Parking enforcement officers' devices capture photo evidence

Darthrevan

Grace is as it says, grace. If it is demanded, then it is no longer grace. This is the direction you are heading.

The coupon situation in Singapore can be summarize as:

"Want to put, put lor, dun wan to put dun put lor. You die your problem. Not everyday Sunday" - Every citizen also know one

and the r______d has spoken

Update rule overdue:- cars parked within 2cm of lot lines, must pay double parking fees!!!

Repeat-offenders:- retake parking test, those who fail the test, retake whole test; those who pass, double fine for anyhow park despite knowing how to park!!

you got how many legs?? or like classical standup clock's swinging pendulum?? [sweatdrop]

Agree those who park like shat must retake test or double fine! Haha..

2 leg lor... Depending on situation.. Sometimes the third leg makes itself known..

Yes, common to find 10mins grace in such carparks

Also, drivers can also recycle 3x$1 coupon to park till 9pm of some park n ride carparks after say using them in the morning for hourly parking somewhere else before use of them for PnR

Huh? I thought is tear by timing? Never use PnR before..

The one with bones........

but the EPS parking also got problem, sometimes the barrier stuck and I see people using the intercom but after 15 mins also no people reply and the que to the exit is already long way back, and stupid to make only one exit there.......in also one entrance those with seasons stuck behind those with season parking also tulanz.....

Haha...

The EPS I tio some cannot read the IU, reverse and drive forward again, one more additional minute / few more cents fly.. Dulan is not the money, but the way it doesn't read. Worse if behind got Q and the car behind is too close..

when GPS ERP is ready ... parking fatimah will be out of job liao

all the open carpark, no need to install gantry or whatsoever

just simply install a gps booster/receiver ... the whole carpark cars and bikes will be tracked to the minutes and seconds ... huat ah !

Park also charge, move also charge. Sibei jialat......... [bigcry] Next thorny issue will be, some motorists will park illegally along some quiet streets.

the tech-savvy ones may clone the in-car-unit..... [sweatdrop]

and in the future ... hackers will threaten to hack cars ...

once you start car ... your instrument cluster show image "you have been hacked!" [sly]

the tech-savvy ones may clone the in-car-unit..... [sweatdrop]

Bikers have it worse

still remember when using coupon we can use it the whole day regardless of how many carpark we visit

the initial EPS would let bikers park free with shorter gantry pole in order for bikers to go in and outbut since it was publish and clarify by HDB

that bikers need to put fresh coupon every time they visit a new carpark,

the EPS start to block the bikers from entering the carpark for free by either extend the gantry pole or putting a barricade at the side so bikers cannot squeeze in

10 carpark, 10 time you pay flat rate

Bikers have it worse

still remember when using coupon we can use it the whole day regardless of how many carpark we visit

the initial EPS would let bikers park free with shorter gantry pole in order for bikers to go in and outbut since it was publish and clarify by HDB

the EPS start to block the bikers from entering the carpark for free by either extend the gantry pole or putting a barricade at the side so bikers cannot squeeze in

Guess its because too many car drivers complain about bikers getting away with using 1 coupon although they are supposed to tear a new one for each carpark. I always hear my neighbors complaining and saying they will write in. lol. Now that my block converted to EPS, they are complaining that bikers are entering from the pavement to avoid paying. Now there is a HDB guy standing there taking pics of bikers who ride on the pavement and enter the carpark.

and in the future ... hackers will threaten to hack cars ...

once you start car ... your instrument cluster show image "you have been hacked!" [sly]

Shops will then sell anti-hacking gadgets, creating extra business.

Bikers have it worse

That's true. but if a biker has to park 10 places in a day, probably he's parking is reimbursed.

may not be, could be dispatch riders on self-employ or employee but no parking reimbursement, just mileage claim inclusive of everything. And normally mileage claim for motorbike is pathetic.

You got to be kidding right. Are you saying that the officers appear each and every time the moment the engine in shut off, such that you barely have time to run whatever errands you say you are going to run? They take time to come around and if you can see them by the time you reach the car park and you still persist in your belief that you should be given some sort of grace because of your 'special circumstances', then you act on that belief at your own risk.

