Boy gets his head stuck on escalator

Jman888

Boy gets his head stuck on escalator
06/12/2013 on mypaper by ETHAN LOU
MY_20131206_ELSTUCK06_P_63925.jpg
IN A TIGHT SPOT: Ten to 20 people attempted to free this seven-year-old boy who got his head stuck between an escalator and the ceiling at Junction 8 yesterday. (PHOTO: STOMP)
A seven-year-old boy spent more than 10 minutes yesterday with his head stuck between an escalator and the ceiling.
At about 2pm at Junction 8 shopping mall, marketing executive Alzel Lim saw a crowd gathering at an escalator leading to the fourth floor.
Ten to 20 people were helping to free the boy, as 30 to 40 people watched.
Ms Lim, who sent a picture of the incident to citizen-journalism site Stomp, said the boy was in tears.
She added: "After he was pulled out, his face was very, very red."
Junction 8 spokesman Zen Lee said in a statement that eyewitnesses saw the boy leaning over the railing before his head got stuck. Mall staff arrived at the scene only after the boy had been freed, said Ms Lim.
Ms Lee said: "When the paramedics arrived, the boy was found to have sustained an abrasion on the right side of his neck."
She added that the boy's mother, who was not with him at the time of the incident, accompanied him to the hospital.

should this be a design issue? as i also see many places having escalator design in a way that leads to 'chopping board'.
Parents also should be blamed for not looking after the kid and educate them of the danger, must always stand still when they are on the escalator.

should this be a design issue? as i also see many places having escalator design in a way that leads to 'chopping board'.
Parents also should be blamed for not looking after the kid and educate them of the danger, must always stand still when they are on the escalator.

I think we are over reliant on safety designs nowadays. I feel more to the fault of the parents not keeping a good eye on their children..

this is good lesson learnt..

Edited by Knoobie

I think we are over reliant on safety designs nowadays. I feel more to the fault of the parents not keeping a good eye on their children..

this is good lesson learnt..

We cannot expect parents to watch for their 7 yr old kid 24/7

The Kid is 7 Years old ffs, not a 3/4 yr old toddler! Primary 1 liao leh! I'd expect some maturity and common sense from the kid. moreover the plastic board would have given him amble time to retract his head.

I suspect a case mischief gone wrong.

The Kid is 7 Years old ffs, not a 3/4 yr old toddler! Primary 1 liao leh! I'd expect some maturity and common sense from the kid. moreover the plastic board would have given him amble time to retract his head.

I believe the parents will know how mischevious their kids are to prevent such from happening.

definitely a mischief gone wrong like what you said.

should be parents fault, kids are kids and actual mature age is around 15 years old, but we do see matured adult doing childish act :D

the distant of the plastic board is too far away and not parallel to the 'ceiling', some place have vertical hanging stick dangling before the ceiling which i think is more effective.

In any case. I believe the boy will be taking the escalator like a normal human being from now on. [sly]

Edited by Pocus

i always wondered what will happen when head kena stuck there... now i know.. maybe he wanna try see what happen...

i was wondering, once he got stuck and the escalator is still moving, the boy has to keep walking on the stair before they turn off the escalator, must be bloody painful [sweatdrop]

well if dun walk, then decapitate lor

think the escalator has some auto-stop sensor, otherwise more serious injury.

don't underestimate the power of the escalator - if there are 30 ppl on an escalator and avg wt is 50Kg, alr 1500kg weight.