Singapore Prata Queen (NS)

Knoobie

they can also serve as childcare assistants. If garment wants to give more support to up our national birth rate, then this is one of the ways to do it. Our childcare operators had been complaining of lack of manpower for years.....

there are so many NS roles for gals to do.... garment is v stiff in their thinking.........

I want to be a supplier of cctvs if we let unwilling girls to look after our babies an toddlers.... in case they vent their unhappiness on the little ones!! [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

childcare centres will buy cctvs in bulks!!

gahmen is scared of AWARE. They will come out and complain

They want equality without the equality.

I am surprised till now no AWARE members or supporters has read MCF and said something!!?? or maybe admin already kena called up for grilling right now?? [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

With SG's birth rate going down the drain, woman not doing their NS also.

We believe the men are willing and able,.... but their partners [sweatdrop]

That's a problem Singapore would like to have. +TFR..

TFR = tiko field report??

Wa lau, you corrupt the whole forum! Haha..

Just in case your brain really beyond redemption, it's Total Fertility Rate.

For your info, my early childhood learning consisted only of the table below:-

A for Ah Gua

B for Bo jio

C for Chio buu (unsensored version -- CB)

D for Dokkong (Tokkong)

E for _____________

F for (unmentionable here)

G for G-string

H for Ho sey

I for ____________

J for Jiak lat

K for Kkj (or Knn)

L for LamPa if not LJ

M for mai do diao

N for NB, what else?

O for OL

P for PCC

Q for _______

R for ________

S for SBF

T for Tiko

U for _______

V for _______

W for Wah lau

X for ________

Y for ________

Z for ________

the blanks are bo bian coz it was so many years ago....

maybe you can remember them and fill in the blanks?

before we have internet forums, my generation already learned them

Also, women have the choice to conceive, give birth or not; local men don't have a choice on NS, both events are national duties in kind.

still cannot praise you yet..

+5 praise.

actually I wouldn't treat having children as a national duty... yet...

with a high population import/growth rate, and uncertain economic well being, no economic creature would want to "invest" in a family with high chance of negative pay-off.

Some reckon it costs more to raise a child up to university grad than the expected pay back of the child's life time.

But lets be more optimistic and place the break even point maybe when the kid is 40 years old and has not started a family yet.

Is there a benefit to the nation for having children?

they are the future producers, consumers and revenue generators for the state.

So why is it so costly to produce children if they are purported to be economic wealth generators for the country?

is there something wrong with our economic model?

well, based on the above, a rational economic creature would conclude its better to just put the money in the stock market.

but if enough people behave this way, then the negative externality of a shrinking population may cost more.

but with out free labour regulations, I doubt it will reach that cost.

still cannot praise you yet..

+5 praise.

actually I wouldn't treat having children as a national duty... yet...

with a high population import/growth rate, and uncertain economic well being, no economic creature would want to "invest" in a family with high chance of negative pay-off.

Some reckon it costs more to raise a child up to university grad than the expected pay back of the child's life time.

But lets be more optimistic and place the break even point maybe when the kid is 40 years old and has not started a family yet.

Is there a benefit to the nation for having children?

they are the future producers, consumers and revenue generators for the state.

So why is it so costly to produce children if they are purported to be economic wealth generators for the country?

is there something wrong with our economic model?

well, based on the above, a rational economic creature would conclude its better to just put the money in the stock market.

but if enough people behave this way, then the negative externality of a shrinking population may cost more.

but with out free labour regulations, I doubt it will reach that cost.

Yes, if we just look at ROI etc, the costs of raising a child vs the "returns" he/she can yield (assuming the child passes the returns to the parents).

Or, at a national level, the investments/subsidies in maternal hospitals, childcare, schools, universities etc could well be multiples of the returns through the child's contributions to the nation in his/her working life.

Don't forget female doctors (who enjoy heavy state subsidies in their medical school years) may decide to be housewives upon graduation or after they start their family, despite the "bond" they owe to govt hospitals.

Of course a polygrads like Mr Sim (of Creative fame) are the excetions rather than norm.

Another point to note: the money (in all trades) / foreign exchange (export trades) the graduates bring in are first distributed to the bosses / business leaders (who may or may not contribute at a national level to the costs of bring up children till they reach working life) except once in a while some donations to education/healthcare facilities in return for naming rights.

This brings us back to a good point you have made: the money might as well be invested in businesses directly and the manpower needed to run the businesses might as well be imported almost FOC (these FTs/FWs are trained in other countries at no costs to SGP).

Where will this lead the country to? Maybe a bunch of investors with no children!!

Edited by Maseratigood

Yes, if we just look at ROI etc, the costs of raising a child vs the "returns" he/she can yield (assuming the child passes the returns to the parents).

