inlinesix Hypersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 my usual road home would be shenton way - keppel exit to ECP - KPE. damn guess i got to go CTE and pay ERP... so you rejoined to go into Marina boulevard? For u, it should be fine. There are more lanes toward KPE. Juz stick to lane 2 or 3. You da man! :p She knows i have a nasty habit of nagging/cursing whenever i stuck in a jam. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 my usual road home would be shenton way - keppel exit to ECP - KPE. damn guess i got to go CTE and pay ERP... so you rejoined to go into Marina boulevard? I had no choice. Only way home. Usually, it will take around 20 min from Chinatown - Keppel - ECP - Home to reach home on a normal weekday night at around 8.30pm. On Sun 29 Dec 13, 1300H, it took me 45 min from Shenton Way - Keppel (closed then U-turn) - MBFC - MCE - ECP - Home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strat 6th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 If I am not wrong, they can't improve on the train frequency until they upgrade the signalling system. And that is only going to happen in 2016. We can wait long long. I wonder how can the Tokyo subway system be so solid even with such so many multiple routes and stations. I waited <2min any time of the day (even peak hours), any station when I was last there this year. http://www.smrt.com.sg/SMRTMe/ServiceEnhancements/CurrentUpcomingProjects.aspx Resignalling of the North-South East-West LinesSMRT will be replacing the signalling system on the North-South East-West (NSEW) Lines to help reduce waiting time for commuters. The $195 million project, which will be completed in phases from 2016, will make it possible for trains to run at an improved frequency of 100 seconds, down from 120 seconds. The project covers more than 100km of track and involves designing a new signalling system; manufacturing and installing the equipment; and testing and commissioning the system at all tracks, stations, trains, depots as well as the Operations Control Centre. IMO HK MTR is solid as well and so much better than our MRT.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 Your pickarp got those tools har? :p cheap and good: http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r.1.14.181.jyyIBp&id=19624244456 i got a older version in the truck, you never know when you need one man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 I will tell my wife to take MRT along to 1 of the station that is convenient to me. I WILL NOT stuck in a jam to pick her up. I can't. We will be stuck after I pick her up at Shenton Way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fishy 4th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 I had no choice. Only way home. Usually, it will take around 20 min from Chinatown - Keppel - ECP - Home to reach home on a normal weekday night at around 8.30pm. On Sun 29 Dec 13, 1300H, it took me 45 min from Shenton Way - Keppel (closed then U-turn) - MBFC - MCE - ECP - Home. 1 new expressway already caused so much delays.. imagine when NS expressway opens... wonder what would happen... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 I can't. We will be stuck after I pick her up at Shenton Way. taking mrt is always faster to beat the jam, try to pick her up from outside the town area, be it if it takes a few more stops than stuck and pay for ERP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 taking mrt is always faster to beat the jam, try to pick her up from outside the town area, be it if it takes a few more stops than stuck and pay for ERP. Thanks for the suggestion but I work in town area too and am quite near her work place. Another way home is likely to be Nicol HW but it will likely be jammed as well. Anyone know the LTA Head or Transport Minister? Maybe can offer them a ride in your car and then join the jam to let them experience MCE first hand. And make sure they don't go to the toilet before getting into your car. It will make the trip so much more exciting and urgent literally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 If I am not wrong, they can't improve on the train frequency until they upgrade the signalling system. And that is only going to happen in 2016. We can wait long long. I wonder how can the Tokyo subway system be so solid even with such so many multiple routes and stations. I waited <2min any time of the day (even peak hours), any station when I was last there this year. http://www.smrt.com.sg/SMRTMe/ServiceEnhancements/CurrentUpcomingProjects.aspx Resignalling of the North-South East-West LinesSMRT will be replacing the signalling system on the North-South East-West (NSEW) Lines to help reduce waiting time for commuters. The $195 million project, which will be completed in phases from 2016, will make it possible for trains to run at an improved frequency of 100 seconds, down from 120 seconds. The project covers more than 100km of track and involves designing a new signalling system; manufacturing and installing the equipment; and testing and commissioning the system at all tracks, stations, trains, depots as well as the Operations Control Centre. When the team is still crunching their $$ in their fist....how to improve??... All I can say is..learn from jeepun... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 Thanks for the suggestion but I work in town area too and am quite near her work place. Another way home is likely to be Nicol HW but it will likely be jammed as well. Anyone know the LTA Head or Transport Minister? Maybe can offer them a ride in your car and then join the jam to let them experience MCE first hand. And make sure they don't go to the toilet before getting into your car. It will make the trip so much more exciting and urgent literally. from hwz picture 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 come....i clap for them too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jayy25 6th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 apparently, the project manager/s are not the one who believes in UAT (user acceptance test) especially for one that is to replace a legacy system (in this case a portion of the older express way) in IT projects, we always go for parallel running of 2 systems in a testing environment so that if the new system fails or did not meet the stakeholder expectations, one can still switch back to the legacy one to continue working hence reducing disruptions. then continue to fine tune the new system till it is on par to requirements or at least mange stakeholders' expectations to slowly reduce their resistance to change. Right now, this new expressway go live without any parallel trials is a perfect recipe for screw up and angry bunch of users..the project manager/s whom are engaged in this project should be slapped hard at the back of their heads to wake them up.anyway... we should wait what will happen next for LTA to come in and reduce those unnecessary jams and disruptions Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 I like HK MTR, but don't say they are perfect ... only recently they also suffered major power failure. Thousands hit in five hours of travel chaos after MTR power blackout them is gu gu jit bai......ours is one month jin zue bai !! A power failure on the Tseung Kwan O line halted MTR services for nearly five hours yesterday, plunging the city's transport network into chaos. A Yau Ma Tei-bound train broke down in a tunnel at 12.40pm, forcing about 150 passengers to walk on the track to Yau Tong station. Passengers are urged to leave an MTR station. Photo: Cheung Chi-faiTrains were affected on the whole Tseung Kwan O Line and between Tiu Keng Leng and Lam Tin on the Kwun Tong Line. http://www.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/article/1381867/power-failure-disrupts-mtr-train-services-tseung-kwan-o-line?page=all 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 Don't scrap the bridge lah...can built a hotel or shopping mall on it. With its height and location, it will give customers an excellent view of the waterfront, Gardens by the Bay, and Marina Barage. Just a suggestion lah. Turn the bridge into a park (First in the world "Garden by the Bridge") and ppl can sit trhere to watch firewiorks during National Day .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ChickenMob 6th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 heard from the radio that the train frequency will be upgraded to 4mins per train at peak hours, had been to hongkong this june they are able to do it under 2 mins, roughly about 1 mins plus, I think we must achieve somewhere there to make everyone ditch their cars at home leh.....I had missed 2 buses in a row and only able to squeeze on the 3rd one. we need better improvements on that too.... haiz.....now keeping a car is like having another kid.......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 How the jam today ? Anyone got pictures of current situation ... Couldn't imagine when schools starts on Thursday 2nd Jan 2014 ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spirited 1st Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 anyone have any idea if the entrance from keppel road to the mce is open? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 ecp rochor exit ko wu bo? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...