Hansumgoku 2nd Gear January 7, 2014 Share January 7, 2014 he really live to long ripe age liao, can go in peace. his descendants no need to worry about money anyways ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear January 7, 2014 Share January 7, 2014 On 1/7/2014 at 9:08 AM, Hansumgoku said: he really live to long ripe age liao, can go in peace. his descendants no need to worry about money anyways cannot say like that. when you have money you must seek for more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic January 7, 2014 Share January 7, 2014 On 1/7/2014 at 2:50 AM, Picnic06 said: So we will have more Amy Yip in making ..... Then as the new boss the will take the lead? Leading role and piak all barely legal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged January 7, 2014 Share January 7, 2014 I simply love those Shaw martial art movies from the '70s with stars like Ti Lung, David Chiang, Luo Lie, Chen Kuan Tai, Yueh Hwa, Ku Feng, Wang Lung Wei, Alexander Fu Sheng, Gordon Liu, Kara Hui, Chen Pei Pei and many more..... RIP Sir Run Run Shaw. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic January 7, 2014 Share January 7, 2014 (edited) On 1/7/2014 at 2:03 AM, Jman888 said: I don't understand why the media prefer to use the word "DIE" nowadays? RIP, Sir Run Run Shaw. Edited January 7, 2014 by Fitvip Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear January 7, 2014 Share January 7, 2014 On 1/7/2014 at 2:27 PM, Count-Bracula said: I simply love those Shaw martial art movies from the '70s with stars like Ti Lung, David Chiang, Luo Lie, Chen Kuan Tai, Yueh Hwa, Ku Feng, Wang Lung Wei, Alexander Fu Sheng, Gordon Liu, Kara Hui, Chen Pei Pei and many more..... RIP Sir Run Run Shaw. whoa..... old school actors and actress!! i tink u at least mid 40s..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear January 7, 2014 Share January 7, 2014 On 1/7/2014 at 3:34 PM, Nightkids said: whoa..... old school actors and actress!! i tink u at least mid 40s..... LOL Young man, maybe you don't know what you have missed!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear January 7, 2014 Share January 7, 2014 On 1/7/2014 at 2:55 AM, Hydrocarbon said: Woah, RIP man.. I liked the old TVB shows.. Some anyway.. Just noticed, his life a lot of 7s.. Haha.. In Cantonese "7" is pronounced as chut (as in cut), another name for our kkj!! (lok-chut, 67.. digitised name for human body part. alternative 69 lok-kao) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged January 8, 2014 Share January 8, 2014 On 1/7/2014 at 3:34 PM, Nightkids said: whoa..... old school actors and actress!! i tink u at least mid 40s..... Haha . . you think correct. I'm a horsie. Mrrrrmmphhhh . . . . Lucky to be able to catch almost all their Kungfu movies on channel 869. I could spend the whole weekend watching and countless times per show. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear January 8, 2014 Share January 8, 2014 (edited) On 1/8/2014 at 12:10 AM, Count-Bracula said: Haha . . you think correct. I'm a horsie. Mrrrrmmphhhh . . . . Lucky to be able to catch almost all their Kungfu movies on channel 869. I could spend the whole weekend watching and countless times per show. My good fren also horsie.... he near 60, so you either 48, or 36!!! Apparently he was a "Singaporean" but left this island (when it was going through turmoils) in 1959, a quitter so to say. But old man keeps in touch with this quitter and even paid him a visit in HK when he visited the place few years ago. Moral of the story, its ok to be a quitter!! Edited January 8, 2014 by Maseratigood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic January 8, 2014 Share January 8, 2014 On 1/8/2014 at 1:30 AM, Maseratigood said: My good fren also horsie.... he near 60, so you either 48, or 36!!! Apparently he was a "Singaporean" but left this island (when it was going through turmoils) in 1959, a quitter so to say. But old man keeps in touch with this quitter and even paid him a visit in HK when he visited the place few years ago. Moral of the story, its ok to be a quitter!! Jialat, if a quitter can quit life after 106 years and made tons of monies plus leaving behind a legacy and said at age 97 that "life is perfect".....I want to be one also leh.....better than stay on and whine and kpkb day in day out without lifting a finger to try and quit.....Hehe....... It's ok to quit! Move out of the country and build an empire out there! Be a quitter and retire rich rich! Oh......quit does not mean no need to work hor. Read that he and his bro worked till 3am six days a week and watching movies is in his blood..... His favourite was also one of mine "The gods must be crazy". No offence and just sharing...... he and family were here whilst wwII still raging through and they were forced to work with