Or, at a national level, the investments/subsidies in maternal hospitals, childcare, schools, universities etc could well be multiples of the returns through the child's contributions to the nation in his/her working life.

Don't forget female doctors (who enjoy heavy state subsidies in their medical school years) may decide to be housewives upon graduation or after they start their family, despite the "bond" they owe to govt hospitals.

Of course a polygrads like Mr Sim (of Creative fame) are the excetions rather than norm.

Another point to note: the money (in all trades) / foreign exchange (export trades) the graduates bring in are first distributed to the bosses / business leaders (who may or may not contribute at a national level to the costs of bring up children till they reach working life) except once in a while some donations to education/healthcare facilities in return for naming rights.

This brings us back to a good point you have made: the money might as well be invested in businesses directly and the manpower needed to run the businesses might as well be imported almost FOC (these FTs/FWs are trained in other countries at no costs to SGP).

Where will this lead the country to? Maybe a bunch of investors with no children!!

well, taken to the logical conclusion, as many have said, Singapore Inc.

I think many of us have already read a number of layman and academic opinions on this issue.

Don't need to rehash this again.

Many of these issues are all tied together, cannot focus on one and think each can be solved on its own in a vacuum.

if we go full in as Singapore Inc, there will be externalities that will be very costly. It will be no place for a family.

The JC girl in the video is stupid & ignorant. Who says women can't do NS? Please look at Israel & North Korea! Those women didn't relegate to be nurses or admin girls during NS. If Israel & North Korea women can do proper NS, all women can too! Please stop giving the lame excuses that girls are weak, don't know how to read maps, can't fight, etc. Please don't tell me women in Israel & north korea are more superior than SG girls. Don't ever tell me about gender equality if you DO NOT want to do NS.

Or War of the Worlds.

I had a long-ass reply to this typed out at the office. Oh well... let me try to recreate some of it.

Wrong "well", la bro. I talk of Orwell, you bring up H.G. Wells. :D Next thing, you'll be bringing up Orson Welles, who was responsible for creating widespread panic with his radio reading of H.G. Wells' The War of the Worlds - the audience actually thought it was happening for real! [sweatdrop]

But honestly, TWOTW never struck me as a very sad story. For one thing - I find it to be an almost laborious read. For another, the aliens do die at the end, of infection.

I much prefer another of Wells' stories - The Time Machine. Arguably, this has a sadder ending. For one thing, the Time Traveller is lost forever at the end, presumably to a sticky fate. For another, the book presents an extremely dismal look at the future of our species. Not content to stop with the horror of the Morlocks (and the effete Eloi), it actually leaps even further forward in time to portray the ultimate demise of our species as non-sentient creatures being preyed on by giant insectoids. It also depicts the world itself wearily running down with the ages.

In any case, if you read (or have read) Orwell's Nineteen-Eighty Four, I'm sure you'll agree it's far more depressing than anything H.G. Wells (or most other writers) has created. The saddest part is the horror wrought in the plot is of Man's own doing, and it's far worse than anything Nature can concoct.

I had a long-ass reply to this typed out at the office. Oh well... let me try to recreate some of it.

Wrong "well", la bro. I talk of Orwell, you bring up H.G. Wells. :D Next thing, you'll be bringing up Orson Welles, who was responsible for creating widespread panic with his radio reading of H.G. Wells' The War of the Worlds - the audience actually thought it was happening for real! [sweatdrop]

But honestly, TWOTW never struck me as a very sad story. For one thing - I find it to be an almost laborious read. For another, the aliens do die at the end, of infection.

I much prefer another of Wells' stories - The Time Machine. Arguably, this has a sadder ending. For one thing, the Time Traveller is lost forever at the end, presumably to a sticky fate. For another, the book presents an extremely dismal look at the future of our species. Not content to stop with the horror of the Morlocks (and the effete Eloi), it actually leaps even further forward in time to portray the ultimate demise of our species as non-sentient creatures being preyed on by giant insectoids. It also depicts the world itself wearily running down with the ages.

In any case, if you read (or have read) Orwell's Nineteen-Eighty Four, I'm sure you'll agree it's far more depressing than anything H.G. Wells (or most other writers) has created. The saddest part is the horror wrought in the plot is of Man's own doing, and it's far worse than anything Nature can concoct.

I like the time machine movie

I actually had a line in my original post to not judge the book by the (comparatively atrocious, IMO) modern movie adaptation. If you haven't read the book bro, please do yourself a favour and get to it. :D

Ok I go look see

Haha, naah, I'm content with what I have.. Just leave MCF, will become more innocent again.. Leave car forum go bike forum, hokay?

