Celicar Turbocharged November 21, 2013 Share November 21, 2013 This one is surprising, $32k for all those things? Tan was only 34, how come so cheap? Loss of income alone won't be 32k rite? Rhodes was also ordered to pay $32,000 in compensation to Mr Tan's mother. This is for medical expenses, loss of her son's income and transport expenses. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged November 21, 2013 Share November 21, 2013 This one is surprising, $32k for all those things? Tan was only 34, how come so cheap? Loss of income alone won't be 32k rite? Maybe his pay in Australia not high?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged November 21, 2013 Share November 21, 2013 AMDK is what ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 21, 2013 Share November 21, 2013 This one is surprising, $32k for all those things? Tan was only 34, how come so cheap? Loss of income alone won't be 32k rite? this is on top of what the insurance may pay out, cos if he declare bankrupt, the mum won't even get the $32K. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear November 21, 2013 Share November 21, 2013 AMDK is what ? Ang Moh Duo Kee ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear November 21, 2013 Share November 21, 2013 Which part do you not understand? White westerners are exempted from caning and hanging. Indo and Pinoy maids are exempted from hanging. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShepherdPie 5th Gear November 21, 2013 Share November 21, 2013 ok, lor...only radex can change title , can you change it please? but still not fair, everything seems to skewed toward foreigners C'mon.. Mr Tan that died is an australian leh.. what talkin you.. There is no mentioned who started the fight.. likely is the decreased. Aniway.. RIP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Staff69 Hypersonic November 21, 2013 Author Share November 21, 2013 (edited) the essence of this topic is that, there are 2 sets of jurisdiction. local vs foreigners. even if the deceased is a foreigner. the aggressor got off with a lighter sentencing. a related case; A banking director was fined $4,000 and ordered to pay $1,000 compensation on Friday for assaulting a taxi driver two years ago. Briton Mason Robert Alford, 41, admitted to punching Mr Tan Chin Huat, 58, in the face along the East Coast Park expressway on Dec 14, 2011 if a local were to do that, dont think would got off lightly Edited November 21, 2013 by Staff69 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged November 21, 2013 Share November 21, 2013 (edited) nsibritonhall211113e.jpg A Briton, who got into a fight at a Halloween party, was jailed for 11/2 years on Thursday. James Daniel Rhodes, 36, was convicted of causing grievous hurt to Mr Ronald Tan, an Australian. Mr Tan, 34, fractured his skull during the fight and died 14 months later. Rhodes was also ordered to pay $32,000 in compensation to Mr Tan's mother. This is for medical expenses, loss of her son's income and transport expenses. Rhodes, a former bank officer, was also found guilty of punching Mr Kevin Michael Hubbard, 31, an interior designer, at the same party. He is appealing against the conviction and sentence and is out on bail of $25,000. During the trial, Deputy Public Prosecutor Sanjiv Vaswani told the court that Rhodes had been invited by a friend to the party on Oct 23, 2010 at The Spinnaker condominium near Newton. There, Rhodes got into an argument with Mr Tan. The Briton was told to leave but traded blows with one of the hosts in the lift. He was brought back to the apartment to change his bloodied shirt for a fresh one but while being ushered out again, he assaulted Mr Hubbard before punching Mr Tan in the face. Berri cheap, sia.......one country, 2 jurisdiction. where can i bleach myself white Can DIY. You need a bathtub and 75 1-litre bottles of NTUC bleach.Soak overnight for best result. Life is cheap ehhh? the essence of this topic is that, there are 2 sets of jurisdiction. local vs foreigners. even if the deceased is a foreigner. the aggressor got off with a lighter sentencing. a related case; A banking director was fined $4,000 and ordered to pay $1,000 compensation on Friday for assaulting a taxi driver two years ago. Briton Mason Robert Alford, 41, admitted to punching Mr Tan Chin Huat, 58, in the face along the East Coast Park expressway on Dec 14, 2011 if a local were to do that, dont think would got off lightly Simple logic will solve the problem. Tit for tat, punch him back. Edited November 21, 2013 by Count-Bracula Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 21, 2013 Share November 21, 2013 the essence of this topic is that, there are 2 sets of jurisdiction. local vs foreigners. even if the deceased is a foreigner. the aggressor got off with a lighter sentencing. a related case; A banking director was fined $4,000 and ordered to pay $1,000 compensation on Friday for assaulting a taxi driver two years ago. Briton Mason Robert Alford, 41, admitted to punching Mr Tan Chin Huat, 58, in the face along the East Coast Park expressway on Dec 14, 2011 if a local were to do that, dont think would got off lightly http://www.tremeritus.com/2013/05/27/ex-singapore-poly-ft-lecturer-jailed-for-assaulting-cabby/ http://www.straitstimes.com/breaking-news/singapore/story/drunk-engineer-appeal-jail-term-assault-taxi-driver-20121010 AM vs Local, both got 6 weeks jail for assaulting cabby. You think wrong lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CH_CO 6th Gear November 21, 2013 Share November 21, 2013 (edited) This is my biased 2c worth. Double standard in usage of laws and the peasants like us which do not have lawyer friends will not get reprieves like that , this reminds me of how a dynasty is rotting and abuses on the under privileged by those with money. Useless garment with no pride as a Singaporean. Same way they let a foreigner run road only to beg him to come back after killing 2. The present leadership has no respect from me. They are only capable to bullying the peasants(they are charging kids which "hack" their websites) yet they allow others to bully us and turn a blind eye only to bark at them. I serve NS to protect my nation , they serve to enrich their pockets and let people step on us. People will respect you for not getting baited into a fight but people won't respect you when people start a fight in your turf and u turn a blind eye on it. Google 高官厚禄 There is always a saying , dogs that bark don't bite. Diam gao ga si lang. Edited November 21, 2013 by CH_CO 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Member69 1st Gear November 22, 2013 Share November 22, 2013 AMTK syndrome! YO!!!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged November 23, 2013 Share November 23, 2013 ok, lor...only radex can change title , can you change it please? but still not fair, everything seems to skewed toward foreigners It's all in your mind. If your thoughts always have anti-foreigner belief, your mind will naturally bias towards picking out anything that tells you things are skewed towards foreigners. This is why it is so important to choose carefully what we believe in. Your sub-conscious will manifest things that you truly believe about. This ultimately determine our quality of life. For myself for e.g, I have never believe that our local drivers are idiotic, bad, etc....so I have enjoy driving in SGP for the last 2 decades. It's is always a pleasant drive...and no drivers have ever annoyed me on the road. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear November 23, 2013 Share November 23, 2013 Fully agree... hate establishment just say so. Get more respect than using lame example to prove amdk is self pwn..... In this case, the victim died of unrelated case.... It's all in your mind. If your thoughts always have anti-foreigner belief, your mind will naturally bias towards picking out anything that tells you things are skewed towards foreigners. This is why it is so important to choose carefully what we believe in. Your sub-conscious will manifest things that you truly believe about. This ultimately determine our quality of life. For myself for e.g, I have never believe that our local drivers are idiotic, bad, etc....so I have enjoy driving in SGP for the last 2 decades. It's is always a pleasant drive...and no drivers have ever annoyed me on the road. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...