Maseratigood 5th Gear December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 Bingo. KPE Nicoll Highway Exit - Exactly my thoughts. Even my Sec 1 daughter once commented (after being struck in a jam there and late for appointment)... "since they can dig under the ground, why don't they dig the exit after the traffic light?" No matter how wide, how smooth the expressway is, my pet peeve is always the exits. Not sure why, probably because of traffic lights, there is always a bottlenect at the exit. Whenever there is a bottleneck, there will be a queue. Whenever there is a queue, there will be queue-cutters, causing jam to the right lanes as well (not to mentioned frustration for those who try to follow law and queue up). For every new road or even new expressway, there is always this problem. It seems LTA never bother to learn from their past mistakes. Well said! We can see LTA designs slip roads (entering an expressway) which end up as bottle-necks!! Typical example: two lanes on slip road merging into one lane before joining the expressway. This is still ok during off-peak hours, but when the trafffic gets heavy during peak hours, the merging of 2 lanes into 1 and then into the expressway is a perfect recipe for massive jam, lane cutting, etc etc!!! LTA never learns after all these years ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 True, should invite Josephine Teo to travel on the MCE again on a weekday during the morning and evening peak. She had enjoyed the smooth journey, about time she gets a taste of the real situation. Would TY be arrowed to go instead? i can only imagine lta all the big big small small kena goreng by [lipsealed] for making [lipsealed] look bad in front of [lipsealed] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 i believe he used to re enter ECP via slip road from Ophir after picking wife from Bugis and then AYE, Jurong. Now he cant. For me I always travel back from Upper Bkt Timah Rd. Like same time via AYE (Jurong) during peak hours. At Raffles Place, is either enter AYE (Jurong) via Keppel Rd or near Merchant Road there. Worst come to worst, West Coast Highway loh... no ERP no jam until Jurong Town Hall... i think... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 Any bros checked if there are updates to the maps for our vehicle GPSes on the new MCE and its various entrances/exits? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 True, should invite Josephine Teo to travel on the MCE again on a weekday during the morning and evening peak. She had enjoyed the smooth journey, about time she gets a taste of the real situation. Would TY be arrowed to go instead? She VIP leh, who dares put her through traffic jams which she proudly said less than 3 days ago loud loud MCE is a piece of great road work!! Mai embarrass her like that can or not? Pls, pls, dont ever invite her for a real-life trip, she is more inclined to see n report ONLY THE GOOD THINGS regardless how out of touch with the ground that makes her... For me I always travel back from Upper Bkt Timah Rd. Like same time via AYE (Jurong) during peak hours. At Raffles Place, is either enter AYE (Jurong) via Keppel Rd or near Merchant Road there. Worst come to worst, West Coast Highway loh... no ERP no jam until Jurong Town Hall... i think... LOL... good alternative using West Coast Highway. But i remember certain time of the day WCH is packed with speeding trucks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 Dear Sir, Actually I feel more like a visitor in Singapore :P when I was driving around in NZ in those pre-GPS days, I went to the bookstore to buy the huge paper maps for the area (well trained by SAF) and had them laminated and then studied them before planning and executing road trips LOL Rgds i drove around USA, South Korea and Israel with print out maps. simi si GPS? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 Any bros checked if there are updates to the maps for our vehicle GPSes on the new MCE and its various entrances/exits? Google Maps confirm not updated. They need the car to go one round first. Last month I just saw the vehicle do the update rounding in Raffles area nia... maybe soon loh... since their office also affected by this MCE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 those roads you mentioned need to pass thru ERP, i guess if he (Bugis) is outside ERP, have to find a way not to touch ERP. inside the MCE is fine, it is after the MCE where you start to see left right centre all leading to different places, how to go 70-80km if you can't tell. even if you are familiar with the route, the heavy traffic (when holiday over) coming from different direction heading to different places, the cut crossing of these vehicle will definitely slow down everything. You're right, it's just a touch and go sort of thing, and if can siam just siam, why give money to the govt when we don't need to... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 (edited) I call the new MCE one step forward, two steps backward. If LTA has planned the new system correctly, it would have been one step forward, not backward, right? I also know how to give alternatives but will only offer better than before one, but apparently there's no way to find one better or at least equal than previous Ophir-ECP-AYE. The alternatives you mentioned fall into the former category ie worse than before, sad to say. We dont call the new system in this regard an improvement, do we? Its ok to admit mistake on LTA's part. I wont defend them by offering alternatives which are worse than before. Even if you cry now also no use. Weigh your options, would you rather waste time waste fuel to crawl thru traffic just to avoid ERP? Travel at at non-peak hour? Something got to give and from the looks of it it's the ppl & drivers who got to make changes to their travelling pattern. As if you gave some awesome alternative. LoL.... Edited December 31, 2013 by Watwheels 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 i can only imagine lta all the big big small small kena goreng by [lipsealed] for making [lipsealed] look bad in front of [lipsealed] I recall a full page article in ST featuring the MCE and its designers just a few days back, all praises!! Quite a big slap on LTA's face now with all the confusions/complaints. