Marina Coastal Expressway (MCE)

Porker

i dun think the road to city is fully completed, many road are still in a mess and rushing to complete as can see from the blocks of concrete.

but the only thing i know for sure is it won't be free now <_<

It a major changes to the city area. They still will fine tune the traffic layout.

Edited by Dafansu

I tried out the route yesterday as i needed to travel there daily.

The MCE is not the issue. The issue is actually the connecting roads to and from MCE within the MBFC area. They are

1. too few lanes (underestimation by planner) and exacerbated by bus stops blocking traffic along the way

2. too many twists and turns causing traffic to slow down with a carry on impact all the way to the MCE exit earlier on, causing massive jams

3. poorly paved roads (very undulating and very bumpy) in MBFC leading to the MCE

I also suspect part of the MCE was not opened yesterday. I wanted to get into the MCE via Maxwell Road (as indicated by LTA in their website) but was unable to as there seemed to be no roads!!!! I was led into CBD then MBFC aread again, bypassing an ERP gantry on the way. I know that gantry is in operations in the evening. So the big question is if I work in the CBD and am driving back East, should I be "penalised" because I am "forced" to re-enter CBD to get onto MCE. Previously, that was not the case.

I am not sure if this is permanent but if you are on Keppel Rd, you cannot get onto MCE directly although the road signs (2 in fact) say you can. The Keppel Rd entrance to the old ECP has been closed but brand new road signs (the usual green ones) say you can. So what is going on?

On 29 Dec, LTA actually shut down some of the traffic lights in the MBFC area and I suspect it is because the MBFC roads could not handle even the typical Sunday traffic volume. Good luck to all who are working in CBD and using the MCE tonight.

I expect a lot more road works in the MBFC area because of the bottleneck there. Can you imagine next Mon when the full work force starts 2014?

I already said the bottleneck is the cross junction beside MBFC Tower 3.

Latest pic attached.

Look at the back up at MCE exit to Central Boulevard and the bottleneck at the junction beside Tower 3. It's the same for the Sheares Bridge exit to Central Boulevard. I didn't bother to take pic for that. LOL

Sincerely,

Your friendly city traffic watchdog :p :p :p

post-4638-0-59275600-1388369606_thumb.jpg

Edited by Porker

Latest pic attached.

Look at the back up at MCE exit to Central Boulevard and the bottleneck at the junction beside Tower 3. It's the same for the Sheares Bridge exit to Central Boulevard. I didn't bother to take pic for that. LOL

I have sore neck now.

bo pian one lah

today is the only sub-real operational date,because 50% of the people working

next week when everyone go to work, then can expect more jialat

but i think when everyone knows the route liao, should be not so bad liao

i think they will widen those mfc roads

i think they now surfing mcf [grin] balls shrink liao

consperm widen those roads out of mce [laugh]

If anyone here knows any of the bigger shots in the LTA, please ask them to read this thread because it carries views from the normal drivers and not those from the Ch 5 news report which seemed to be edited. I said seemed, never say "confirmed edited".

And for the LTA bigger shots reading this (lower ranks no need because I know your views will likely get suppressed somehow when it is communicated upwards), please consider this in your next phase of fixing the faults. And make it quick.

1. signboards in the MCE are not sufficient and placed early enough esp when the expressway splits eg a) going west: ECP splits into MCE and old ECP and b) going east: MCE splits into ECP and KPE

2. Going east from MCE to ECP are allocated only 2 out of the 5 lanes with the other 3 going to the KPE. Have you considered this correctly? Just think. Residents of Bedok (prob largest HDB estate in Sg), East Coast, Simei and Tampines and not forgetting those traveling to the airport will likely use the ECP in their eastward journey from AYE. On the other hand, the KPE will serve residents of Buangkok, Pungol, Hougang (think there is likely a few smaller estates I am not familiar with). Think not of the number of residents living in those areas. Rather, think of the number of car owning residents living in those areas. Please check your planning data again. Is the proposed lane allocation (2 for ECP and 3 for KPE) correct? If it is not, please make hurried changes.

This is not a question about face saving. This is savings in dollars. This is savings for your 2016 because rightly or wrongly, it will be used as a political tool.

Edited by Kxbc

I already said the bottleneck is the cross junction beside MBFC Tower 3.

yah lah, i more lor sor than you mah. [furious][grin] [grin] [grin]

LOL you submitted a good post with the details in there. It is good information for drivers :p

It a major changes to the city area. They still will fine tune the traffic layout.

i just want have the old free and fast exit to rochor [bigcry][bigcry]

I can see container trucks, with cargoes in containers, and goods delivery trucks stuck at MCE.

The Marina One construction site will be affected because the only site entrance is just metres behind the cross junction beside MBFC Tower 3.

I really feel for these people.

LOL you submitted a good post with the details in there. It is good information for drivers :p

Do you know if they have switched off the traffic lights again similar to yesterday?

If you have not driven the roads leading out of MBFC to MCE already, please drive slower as the road condition is suck!!!!

Not sure if road construction quality has gone down but the newly paved road (prob 6 months old) near my office has numerous holes because the tar came off. And these are not small holes. There are at least 3 which are ~50cm x 50cm x 10cm deep (by visual agaration and the bloody bump I got when my wheels hit one).

Do you know if they have switched off the traffic lights again similar to yesterday?

If you have not driven the roads leading out of MBFC to MCE already, please drive slower as the road condition is suck!!!!

Not sure if road construction quality has gone down but the newly paved road (prob 6 months old) near my office has numerous holes because the tar came off. And these are not small holes. There are at least 3 which are ~50cm x 50cm x 10cm deep (by visual agaration and the bloody bump I got when my wheels hit one).

Traffic light at the bottleneck - junction beside Tower 3 - is not switched off.

tonight ho say liao. Better go home after 8pm if not sure stuck in bad traffic.

Better find other ways to go home.

As of now, i still see long q along central boulevard.

Better find other ways to go home.

As of now, i still see long q along central boulevard.

I'm very curious about the extent of back up along Keppel Flyover :p

I can see container trucks, with cargoes in containers, and goods delivery trucks stuck at MCE.

The Marina One construction site will be affected because the only site entrance is just metres behind the cross junction beside MBFC Tower 3.

I really feel for these people.

This really sucks for everyone going there.

spent so much money to create jams.....making a longer detour to cbd area....and in order to recover the money, i guarantee erp will be install.....

HUAT ARH !!!