the Japanese to show propaganda films then. Those were times of turmoils..... he did not quit. Safe ride Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear January 8, 2014 Share January 8, 2014 (edited) On 1/8/2014 at 4:55 AM, Roadrunner2029 said: Well, in 1959 Singapore was not even a country yet. His family and was his brother's family (Runme Shaw) stayed in Singapore while he went to build his movie empire in HK. Technically, he moved from one crown colony to another. He must have felt between the two colonies, HK hada better future!! Or the would-be actresses were more chio and willing!? So he quit this land, a guiter no less. On 1/8/2014 at 2:32 AM, PSP415 said: Jialat, if a quitter can quit life after 106 years and made tons of monies plus leaving behind a legacy and said at age 97 that "life is perfect".....I want to be one also leh.....better than stay on and whine and kpkb day in day out without lifting a finger to try and quit.....Hehe....... It's ok to quit! Move out of the country and build an empire out there! Be a quitter and retire rich rich! Oh......quit does not mean no need to work hor. Read that he and his bro worked till 3am six days a week and watching movies is in his blood..... His favourite was also one of mine "The gods must be crazy". No offence and just sharing...... he and family were here whilst wwII still raging through and they were forced to work with the Japanese to show propaganda films then. Those were times of turmoils..... he did not quit. Safe ride Cheers He could also have stayed on and to help build this place mah, as did many other businessmen of the day. Edited January 8, 2014 by Maseratigood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear January 8, 2014 Share January 8, 2014 On 1/8/2014 at 1:30 AM, Maseratigood said: My good fren also horsie.... he near 60, so you either 48, or 36!!! Apparently he was a "Singaporean" but left this island (when it was going through turmoils) in 1959, a quitter so to say. But old man keeps in touch with this quitter and even paid him a visit in HK when he visited the place few years ago. Moral of the story, its ok to be a quitter!! hahaha.... bro, i'm not young liao..... bro Count-dracula is horsie, me dragoon..... i watch their movies before but not much.... my wife kao peh very boring, so always watch jit bua jit bua... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear January 8, 2014 Share January 8, 2014 (edited) On 1/8/2014 at 11:17 AM, Roadrunner2029 said: If you are aiming to be the top basketball player in the world, would you play in NBA or BAS ? Even Cathay was using mostly the top artistes and directors from Shanghai and Hong Kong, back in the day. Asian film making first started and matured in Shanghai (and also where the Shaw movie business originally started). After 1949, the entire industry moved to Hong Kong. This is the same when we see locals who seeking greener pastures else where instead of staying back:- back to my initial post ------------ good to be a quitter. Leaving this land, colony, nation. On 1/8/2014 at 12:24 PM, Nightkids said: hahaha.... bro, i'm not young liao..... bro Count-dracula is horsie, me dragoon..... i watch their movies before but not much.... my wife kao peh very boring, so always watch jit bua jit bua... The plot of those movies actually moved quite slow.... bo bian Edited January 8, 2014 by Maseratigood Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Asher 1st Gear January 8, 2014 Share January 8, 2014 Is "Run Run" his english/christian name? I never understood Hong Konger's christian names. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oblong 3rd Gear January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 His name is 原名邵仁楞,號逸夫. http://hk.news.yahoo.com/%E5%BD%B1%E8%A6%96%E5%B7%A8%E4%BA%BA-%E5%8F%96%E6%96%BC%E6%B0%91%E7%94%A8%E6%96%BC%E6%B0%91-225140142.html Quote 生於大清時期的六叔,原名邵仁楞(粵音:零),「Run Run」是由「仁楞」拼音而來:「逸夫」只是他的號。六叔接受黃霑訪問時,曾提起他聽到的一個版本,「我當office boy時,老闆常揮手叫我過去:『Run!Run!』於是我的英文名就變成Run Run。」 Btw, he was born (rich) in China, 1907, came to red dot in 1926, married first wife in 1937. Went to HK in 1957. I don't think it is relevant or appropriate to discuss quitter status. His formative years were in China. He was already 50 years old when he left this place and his media empire was just starting to take shape. He was a business man with a very good working ethic. I think he had three major roles: 1. movie 2. TVB (1967 - 2011) 3. philanthropy I believe the latter two deserved more weightage than SB movies. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic January 9, 2014 Share January 9, 2014 On 1/7/2014 at 8:38 AM, Nightkids said: wah.....107 years old! 笑丧咯…… RIP though. my great grandma also passed away recently also 107. too bad not as rich.... lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...