very heavy. Definitely don't look forward to crawling traffic, like last weekend through Woodlands customs. You can, but it's damn inconvenient, rude and dangerous for all the drivers around you!! Please remember, the basic guide is that if you can see another cars brake lights, he can see your high beams in the rear and side view - and it is blardy dazzling. There are times when I've needed to adjust my side view mirrors because of drivers like you, and of course I then have problems seeing if there is anything coming from behind. Please spare a thought for the drivers around you. Not to mention those coming from the other direction!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 I have come to notice that KL is comparatively quiet on weekends, contrary to Malacca which has gotten buzzy and congested with road and human traffic. I'll likely stay at the latest hotel, The Aloft, that's still on promotional rates and they are located next to KL Sentral, which is one train stop away from midvalley and Chinatown. They have an infinity pool at the top floor, very much like MBS. Don't plan to do much, except movies, lazying around the pool, some shopping, and generally chilling out. Tanjong Jara will be nice. Are they offering attractive Hong Bao rates? KL Sentral is a convenient location if you want to cover Mid Valley and Bukit Bintang at the same time, I took the train to Bukit Bintang for my massage (Liang Xin at Wisma Bukit Bintang) the last time I stayed at KL Sentral. If you have time, try it, it is clean, nice ambience and the masseurs are generally quite skillful. Can bring the older kids along as well. Aloft looks nice and rates are attractive. I was looking at Gardens Residences at Mid Valley but undecided on the CNY trip yet, just need a good place to chill and relax. Tanjong Jara still has the resident full board package, not cheap but acceptable, but noone in the family is keen to get into the car for the 7-8 hours drive on the first or second day of CNY, so plan likely to be aborted. Was looking at Club Med, Cherating, super duper expensive during CNY. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 Was at Tanjong Jara just after Chinese New Year 3 years ago. I love the place but hate the infrastructure. YTL marketed it as a luxury resort but the infra is 3 star at best. I was there once, we love the room. They renovated the resort recently, I heard. Your standard very high lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 I was there once, we love the room. They renovated the resort recently, I heard. Your standard very high lah. The rooms weren't renovated when I was there in 2011. Do you like Chef Ann's cooking? Her butter prawns were superb! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 Something which I noticed no one mentioned. Observed the signage for x-winds, especially at night where signage is hard to spot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 Not to mention those coming from the other direction!! It won't glare the opposite side if driving on NSH, due to the wide center divider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 Some parts yes, some parts no - mostly it is ok, but should still take care... It won't glare the opposite side if driving on NSH, due to the wide center divider. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Siewss 1st Gear January 9, 2014 Author Share January 9, 2014 KL Sentral is a convenient location if you want to cover Mid Valley and Bukit Bintang at the same time, I took the train to Bukit Bintang for my massage (Liang Xin at Wisma Bukit Bintang) the last time I stayed at KL Sentral. If you have time, try it, it is clean, nice ambience and the masseurs are generally quite skillful. Can bring the older kids along as well. Aloft looks nice and rates are attractive. I was looking at Gardens Residences at Mid Valley but undecided on the CNY trip yet, just need a good place to chill and relax. Tanjong Jara still has the resident full board package, not cheap but acceptable, but noone in the family is keen to get into the car for the 7-8 hours drive on the first or second day of CNY, so plan likely to be aborted. Was looking at Club Med, Cherating, super duper expensive during CNY. Good recommendation, except there's a high likelihood it'll be closed for the festive season. I had my fill of massage during our Bali trip in Dec. 7 hours drive is a real deterrent, more so for the passengers than the driver. I'm also finding it a challenge to persuade my family to join me for extended car rides. Now that you mentioned Club Med, maybe I should try heading up the east coast instead. Try Aloft - it's a really funky hotel, and the services are tip top. The rooms weren't renovated when I was there in 2011. Do you like Chef Ann's cooking? Her butter prawns were superb! I like the room, but I got to say the upkeep of the surroundings needs work. But I've come to expect this of Malaysian resorts, even for 5-starred YTL resorts. This said, I certainly don't mind paying Tanjung Jara another visit, if I can get the right rates. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged January 10, 2014 Share January 10, 2014 Trip from Singapore to KL or Ipoh (depart and alight at SINGLE Location) on CNY eve (30.Jan.2014) early morning at afforable price. Only 3 persons from Singapore to KL or Ipoh (Single Location). Interested, pls contact Mr Lee at email [email protected]. First come first serve. haha, very idea. was thinking of doing the same thing as well.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic January 10, 2014 Share January 10, 2014 The rooms weren't renovated when I was there in 2011. Do you like Chef Ann's cooking? Her butter prawns were superb! Yeah, even simple food like keropok lelok tastes great at this resort. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...