Itali4must4ng 2nd Gear November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 What do you guys think about this? http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2013/11/kickstart-of-campaign-for-lgbt-workplace-equality/ Last year, Lawrence Wee brought a suit against his former employer Robinson’s in Singapore. He alleged that he was harassed into leaving his job because Lawrence is gay. Concerned that the law is ambiguous, Lawrence is now asking the High Court to judge whether Article 12 of our Constitution, which guarantees all persons equal protection of the law should also apply to people on the basis of their sexuality. Article 12(2) of the Constitution states that “…there shall be no discrimination against citizens of Singapore on the ground only of religion, race, descent or place of birth in any law…” Lawrence, who worked at Robinson’s for six years before he was sacked, believes that people should be allowed to prove their worth at work, without fear that an immutable characteristic does not become a millstone around their neck. The campaign team estimates that the court costs, lawyers’ fees and sundry expenses, as well as the costs of campaigning will come up to be about S$30,000 which is the set target funds to be raised. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 What do you guys think about this? http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2013/11/kickstart-of-campaign-for-lgbt-workplace-equality/ Last year, Lawrence Wee brought a suit against his former employer Robinson’s in Singapore. He alleged that he was harassed into leaving his job because Lawrence is gay. Concerned that the law is ambiguous, Lawrence is now asking the High Court to judge whether Article 12 of our Constitution, which guarantees all persons equal protection of the law should also apply to people on the basis of their sexuality. Article 12(2) of the Constitution states that “…there shall be no discrimination against citizens of Singapore on the ground only of religion, race, descent or place of birth in any law…” Lawrence, who worked at Robinson’s for six years before he was sacked, believes that people should be allowed to prove their worth at work, without fear that an immutable characteristic does not become a millstone around their neck. The campaign team estimates that the court costs, lawyers’ fees and sundry expenses, as well as the costs of campaigning will come up to be about S$30,000 which is the set target funds to be raised. Radx donated oredy. The precedent set for this case would concern his gay rights at his current employment. Very important High Court declaration this one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 (edited) What do you guys think about this? http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2013/11/kickstart-of-campaign-for-lgbt-workplace-equality/ Last year, Lawrence Wee brought a suit against his former employer Robinson’s in Singapore. He alleged that he was harassed into leaving his job because Lawrence is gay. Concerned that the law is ambiguous, Lawrence is now asking the High Court to judge whether Article 12 of our Constitution, which guarantees all persons equal protection of the law should also apply to people on the basis of their sexuality. Article 12(2) of the Constitution states that “…there shall be no discrimination against citizens of Singapore on the ground only of religion, race, descent or place of birth in any law…” Lawrence, who worked at Robinson’s for six years before he was sacked, believes that people should be allowed to prove their worth at work, without fear that an immutable characteristic does not become a millstone around their neck. The campaign team estimates that the court costs, lawyers’ fees and sundry expenses, as well as the costs of campaigning will come up to be about S$30,000 which is the set target funds to be raised. he wants other people to fight his war? why the discrimination only come 6 years after he work there? no detail of how he was harassed. Edited November 19, 2013 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itali4must4ng 2nd Gear November 19, 2013 Author Share November 19, 2013 Radx donated oredy. The precedent set for this case would concern his gay rights at his current employment. Very important High Court declaration this one woah bro! why suddenly RadX kor kor involved? explain can? blur blur Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 Actually i am wondering what is the problem whether the person is homosexual or not in work place?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itali4must4ng 2nd Gear November 19, 2013 Author Share November 19, 2013 Actually i am wondering what is the problem whether the person is homosexual or not in work place?! Personally, I not very bothered, but for other Singaporeans maybe they are not so accepting and this chap's orientation may make them uncomfortable and cause the workplace morale to be affected? not all singaporeans are so understanding yet.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 Personally, I not very bothered, but for other Singaporeans maybe they are not so accepting and this chap's orientation may make them uncomfortable and cause the workplace morale to be affected? not all singaporeans are so understanding yet.... i used to work in an office surrounded by gays, i was the only straight guy in there and they never discriminate against me 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 woah bro! why suddenly RadX kor kor involved? explain can? blur blur No need sexplain...when he around, you bend down to pick 50 cent coin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 i used to work in an office surrounded by gays, i was the only straight guy in there and they never discriminate against me HAHAHAHAAHHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAH Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itali4must4ng 2nd Gear November 19, 2013 Author Share November 19, 2013 i used to work in an office surrounded by gays, i was the only straight guy in there and they never discriminate against me haha bro you happy not surrounded by so many ladies? ;D Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toothiewabbit Supersonic November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 Not unless he was fishing at the workplace. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 haha bro you happy not surrounded by so many ladies? ;D they were ang mo hunk with muscular body Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 My concern are certain factions within that community. Some have tendency to micro manage way beyond the norm and some in the same proportions ultra gungo with aggressive persona.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 (edited) What do you guys think about this? http://www.theonlinecitizen.com/2013/11/kickstart-of-campaign-for-lgbt-workplace-equality/ Last year, Lawrence Wee brought a suit against his former employer Robinsons in Singapore. He alleged that he was harassed into leaving his job because Lawrence is gay. Concerned that the law is ambiguous, Lawrence is now asking the High Court to judge whether Article 12 of our Constitution, which guarantees all persons equal protection of the law should also apply to people on the basis of their sexuality. Article 12(2) of the Constitution states that there shall be no discrimination against citizens of Singapore on the ground only of religion, race, descent or place of birth in any law Lawrence, who worked at Robinsons for six years before he was sacked, believes that people should be allowed to prove their worth at work, without fear that an immutable characteristic does not become a millstone around their neck. The campaign team estimates that the court costs, lawyers fees and sundry expenses, as well as the costs of campaigning will come up to be about S$30,000 which is the set target funds to be raised. Law protect them gayish people, who protect us from them? No joke leh, kena beoh by 5 gayish co-workers in the office. NB!! Edited November 19, 2013 by Count-Bracula Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 gay touch girl neh neh they wun scream morest one... i hearsay 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 What I think is that our gahment is very kiasee. They are very afraid of sending out the wrong message to ppl. Hence I think this case will be brushed aside and ignored. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 I had seen many working in other establishment like Robinson. Maybe during working hours, he was caught flurting with customers or colleagues... Was at one doing shopping (will not tell the name) and one came along to gave commence on dressing to my wife. My wife feel so annoyed and walk away. Imagine a guy gay giving advised on dressing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 19, 2013 Share November 19, 2013 I had seen many working in other establishment like Robinson. Maybe during working hours, he was caught flurting with customers or colleagues... Was at one doing shopping (will not tell the name) and one came along to gave commence on dressing to my wife. My wife feel so annoyed and walk away. Imagine a guy gay giving advised on dressing... hello.... gay are the best makeup artist and fashion designer ok, and the way they sweet talk and sell to female customer, not surprise they are also the top salesman in most fashion department ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...