Yardo Clutched December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 Can't believe what I saw in the straits times headlines. First thought it was Bangkok. LOL. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 Any arrest made yet? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 Can't believe what I saw in the straits times headlines. First thought it was Bangkok. LOL. Small case la.. Singapore have yet to see any riot which involves thousands of people.. I was in Jakarta during the 1997 riots.. THAT is a BIG one.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 most prob they are waiting for further reinforcement to back them up in case of further escalation. The regular police force will encircle the area so that when the soc charge there are no avenue of escape. But then oni 27 arrest......donno what happened! maybe left 20 rooms only. No more room/space for overbooking. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Qpik Supercharged December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 Can't blame emotions... Emotions are running high - one banglah accidentally kena run down and mobs riot. A few police cars kena overturned - Singaporean keyboard heroes does forum rioting in MCF all it takes is for a small number to start and the rest gets implicated just bcos of skin colouring 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
2BDriver Hypersonic December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 i agree with you out of all the fw/ft, banglahs has the best reputation Maybe this assigned bus driver belittle them with hurting words and likes to yell at them for a piece wrapper or paper left behind, all of them are tolerating him until his misjudge reversing knocked into a person mishap, and refused to admit own fault.(human common nature) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 sorry, just read the news.. and didnt went through all of the thread.. but ... i personally think that it's just a simple case of too much brooze...So much that they forget that they are in sg... not in india... alcohol is cheap this time of the year.. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 If we didn't engineer our system such that menial jobs are shunned & looked down upon with depressed wages, more locals who are not as academically blessed would have taken up such jobs. In this case, there would have been a lot less reliance on FW for bldg housing. The contractors are basically still maintaining their S Class income by squeezing the bottom. In the end, the official message is, we need FW because locals don't want these jobs. Then how, approach union more help? that's another lost cause... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 Small case la.. Singapore have yet to see any riot which involves thousands of people.. I was in Jakarta during the 1997 riots.. THAT is a BIG one.. if singapore got BIG riot, would u have migrated here? no right ... If singapore got such problems, many of us will jump ship already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 And who brought them in ? If construction worker here is paid their those in other 1st world countries, many locals may take up. Its due to immensely depressed wages for labour jobs that locals don't want to take. Thank you IB for junking me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 aniway.. hope this is a wakeup call to the government to look into their poor working conditional.. and instead of "putting $$" into their own pocket.. They shld use the levy they collect to provide with better working/living conditions... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 I was given impression the riot police damn satki and garang. Every time see them practice the rioters always get whacked upside down. Chaay! sibeh lao kweeh. Where's the water canons? There is much to learn from our neighbour up North. Those are 'wahyang wahyang ' to gain public confident niah...... This FW are getting more and more bold cos they know Singaporean very obident ones, can makan one and our law enforcement officers can't do much against. (fear of being sue for S$1.2million for wrongful arrest) Look at those fw drivers driving at our Expressways.... . Parking indiscrimately along Jalan Kayu (near to blk 445 ~ 447) and spreading along the driveways like their own hometown. Its a matter of time when something happen and only then, our ministries will wake up... 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 if singapore got BIG riot, would u have migrated here? no right ... If singapore got such problems, many of us will jump ship already Not exactly migrated. I was born here. So i was there on a "dependent pass".. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 since we need FWs, i suggest providing various services at FW dorms in order to encoruage them to stay in: 1) cheap ciggi (sold as single stick and must light up when sold) 2) cheap beer (but must open up immediately) 3) cheap massage 4) free movie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wyfitms Twincharged December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 wah lau wreck a S80.. heart pain man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 let's not change that. Several factors at play here, alcohol, mob incitement, etc. there would be bad apples and let's not smear all with a single brush just bcos of this incident. Peace first time i see ST a little thicker than usual....hahahahah Especially on Monday papers, always very thin .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 since we need FWs, i suggest providing various services at FW dorms in order to encoruage them to stay in: 1) cheap ciggi (sold as single stick and must light up when sold) 2) cheap beer (but must open up immediately) 3) cheap massage 4) free movie 5) their dorm must be as secure, if not more secure than Changi Prison.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Throttle2 Supersonic December 9, 2013 Share December 9, 2013 We should be prepared for this right from the start. Same way we should be prepared for housing prices to double then and inflation to continue upward climb. Import only the good things and keep out the bad? Wishful thinking. We cannot hv our cake and eat it, so we should not be complacent and leave it to destiny when it comes to protecting our people. Defences need to be kept up and strengthened. Bear in mind, Singapore is no longer the same sunny island set in the sea. Our senses must all be heightened for such events, happenings, possibilities. Dont take things for granted. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...