Thaiyotakamli Supersonic November 26, 2013 Share November 26, 2013 No bak chor mee, no kuey chap, no pig organ soup, no bak ku teh, no char siew rice. Yes even the korean cuisine taste sucks without pork. sure or not? i know rental is a killer, but 6k for such a small store? actually was tinking of opening up a hay mee tua..... but now probably a dream liao.... For ur info i ever heard food republic about 8k and some 24hr koufu outlet also at that rental pricing ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 26, 2013 Share November 26, 2013 6K is more like those 1.5m x 1m spring rolls stall or rojak stall at those non-aircon coffee shop. Can accommodate 2 of my fish tank. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged November 26, 2013 Share November 26, 2013 some of the Kopitiam stall are paying rent as high as S$20K to S$30K per month. They are calculated based on their daily collected amount. Example : One of the stall in Kangkar Kopitiam outlet. Their daily collection is Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged November 26, 2013 Author Share November 26, 2013 No bak chor mee, no kuey chap, no pig organ soup, no bak ku teh, no char siew rice. pandering to the minority..failed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic November 26, 2013 Share November 26, 2013 (edited) Tried once at Century Square and did not like the food quality with high price. So many alternatives for consumers and the rapid expansion is not a wise decision. Whatever profits channeled to new outlets which just make it faster for them to reach red line. How big is our Island anyways to have such expansion? So many outlets just dilute the takings. Instead of concentrating their resources at a few outlets, they just spread themselves too thin. History repeating itself. ... they are not the first to expand too fast and will not be the last. Safe ride Cheers Edited November 26, 2013 by PSP415 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chiawy 1st Gear November 26, 2013 Share November 26, 2013 I like my mince meat noodle, char kway teow, fish ball noodle with the crunchy pork lard I like Char Siew, wanton noodle and soup made or prepared with pork. These food are so tasty because of the pork flavour! Ever eaten halal equivalent of the above at Banquet and Tesco food court up, the ingredients that they use to replace the pork just can't make it up to mark on my taste bud. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged November 26, 2013 Share November 26, 2013 Coffee's not bad at Banquet though. +1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zxcvb Turbocharged November 26, 2013 Share November 26, 2013 Kinda sad all these halal stores are closing and not making money. Personally I like Malay food stores (NOT Indian Muslim). Last time coffeeshop 80s/90s sure got 1 Malay store with macik selling their malay food - mee rebus, mee siam, gado gado, nasi padang, kunyit ayam, lontong, epok epok, rendang or peranakan food. Sadly, all these can hardly be found. On the other hand, Indian Muslim stores like prata, goreng goreng stuff is all over the place, very sick of it already. And it doesn't help nasi padang always charges a premium like $5 and above for a few dishes. That's why Malays always eat fast food, cheaper too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nicholas 5th Gear November 26, 2013 Share November 26, 2013 I like my mince meat noodle, char kway teow, fish ball noodle with the crunchy pork lard I like Char Siew, wanton noodle and soup made or prepared with pork. These food are so tasty because of the pork flavour! Ever eaten halal equivalent of the above at Banquet and Tesco food court up, the ingredients that they use to replace the pork just can't make it up to mark on my taste bud. Yeah the taste is different, but our Muslim friends get to enjoy chinese food. I have some malay friends so when we meet up, we would go to banquet instead so they won't be stuck to only 1 or 2 stalls in a food court. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear November 26, 2013 Share November 26, 2013 6K? nah, 7 years ago, i asked one prata stall in the banquet foodcourt about his rental and he was already paying $10K a month... 7 YEARS AGO......... u know how many pratas the poor indian guy has to sell in each day, just to pay for his $10k rental? And obviously that Banquet foodcourt didn't last very long.... after 1.5 years, it closed down....... Can only blame the landlords and the stupid operators (KPT, Banquet) and the likes for bidding high. Nowadays almost every shopping center will have a food court, even when bid low, sooner or later the landlord will still release the space to get the rental/revenue to attract people over. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic November 26, 2013 Share November 26, 2013 Can only blame the landlords and the stupid operators (KPT, Banquet) and the likes for bidding high. Nowadays almost every shopping center will have a food court, even when bid low, sooner or later the landlord will still release the space to get the rental/revenue to attract people over. It's not only the high rental that cause their demise. The food is simply not good enough to attract the crowd. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged November 26, 2013 Share November 26, 2013 (edited) If they wanted to be Halal, they should have stuck to real Halal style food. Halal Chinese food simply cannot make it... What was their business plan?? Trying to attract Muslims to come eat Halal Chinese food is pointless, the Muslims will go no matter what they serve due to Halal. Trying to attract Chinese to eat Halal Chinese food is even more pointless... the taste simply cant make it. The business concept fail la.. Edited November 26, 2013 by Playtime 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear November 26, 2013 Share November 26, 2013 Heard can get refund for Banquet Card at Jurong Point. Anyone tried? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear November 26, 2013 Share November 26, 2013 What about " Ah mei " cafe? Is under Banquet too right? Also close shop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Didu Turbocharged November 27, 2013 Share November 27, 2013 Just dug out my Banquet card. knn... can't even remember how much stored value left in there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latio2005A Turbocharged November 27, 2013 Share November 27, 2013 Their tea also not bad. I like their Prata at Rail Mall. And their packet nasi lemak but darn expensive at $2.50 (i think) per pack. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear November 27, 2013 Share November 27, 2013 can keep as souvenior already Just dug out my Banquet card. knn... can't even remember how much stored value left in there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dj_spike 2nd Gear November 27, 2013 Share November 27, 2013 If they wanted to be Halal, they should have stuck to real Halal style food. Halal Chinese food simply cannot make it... What was their business plan?? Trying to attract Muslims to come eat Halal Chinese food is pointless, the Muslims will go no matter what they serve due to Halal. Trying to attract Chinese to eat Halal Chinese food is even more pointless... the taste simply cant make it. The business concept fail la.. Junked you on this one. What is real halal food style? Halal has nothing to do with culinary influence. Its just for the Muslims to enjoy other cuisines that is not so readily available as Halal. In sg as one bro pointed out, also adds a platform for group meetups with a need for halal food without sacrificing cuisine type. As for lack of taste, well to each his own. Banquet's failure is just a case of mismanaging expansion and cash flow. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...