Manchester United Thread 2013/2014 Season

Getzsfv

cannot compare like that... SAF didnt take over last season's champion ley...

Exactly, when Ferguson took over, he like took over geylang united leh...

Hmm, that's true also but a winning percentage of 58% is still very good.

Not good enough for MANU though... good enough for everton i guess [lipsrsealed]

Just hope we dun end up like blackburn...

Edited by Getzsfv

How about some stats to cheer you guys up a bit:

David Moyes' first 31 games as Man Utd boss:

18 wins

6 draws

7 losses

Sir Alex Ferguson's first 31 games:

12 wins

10 draws

9 losses

Not too bad ;)

In Moyes I Trust :p

Jan transfer started but no activities for man utd yet. It seems harder and harder to break into top 4. No more FA cup, Carling cup 1/2 lost. If can't get top 4, then must win champ lge [grin] But with the current squad, will be a miracle if we can get into the semis. [:(]

i dunno you kidding or not.... seriously

Not kidding. That's the percentage of Arsene Wenger after his 17 yr tenure on 1 oct 13. Wenger no good meh?

Jan transfer started but no activities for man utd yet. It seems harder and harder to break into top 4. No more FA cup, Carling cup 1/2 lost. If can't get top 4, then must win champ lge [grin] But with the current squad, will be a miracle if we can get into the semis. [:(]

Jan window very difficult to sign players. Those good ones usually clubs doing well and fighting for honours. Unlikely they will want to move. Those in UCL will get cup tied, worse.

Edited by Osprey23

Not kidding. That's the percentage of Arsene Wenger after his 17 yr tenure on 1 oct 13. Wenger no good meh?

Jan window very difficult to sign players. Those good ones usually clubs doing well and fighting for honours. Unlikely they will want to move. Those in UCL will get cup tied, worse.

Ya... that's the problem. Can't sign anyone good and the morale is rotting away. This season is gone.

not so good for the last 9 yrs... to be honest

You cannot compare a 17yrs avg of 58% wins versus a 6 months avg of 58% wins that way. It is not quite the same. The Arsenal under Wenger did very well in the first 1-2 yrs of his reign which I believe was more than 58%. It remains to be seen if Moyes manage to last more than 3 seasons whether he can get the same win % ratio.

Hopefully, they will gove Moyes time to built from scratch a great team, it won't be a quick fix, rather building the foundation. As a MANU fan, I guess everyone knows that the great ferguson dynasty is no longer there, now Moyes need to built his own dynasty. I give him at least 3 season to do dat..

You cannot compare a 17yrs avg of 58% wins versus a 6 months avg of 58% wins that way. It is not quite the same. The Arsenal under Wenger did very well in the first 1-2 yrs of his reign which I believe was more than 58%. It remains to be seen if Moyes manage to last more than 3 seasons whether he can get the same win % ratio.

I am not trying to compare the two managers here. Just using Wenger's percentage to highlight that Moyes' current winning percentage of 58%, albeit is just over a 31 games period is actually not too bad.

Bro...you must be kidding. Arsene did not inherit a 20 league title history and tradition. He also didn't inherit the past year champion. He needs to build mostly from scratch and even had to work his socks off for the stadium.

Moyes inherited not just a champion squad of players, but also all the wonderful facilities, staff, youth academy, great stadium ,great fans worldwide etc that was built up from that 20 league titles.

With such inheritance, winning 58% is nonsense. I can't believe you would think that is reasonable. Evem shareholders can't take it and wipe off 220m pounds of valuation off Man U market cap!

Bro, top of table you still say he no so good. Don't rub it here leh.... :)

only this year better.... that's y i say past 9 years not 10 [sunny]

just curious... if all of everton players are now man u players.... would moyes be able to manage better?

Bro...you must be kidding. Arsene did not inherit a 20 league title history and tradition. He also didn't inherit the past year champion. He needs to build mostly from scratch and even had to work his socks off for the stadium.

Moyes inherited not just a champion squad of players, but also all the wonderful facilities, staff, youth academy, great stadium ,great fans worldwide etc that was built up from that 20 league titles.

