Strange Sounds from 8yr/100k mileage Getz 1.4A

Baal

Hi Bros, my Getz is 8yrs old with 100k mileage.

a) Recently, noted that when I step/dab accl, can hear high pitch squel, not loud but still audible.
b) Despite changing to new battery, occasionally car sounds "stressed" starting up. ( though can start at 1st attempt)

c) never change alternator b4. Not sure about starter motor.

d) Steering wheel produces soft whiny sound when turning. But other than that, cant feel any diff.

e) slightly higher idling. approx. from 650rpm to now 700-750 rpm.

f) I am the only owner since new.

g) No mods done other than cosmetic.

h) Timing belt changed at 80k mileage & did the SOP major servicing. (also changed engine mount )

I) Used a KNN filter from 17k - 97k mileage. Now using normal air filter.
J) Recently changed cooling coil for air con.

Any bro here able to advice what could be wrong & the approx. cost to replace those parts?

Thanks.

a) Recently, noted that when I step/dab accl, can hear high pitch squel, not loud but still audible.

Fan belt loose.

b) Despite changing to new battery, occasionally car sounds "stressed" starting up. ( though can start at 1st attempt)

Stressed as in "oi....knnccb, dun lislurb me can or not"? honestly, no idea what u mean by "stressed". [laugh]

d) Steering wheel produces soft whiny sound when turning. But other than that, cant feel any diff.

Power steering pump. Hv u checked the fluid levels?

650 rpm was too low. 750 more normal.

Thanks Bro.

Will check with shop on fan belt. Should be within 100 bucks ?

Stressed as in considering new batt, as per the last few times I changed batt, the eeee sound fires in quick sucession & start. Now sometimes, e e eee start up....

Thanks, will check the fluid level in the evening. Pump could be leaking? If change $$?

Of late also noticed the idling fluctuates at times +- 100-200 rpm over a 1 hr commute.

If timing belt changed at 80k, i assume ur fan belt was changed as well? Juz ask ur mech to tighten a bit, shld be FOC.

Sorry dun know the price for changing the rest.

Thanks Bro.

Will check with shop on fan belt. Should be within 100 bucks ?

Stressed as in considering new batt, as per the last few times I changed batt, the eeee sound fires in quick sucession & start. Now sometimes, e e eee start up....

Thanks, will check the fluid level in the evening. Pump could be leaking? If change $$?

Of late also noticed the idling fluctuates at times +- 100-200 rpm over a 1 hr commute.

Dirty air flow sensor?

Since you mention you used KNN from 17k to 97k. Some oil stain on air flow sensor,

Edited by Tohto

Could be your fan/alternator/compressor belt.

Take note that timing belt is not fan belt.

Timing belt is inside a engine cover whereas fan belt is exposed outside.

I also drive a Getz and have the whiny sound but mine comes from the back.

and only happens when I am driving my mother in law around.

There is also a bad smell when she is in the car something like rotten eggs

but I am not so sure there is something wrong with the

car's exhaust pipe. Could be from another exhaust pipe.

[grin]

I also drive a Getz and have the whiny sound but mine comes from the back.

and only happens when I am driving my mother in law around.

There is also a bad smell when she is in the car something like rotten eggs

but I am not so sure there is something wrong with the

car's exhaust pipe. Could be from another exhaust pipe.

[grin]

next time u drive your MIL, don't use air con and wind down windows..........

Thank you for your good advice.

I will do that and also carry a big can of air freshener.

I don't know people call them MIL,

I call mine the mother out law.

[grin]

Haha, actually since the car was new, once in a blue moon can smell what seems to be human fart. So I just wind down, clear smell, wind up continue....

All passengers incl myself have constantly denied farting !!! But I had a colleague who told me its normal to experience that fart like smell once in a blue moon. Said its the built up gases in the GB coming out .......dunno true or not. Else I have another problem.........farting GB. omg.

Belt, alternator, compressor, power steering, oxy sensor.......all don't sound cheap to do.......may I should let go. SG carmart for 06 model shows 22-28k selling price.

So if I sell if it means I spend 44k, drive 8yrs & still can get back at least 20k ? Sounds quite good actually. But will have to go back to bikes moving forward.

Thank you for your good advice.

I will do that and also carry a big can of air freshener.

I don't know people call them MIL,

I call mine the mother out law.

[grin]

dont let yr wife see this........

Haha. If she sees this

I will be sleeping on the couch for a month.

[grin]

u will be lucky if she even let you step into the home....... [laugh]

Hi Bros, my Getz is 8yrs old with 100k mileage.

f) I am the only owner since new.

g) No mods done other than cosmetic.

h) Timing belt changed at 80k mileage & did the SOP major servicing. (also changed engine mount )

I) Used a KNN filter from 17k - 97k mileage. Now using normal air filter.

J) Recently changed cooling coil for air con.

Any bro here able to advice what could be wrong & the approx. cost to replace those parts?

Thanks.

Have your power steering fluid/ pump n belt checked.

Dirty air flow sensor?

Since you mention you used KNN from 17k to 97k. Some oil stain on air flow sensor,

For Idling to fluctuate 100-200 rpm for a journey is quite normal. U sud not worry abt it.

Or use a gas mask n ear plugs.

u will be lucky if she even let you step into the home....... [laugh]

When I not happy with my MIL or any In-laws, I just tell my wife straight.

If she not happy, she can go sleep on the couch. Hahaha.

Will check out the power steer fluid by this weekend. Last night, when navigating around home carpark when quite, the whiny sound damn obvious.

When you turn only then the sound will come out right? If yes, then most probably the power steering pump already.

You also need to observe the fluid level. Given that your car is 8 years old, you might want to just change the fluid only.

As the others have said, tighten your fan belt to get rid of the squealing sound.

Alternator no need to change if your battery is being charged properly. Idling should be around 13.5 - 14.0V.

Starter motor got no problems starting the car also no need to change.

When you turn only then the sound will come out right? If yes, then most probably the power steering pump already.

You also need to observe the fluid level. Given that your car is 8 years old, you might want to just change the fluid only.

As the others have said, tighten your fan belt to get rid of the squealing sound.

Alternator no need to change if your battery is being charged properly. Idling should be around 13.5 - 14.0V.

Starter motor got no problems starting the car also no need to change.

Thanks bro, went shop last Sat. They said steering/fluid ok. But they did tighten the belt.

So far Steering didn't hear sounds on Sat /Sun. As for the squeal, don't hear as much now, but still have now & then.