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 Bingo. KPE Nicoll Highway Exit - Exactly my thoughts. Even my Sec 1 daughter once commented (after being struck in a jam there and late for appointment)... "since they can dig under the ground, why don't they dig the exit after the traffic light?" No matter how wide, how smooth the expressway is, my pet peeve is always the exits. Not sure why, probably because of traffic lights, there is always a bottlenect at the exit. Whenever there is a bottleneck, there will be a queue. Whenever there is a queue, there will be queue-cutters, causing jam to the right lanes as well (not to mentioned frustration for those who try to follow law and queue up). For every new road or even new expressway, there is always this problem. It seems LTA never bother to learn from their past mistakes. Actually they still have one last defence. MRT line tunnels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
StefanK Supercharged December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 She VIP leh, who dares put her through traffic jams which she proudly said less than 3 days ago loud loud MCE is a piece of great road work!! Mai embarrass her like that can or not? Pls, pls, dont ever invite her for a real-life trip, she is more inclined to see n report ONLY THE GOOD THINGS regardless how out of touch with the ground that makes her... LOL... good alternative using West Coast Highway. But i remember certain time of the day WCH is packed with speeding trucks. If you go all the way until Jln Buroh of course lah! If until Clementi or Jurong Town Hall, short jam but quick exit back to PIE. To me is a good alternative lah... just need to be very careful of travelling speeds cos of hidden snipers along the numerous overhead bridges. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 ERP or no ERP that area is congested during peak hour. Even if he use outside Bugis, dan little India, Bukit Timah road all the way to Ngee An Poly to enter PIE towards Jurong that entire stretch is also congested. Bukit Timah Rd jin jialat during peak hour. I know of this route and used it only when I know AYE is gonna be jam pack, but it seems like with all this changes, Bukit Timah route will be more jam pack in future... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 Bingo. KPE Nicoll Highway Exit - Exactly my thoughts. Even my Sec 1 daughter once commented (after being struck in a jam there and late for appointment)... "since they can dig under the ground, why don't they dig the exit after the traffic light?" No matter how wide, how smooth the expressway is, my pet peeve is always the exits. Not sure why, probably because of traffic lights, there is always a bottlenect at the exit. Whenever there is a bottleneck, there will be a queue. Whenever there is a queue, there will be queue-cutters, causing jam to the right lanes as well (not to mentioned frustration for those who try to follow law and queue up). For every new road or even new expressway, there is always this problem. It seems LTA never bother to learn from their past mistakes. your gal should be the next transport ministar [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 Even if you cry now also no use. Weigh your options, would you rather waste time waste fuel to crawl thru traffic just to avoid ERP? Travel at at non-peak hour? Something got to give and from the looks of it it's the ppl & drivers who got to make changes to their travelling pattern. To cry is quite human lor The funny thing is the new, highly praised MCE (before the actual opening only) is making users to adjust backward to get to their destinations in worse ways than before. No need to say more liao. Ya, you are quite right, what to do? LTA wants/forces some of us to go backward, so we go backward lor, where got choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 Ask wife change job lor. Haha... I will try to physcho her Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maseratigood 5th Gear December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 your gal should be the next transport ministar [laugh] LOL!!! (cant praise you, gotta wait..) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear December 31, 2013 Share December 31, 2013 (edited) To me MCE means Most Costly Expressway. Mind-boggling it costs SGD4.3b, at SGD860m/km Source: http://ride.asiaone.com/news/general/story/marina-coastal-expressway-fast-road-new-downtown-buzz Heng I don't travel along AYE/ECP on a daily basis after I read all the reports and MCF bro's comments about how jialat it is now at certain portions. Hope things will straighten out after everyone is familiar with the various entrances and exits. Still the two-lane ECP entrance/exit configuration seems a bit Imagine you are on the way to the airport via AYE/MCE/ECP hurriedly to catch a flight....& then kena stuck for an hour at the 2-lane ECP exit Edited December 31, 2013 by Vulcann ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...