This is classic self-centeredness. I believe I should be given exception to my advantage because of my special circumstances and I should not be penalised for me not following the rules.

Graciousness is understanding a policy that applies to everyone and which on the whole puts in place a system that is fair and which hdoes not extend particular favour to any individual.

Last but not least, if you can use the word 'sneaking' on those officers, then I say any one who "pop in to draw money or buy a fast food meal" as you say is equally guilty of 'sneaking'.

I support enforcement of traffic rules and make no apologies for it, especially to those who seek to get on the moral high horse when stripped down it is nothing but about doing things for one's personal convenience, if necessary at the expense of others.

I did not write what you described, about off engine and all the crap.

Can only agree that graciousness is the understanding of the policy.

Erp operated cp has a 10 min grace, no?

I have seen modern day, profit driven private car park summon officers come in a van, team of 3-4. Comb the entire cp like machines.

My Conscious is clear and i do not park indiscriminately to cause inconvenience to others.

If there are no empty lots or even if there are handicap ones, i don't park indiscriminately for that convenience. That is what being gracious mean to me.

unless you don't drive, I don't believe you will tear a coupon just to draw money from an

ATM machine at a location like Citibank or uob or takeaway a Mac in serangoon gardens.

Don't kid yourself, unless you are not human.

You were insinuating that on top of however long you had been away from the car, the officers should still grant 10 mins grace at least from when they come to your car. In effect, you want more than 10 mins.

If you have done nothing against the rules, don't say 3 or 4, 300 or 400 come you also don't have to be concerned. And let's be clear that whether they can summon or not is entirely dependent on whether coupons are torn to cover the parking time in the first place. If everyone obey the rules, they earn zero 'profit' as you put it.

As for whether I will tear a coupon to draw money or takeaway a Mac, I try to plan ahead such that I avoid as far as possible driving just to draw money or takeaway a Mac. I do so when it is within walking distance or as part of a whole series of activities that I have to do. If for whatever reason I take a risk and get hit with a summon, I take it. I won't start hurling things like those officers are 'sneaking' around or they do it because they are 'profit driven'. In short, I take personal responsibility and look at my own conduct first. Learn to do that.

I have seen modern day, profit driven private car park summon officers come in a van, team of 3-4. Comb the entire cp like machines.

My Conscious is clear and i do not park indiscriminately to cause inconvenience to others.
If there are no empty lots or even if there are handicap ones, i don't park indiscriminately for that convenience. That is what being gracious mean to me.

unless you don't drive, I don't believe you will tear a coupon just to draw money from an
ATM machine at a location like Citibank or uob or takeaway a Mac in serangoon gardens.

Edited by Celicar

I think the worse and inconsiderate are those that treat their company tri-axle truck as their personal transportation.

simply drive around town area or park in HDB car park.

it easily occupied two parking lots, causing inconvenient to other user, and the noise of those truck is very disturbing to the residential.

these people are really headache ..

Most of the summon aunty/young chap, now a days seeing a lot of young man taking up this job, are quite flexible and not very strict. Haven really met one that is unreasonable though.

I probably wouldn't find a parking lot at all if I were to draw money or take away Mac at places like serangoon gardens. Its such a headache just to find parking lot, best is get someone to buy it while you wait in the car or get someone that can drive to standby shift the car. If I'm alone, I probably wouldnt do it.

You were insinuating that on top of however long you had been away from the car, the officers should still grant 10 mins grace at least from when they come to your car. In effect, you want more than 10 mins.

If you have done nothing against the rules, don't say 3 or 4, 300 or 400 come you also don't have to be concerned. And let's be clear that whether they can summon or not is entirely dependent on whether coupons are torn to cover the parking time in the first place. If everyone obey the rules, they earn zero 'profit' as you put it.

