Yeshe Turbocharged December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 http://sg.news.yahoo.com/confusion--jams-on-marina-coastal-expressway-in-singapore-033337581.html https://twitter.com/TODAYonline/status/417468285899132928/photo/1 Look at this pic. It sums it all. Cars are stuck at the slip road exit. lane 1, 2 and 3 are pretty clear. Cb lane 1 2 3 is going to kpe only lane 4 n 5 going ecp. The whole traffic jam from mce tunnel entrance to these 2 lanes at the end of mce during off peak 11am today. I dare not imagine how it is like after the holiday season during peak hours. If got 1 accident in lane 4 or 5 into ecp exit, I think walking will be faster ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 Best route (shortest) will now be AYE-CTE-MERCHANT RD EXIT-EU TONG SEN-HILL ST- HIGH ST-ALONG PADANG - RAFFLES/SUNTEC/MARINA/BUGIS Thanks for the tip. I go from west to east for work in the morning, sometimes taking AYE-ECP-KPE. Tomorrow go back work half-day, a lot of time to spare since many people are out of office... might try the AYE-MCE-ECP (or -KPE) route. Going home east to west, looks like not a good idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 Very bad planning. Knn Tot it's suppose to improve the flow of traffic? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 just go test run on MCE when doing my errands using company vehicle. 5 words to Ah Liu: 超你妈的B !!! one good good expressway let u do until don know like wat, the farking rochor exit gone, force ppl to go by simi coaster dr.....不知所谓!! 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 Cb lane 1 2 3 is going to kpe only lane 4 n 5 going ecp. The whole traffic jam from mce tunnel entrance to these 2 lanes at the end of mce during off peak 11am today. I dare not imagine how it is like after the holiday season during peak hours. If got 1 accident in lane 4 or 5 into ecp exit, I think walking will be faster I was caught in th jam btw 12-1pm Towards central blvd,2 lanes only with a break down veh on the left lane. Anyone notice any shoulder lane along that stretch.If got accident,sure jia lat 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 i think later everyone siam mce and go take pie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 just go test run on MCE when doing my errands using company vehicle. 5 words to Ah Liu: 超你妈的B !!! one good good expressway let u do until don know like wat, the farking rochor exit gone, force ppl to go by simi coaster dr.....不知所谓!! Are you referring to exit from west bound ECP to Rochor at exit 15 on the Sheares bridge ? its still there leh. http://app.lta.gov.sg/data/apps/news/press/2013/20131113_MCERouteIN_ECP-Suntec.pdf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 ssag people quite farnie one 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 Good news! Central Boulevard looks for very clear now. MCE (AYE -> ECP) smooth traffic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Knoobie Supercharged December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 (edited) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KnTZkpfrw5g watch from 45 seconds onwards..Josephine Teo and MIW cronies having a joyride in traffic free road conditions When I first see the photo, I was wondering how come cars beside are parking at the express way.. now I know.. they actually ride before the actual opening.... nnb. For Nicoll Highway entrance into KPE, i think it is caused by driver. From Sims Way, there is another entrance. The only reason die die must enter via Nicoll Highway is to get into PIE east bound. well, it is true. but if you detour to Sims Way to enter KPE, the amount of traffic at the 2-3 traffic lights and the waiting time is quite stupid.. MCE can add to another billion dollar mistake for this list of Singapore! Edited December 30, 2013 by Knoobie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 Are you referring to exit from west bound ECP to Rochor at exit 15 on the Sheares bridge ? its still there leh. http://app.lta.gov.sg/data/apps/news/press/2013/20131113_MCERouteIN_ECP-Suntec.pdf maybe he meant coming from AYE Very bad planning. Knn Tot it's suppose to improve the flow of traffic? no, it's supposed to free up space for urban development Good news! MCE (AYE -> ECP) smooth traffic. maybe everyone SIAM after so many kpkb on twitter & fb Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wishcumstrue 6th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 agree with you that MCE is generally ok except that i still think the proportion of lances alloted to ECP and KPE are reveresed. but if the plan is to develop MBFC area, like it or not, the exits/entrances to MBFC have to be adequate and that is not the case currently. CBD and MBFC areas will continue to be the central hub for financial services (at least in my life time) and there is no way there will be less cars moving along that corridor, even with all the MRT lines there. If the MCE exits/entrances are planned with less cars going into CBD/MBFC in mind, that is just pure foolishness or day dream on the part of the authorities. Of course the ones in power can stop cars from going in easily. Just raise ERP to $50 per entry 24 x 7. Remove all the parking spaces. But will they do that without any backlash? Creating traffic jams intentionally have repercussions in the form of lost efficiencies, frustration, diminished global standing etc. Whether MIW or opposition, they will be stupid to use this to force people from driving to public transport. The ECP-KPE at MCE's Exit 5 lane-allocation is indeed a concern. I am not sure if there is way to fix this if the design presents a long term problem even after motorist gets familiarized. But when I read ST's report about frustrated motorists, it seems most of the complains are due to lack of familiarity by the use of the words "confusing", making "wrong turns" or how "sharp" some of the slip roads are. Perhaps we should be more patient during this learning phase rather than jumping to conclusion that this is some internal ploy by the authority to frustrate the motorists ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 Thanks for the tip. I go from west to east for work in the morning, sometimes taking AYE-ECP-KPE. Tomorrow go back work half-day, a lot of time to spare since many people are out of office... might try the AYE-MCE-ECP (or -KPE) route. Going home east to west, looks like not a good idea. no prob man.....i am affected by it too....looks like this is the route for me for now Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 (edited) Someone posted his ride, Taxi fare from Bishan to Marina Bay Financial Centre via MCE. MCE: More Costly Expressway Edited December 30, 2013 by Berncsp76 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bonjoey 1st Gear December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 Are you referring to exit from west bound ECP to Rochor at exit 15 on the Sheares bridge ? its still there leh. http://app.lta.gov.sg/data/apps/news/press/2013/20131113_MCERouteIN_ECP-Suntec.pdf still there....but u cannot use it when coming from west....unless u take MCE, come out from the Boulevard and then go back on the bridge.... big big detour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 The ECP-KPE at MCE's Exit 5 lane-allocation is indeed a concern. I am not sure if there is way to fix this if the design presents a long term problem even after motorist gets familiarized. But when I read ST's report about frustrated motorists, it seems most of the complains are due to lack of familiarity by the use of the words "confusing", making "wrong turns" or how "sharp" some of the slip roads are. Perhaps we should be more patient during this learning phase rather than jumping to conclusion that this is some internal ploy by the authority to frustrate the motorists ? i think the professor from NUS mentioned that the LTA did not do enough on the campaigning the new route via social media or on TV, at least show us the video of where and when to turn and turn to where and lead to where..... i believe if they broadcast this every 15 min on tv (Ch 5/8/....) every evening 6-11pm, and for 2 weeks before it starts, i bet no one would be that lost Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sp4wn Turbocharged December 30, 2013 Share December 30, 2013 1 hour 40min?? wah piang ... so erp & taxi driver huat la .. $10.50! Someone posted his ride, Taxi fare from Bishan to Marina Bay Financial Centre via MCE. MCE: More Costly Expressway ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...