Bike forum pretty low key these days. Many younger guys all mainly at fb. Most discussions are on mainly bike related. No news n stuff. Even the chio bu thread now watered down due to disagreement from female riders n mod agree to taper down. Politics also pretty dead.

1)i think wait a while first and when female cyclists se tup forum then we go support!!!

2)Then its not a sport, but entertainment!

3)machiam washing baby milk bottle!!! but can use the milk bottle brush for better shiokness?

4)btw, isnt it hard to manage NS for females coz if they get pregnant during the NS years, how to calculate annual leave or days-off? suddenly the OC finds half the company apply for leave to give birth??

1) So far I dun see any ALL female cyclist forums leh?

2) No what. Sports also u can enjoy. Buy sports is also classified as entertainment.

3) Some may even use a toilet brush for maximum pleasure.

4) If the pregnancy rate becomes so good, then Im sure gharmen wil make it compulsory for all women to go NS cos ty trying very hard to increase our birth-rate without much success.

1) So far I dun see any ALL female cyclist forums leh?

2) No what. Sports also u can enjoy. Buy sports is also classified as entertainment.

3) Some may even use a toilet brush for maximum pleasure.

4) If the pregnancy rate becomes so good, then Im sure gharmen wil make it compulsory for all women to go NS cos ty trying very hard to increase our birth-rate without much success.

1 When we don't see them it doesn't mean they don't exist... maybe they put firewall somewhere, best is to keep our eyes open for them when we are on the roads... drive in such a way to give them lots of space (but I know this may be against your instinct)

2 I know, I know, there's an activity we will both agree can be classified as adult sport!!! btw, a sport must involved sweating an increased heart beats, right?

3 the bristles of the brush will help to create more foams?

4 this is a brilliant discovery in 2013 before it ends of how to resolve our national infertility problems!! When an NGO called "HTGTP" is set up, will you consider being the Chairman? ------------- How To Get Them Pregnant!! don't worry, it will not involve the Chairman in direct actions, but just to oversee the actions.....

Edited by Maseratigood

Oh ya HG wells I mixed up with Orson Wells. I do remember a Wells responsible for causing panic abt the Aliens r coming n a Wells who wrote Animal Farm, which was banned in SG b4.

Lucky I did not bring up Wells Fargo. That is another story. Hahaha.

Dr. Who?????

Ok I go look see

Hahaha. When was the last time u read a real novel??? [sly]

Hahaha.

Dr. Who?????

Nowadays Dr Hoot should be the title of the sequel to the Dr Who series............... unfortunately Dr Hoot could make it to Little India when he's busy filming the new sequel

1 When we don't see them it doesn't mean they don't exist... maybe they put firewall somewhere, best is to keep our eyes open for them when we are on the roads... drive in such a way to give them lots of space (but I know this may be against your instinct)

2 I know, I know, there's an activity we will both agree can be classified as adult sport!!! btw, a sport must involved sweating an increased heart beats, right?

3 the bristles of the brush will help to create more foams?

4 this is a brilliant discovery in 2013 before it ends of how to resolve our national infertility problems!! When an NGO called "HTGTP" is set up, will you consider being the Chairman? ------------- How To Get Them Pregnant!! don't worry, it will not involve the Chairman in direct actions, but just to oversee the actions.....

1) Dunno leh. But I do give ALL cyclists a wide berth when on the roads.

2) Horse racing is also a SPORT but dunno how much sweat it wil cause but sure hv increased heartbeats.

3) More foam n more lubricants too.

4) We can also offer our services to help them get pregnant. Maybe ty wil still accept us in the Army?

Nowadays Dr Hoot should be the title of the sequel to the Dr Who series............... unfortunately Dr Hoot could make it to Little India when he's busy filming the new sequel

I know an Owl wil 'Hoot". But dunno who is this Dr Hoot?

1) Dunno leh. But I do give ALL cyclists a wide berth when on the roads.

2) Horse racing is also a SPORT but dunno how much sweat it wil cause but sure hv increased heartbeats.

3) More foam n more lubricants too.

4) We can also offer our services to help them get pregnant. Maybe ty wil still accept us in the Army?

1 I give those china town ah peks on electric bikes extra berth.... their eyes are not really on the roads by the road side ATB!!!

2 Yes!! its tiring riding a horse, or anything creatures.....

3 I have given up using spray foam to shave (my sparse hair above lip), but am going back to basic and rub soap water before the shave... it works just the same. money spent on fancy shaving foam was money wasted

4 Ask not what the country can do for you, but what you (and I) can do for the country (and its birthrate)!!! If the army reject us, it has to come up with a damn good reason!!!