As for whether I will tear a coupon to draw money or takeaway a Mac, I try to plan ahead such that I avoid as far as possible driving just to draw money or takeaway a Mac. I do so when it is within walking distance or as part of a whole series of activities that I have to do. If for whatever reason I take a risk and get hit with a summon, I take it. I won't start hurling things like those officers are 'sneaking' around or they do it because they are 'profit driven'. In short, I take personal responsibility and look at my own conduct first. Learn to do that.

i am happy to use atm / mini-mart located in petrol stations... no need put coupons, can even pee peacefully not having to worry about aunties coming by. After that, cool down inside the aircon mini-mart!!

Again have to disagree with you, I am not insinuating anything.

IF i get summoned when that queue at the bank is longer than i expected and I took more than 10 mins,

I will take it with grace and pay. It is exactly how the ERP CP work, except that its a summon against the actual CP charge.

Again, by using that 10 mins grace, am i not obeying the rules??

Granted - there is a +/- against that precise ERP gantry clock.

Some folks like taxi uncles leave their engine running (which is illegal now)

just to goto the coffeshop toilet to pee or buying that kopi o. Why?

If a warden goes around a cp doing his/her job and still see a parked vehicle (without coupon) after checking a few cars, then i agree that the driver deserves to be summoned.

They can simply leave a big chalk mark on the tyres to identify the errant driver.

Washable and costs next to nothing.

By the same token, if you are ALONE and need to bring a few heavy boxes up to your HDB flat, do you parked your car at the loading/unloading bay at the bottom of your flat?

If you do, do you put coupons or leave the engine running? How do you feel when that warden comes, see a parked car with nobody in there and issue a summon?

Or park on the 5th level of MSCP because going by your logic, you should be graceful and obey the rules, should not inconvenient the "real" goods delivery folks sending that new fridge to your neighbor, only to find your car parked at the loading/unloading lot with no one in there?

My point i wanted to put across is, why waste taxpayers money on these expensive gadgets?

Our society has developed to the extent of getting that last dollar and cent.

With this gadget, they just want to be sure and leave "no benefit of the doubt".

In an extreme example, why don't just deny all appeals and people will pay to learn.

You are putting your point like a saint, plan ahead blah blah blah...

I assume you either can't/don't drive, no children and probably live alone.

Unless you don't have one, life does not revolve around you.

There are always " I want to pee", "I am hungry" etc, especially

with growing up kids.

Just so I know what you are saying, in this scenario, you are in a non-EPS carpark right? Otherwise there is no issue about summon. If you are in a non-EPS carpark as I think you are trying to say, then yes, I think it is not obeying the parking rules at that carpark if you don't put a coupon. And I'm not just saying you in particular will not be obeying the rules, anyone who does that, me included, will not be obeying the rules.

IF i get summoned when that queue at the bank is longer than i expected and I took more than 10 mins,
I will take it with grace and pay. It is exactly how the ERP CP work, except that its a summon against the actual CP charge.

Again, by using that 10 mins grace, am i not obeying the rules??
Granted - there is a +/- against that precise ERP gantry clock.

So in this scenario where if I'm alone and if I park my car at the loading/unloading bay, my choice is to either put a coupon for parking at the bay or leave my engine running? I'm sorry, put a coupon to park at the loading/unloading bay?

If I have things to load/unload and the only other alternative is L5 MSCP, then I will park (as I have done) at the bay and make (as I have done) multiple trips and come back frequently to the car. It is a hassle but if I don't want a summon, that is what I have to do.

By the same token, if you are ALONE and need to bring a few heavy boxes up to your HDB flat, do you parked your car at the loading/unloading bay at the bottom of your flat?

If you do, do you put coupons or leave the engine running? How do you feel when that warden comes, see a parked car with nobody in there and issue a summon?

Or park on the 5th level of MSCP because going by your logic, you should be graceful and obey the rules, should not inconvenient the "real" goods delivery folks sending that new fridge to your neighbor, only to find your car parked at the loading/unloading lot with no one in there?

Inferiority complex is a cruel thing.

You are putting your point like a saint, plan ahead blah blah blah...
I assume you either can't/don't drive, no children and probably live alone.

Unless you don't have one, life does not revolve around you.
There are always " I want to pee", "I am hungry" etc, especially
with growing up kids.