With such inheritance, winning 58% is nonsense. I can't believe you would think that is reasonable. Evem shareholders can't take it and wipe off 220m pounds of valuation off Man U market cap!

There is no seamless transition when there is a change in manager. Yes, he inherited a squad that win the title last season, so does Moyes has the divine rights to win it this season?

Usually, it would be easier if the new manager is from within, just like how Shankly handed over to Paisley and to Fagan who were all within the "boot room". When you hire a new manager from outside the club, he brings in his own ideas, his own training methods, his own coaching staffs. All these will have to be integrated with the current squad, be it a championship winners or not.

Can we then say because the squad is title holder and hence 58% winning percentage is not good enough for him? Is it fair to judge him base on the successes of SAF? I don't think is fair.

Hence, I can only state objectively that a winning percentage of 58% is not really a bad stats for a manager, supported by the fact that even Wenger, a manager who had been through highs and lows with Arsenal, over 900 plus games, average also 58%.

Shareholders and stock price we know, got nothing to do with football, it's all about sentiments, dollars and cents.

Edited by Osprey23

every game i watched them this season, i can only be more impressed by SAF... how he managed to turn them into title winners....

only this year better.... that's y i say past 9 years not 10 [sunny]

just curious... if all of everton players are now man u players.... would moyes be able to manage better?

Are you kidding me, one can change the jersey from blue to red, but one cannot change the title of championship

overnight, it's frightening indeed , last season Devils were Champions, now Devils is languishing mid-table, isn't it ironic !

If you watch carefully, many team faces Devils find us hard to beat at home and away, now even the league bottom half team can even beat us at home, any team can beat anyone...

every game i watched them this season, i can only be more impressed by SAF... how he managed to turn them into title winners....

SAF has lost many games b4 he starts on a winning note, how and when he managed to understand every player's strength and weakness was a cause for concern, likewise, I wouldn't bet on Moyes to deliver the goods on his 1/2 seasons, unless he starts to speak to each and individual players on what thy wanted to do and can get the best out form them.

That was how SAF managed to get the very best out fm them, even ex-Devils players came out to say Moyes was the right man for the job, give him some times to explore the possibilities, but not too long as the danger will be written on the wall- Devils fan all d world over will be bored.

Are you kidding me, one can change the jersey from blue to red, but one cannot change the title of championship

overnight, it's frightening indeed , last season Devils were Champions, now Devils is languishing mid-table, isn't it ironic !

If you watch carefully, many team faces Devils find us hard to beat at home and away, now even the league bottom half team can even beat us at home, any team can beat anyone...

It only makes me admire Ferguson more though I hate him too lol

Hopefully, they will gove Moyes time to built from scratch a great team, it won't be a quick fix, rather building the foundation. As a MANU fan, I guess everyone knows that the great ferguson dynasty is no longer there, now Moyes need to built his own dynasty. I give him at least 3 season to do dat..

ManU without SAF is like a table without legs.

I really wonder why SAF chose Moyes as his successor? He's quite mediocre at Everton, I think even Big Sam is better than him or even HR!

Can't imagine the scene in the dressing room during half-time . . . would be interesting to observe what is going on.

It may take a few years to rebuiild the team again, Good luck and I won't be surprised if ManU landed outside top 5 at the end of this season.

SAF knocked ManU off the forking perch . . . that's what he did. [lipsrsealed]

It only makes me admire Ferguson more though I hate him too lol

Yup for what he did. [sly]

SAF has lost many games b4 he starts on a winning note, how and when he managed to understand every player's strength and weakness was a cause for concern, likewise, I wouldn't bet on Moyes to deliver the goods on his 1/2 seasons, unless he starts to speak to each and individual players on what thy wanted to do and can get the best out form them.

That was how SAF managed to get the very best out fm them, even ex-Devils players came out to say Moyes was the right man for the job, give him some times to explore the possibilities, but not too long as the danger will be written on the wall- Devils fan all d world over will be bored.

Moyes's hairdryer blows cold air. [sly]